$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
79 reviews
Great Rooms, Amazing Beach, Great Staff

The beach amenities on the resort are great. Multiple 2 seat cabana's to use, Great hammock... See full review

  • Jeffrey R.
  • Jun 28, 2015
The best vacation ever!

Next time I will take the children. Beautiful beach, nice rooms, very good restaurants! Love the... See full review

  • veronika o.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is located on the Kohala Coast in the 3,200 Mauna Lani Resort. Ocean front Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is a tranquil resort with golf, tennis, spa, sports & fitness club and  water sports fronting a  turquoise bay lined with white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location  on the sunny South Kohala Coast. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, newly refreshed guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is 25 minutes north of the Kona International Airport  on the Kohala Coast. The resort fronts a white sand beach and cove, neighbored by  ancient fishponds. Guests can enjoy shopping at the Shops at Mauna Lani center on the resort or nearby at two additional malls 5 miles away.
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The CanoeHouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and five private bungalows, each with 4,000 square feet of indoor, outdoor living space, private pool and Jacuzzi. All guest rooms include a private lanai, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Property features
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the sports & fitness club (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history and Hawaiian culture, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Nearby attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Policies
  • Overnight parking fee is $18 USD plus tax.
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access and other amenities and discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$157
4.1 / 5 417 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.3 / 5 236 reviews
★★★★
$203
4.3 / 5 38 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.1 / 5 211 reviews
★★★★★
$209
4.3 / 5 123 reviews
★★★
$138
4.2 / 5 33 reviews
★★★★★
$325
4.6 / 5 31 reviews
★★★★
$250
4.5 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$242
4.7 / 5 14 reviews

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking

Dining

Shiono at Mauna Lani - Japanese Restaurant
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast.
The CanoeHouse
This signature oceanfront restaurant features a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cusine. Dinner and cocktails offer diners views of spectacular Kohala coast sunsets and starlit skies.
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu.
Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Specialty coffees, light breakfasts, lunch and evening pupus and cocktails are served.
The Ocean Bar & Grill
This casual poolside venue offers lunch and dinner fresh off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schmoemeister
Couples
Spokane, WA
Apr 17, 2014

Has it all!

We stayed in Kona at a small condo and near Hilo in a cottage and ended our stay on the big island here at this beautiful place. Our room was so nice and the lanai overlooked the ocean and the pool (didn't expect that as we couldn't afford a "ocean view" room). Wonderful HOT hot tubs and the pool was brand new. Nice padded beach chairs with big cushy towels and cabanas at the beach and poolside and there were plenty to go around so you didn't have to scout out a place in the morning! You can rent snorkel gear right there on the beach (it was free if you get an upgrade on your day fee which also included a bunch of other stuff). We took the snorkel gear and walked a bit along the beautiful fish ponds to a WONDERFUL snorkeling area and a stunning beach. Staff was VERY friendly and food was wonderful at the bay cafe. My husband even took a water color class from a wonderful artist poolside one day - he LOVED it! We would go back in a heartbeat. You could stay here and not even need a car - has it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Kona Brewing Company down in Kona (about 1/2 hr. drive) for lunch or dinner. Wonderful staff, food and just fun!! Beachside in Kona we also recommend Bongo Bens for breakfast and the Ono fish and chips at Quinns. There is a great place between the airport and Kona as well called the Pine Tree Cafe that had excellent food at a great price as well!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie V.
Family
Boston
Apr 30, 2014

Paradise!

This resort is one of the best I've ever been. I checked neighboring Fairmont and Hilton and they are nothing in comparison. Exceptional hotel with very good value for the money! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Fish!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cantsaywhy
Couples
Portland OR
Jan 24, 2013

Great Place

Nice facility, very helpful staff, very nice beach access, overall we had a wonderful time on our second honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Kevin
Couples
Napa
Feb 12, 2013

What a Paradise!

We loved the Mauna Lani! It was more than we expected and cannot wait to go back. Very lovely and private with great amenities and such good food on site. The beach is so wonderful there... I chose Mauna Lani because of the ancient fishponds and petroglyphs and that history made it very special! I fell in love with the Sting Ray on site and visited him often. Shops, restaurants and an upscale grocery store were really close to hotel and such a nice convenience. We spent more than one Happy Hour at Tommy Bahamas restaurant for the fabulous coconut prawns watching the sunset. Simply paradise... We'll be back very, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the free guided tour to see all the different fish and turtles on the property. Also, the ancient fish ponds and petroglyphs on the property made this property very special and magical for us!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modesty
Friends
Olympia, WA
Feb 12, 2013

Simplicity, beauty and hospitality

The Mauna Lani is the least "fussy" first class resort at which I have ever stayed. The feel is completely casual with open air vistas from the gorgeous lobby entrance to the rooms. Everything is local wood and simple so nothing gets in the way of what you came for, the view, the weather and the ocean. If marble bathrooms and gleaming gold fixtures are your style this is not the hotel for you. If you love being able to open the doors to the lanai and just close the wood shutters for privacy every night and enjoy the sea breezes you are in the right spot. The staff are friendly and always helpful, but not hovering. They treat you like a guest they would invite to their home and demonstrate true hospitality. Although not the newest and shiney-ist resort on the island it has the polish of a classic with simple quality everywhere. Combined with a great beach, a great restaurant and a world-class spa it has all the amenities without the fussy veneer. If you want to relax and just enjoy Hawaii I highly recommend it. After 16 years of annual vacations and trying most of the resorts on the Kohala Coast, this is the one we now return to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Water Cafe in Waimea was amazing. Truly worth the drive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NKNYNJ
Single
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Nice staff

I lost a very delicate necklace with diamonds due to my own fault. It just slid off my neck when I was going out to dinner. I guess I didn't put it on properly. We reported the loss, but did not hope to find it. After we gave up, the staff kept looking for it in the dark with flashlights, found it somewhere on the parking lot, and returned it to us the next day. We just couldn't believe it! As I said before, the necklace is extremely delicate, and the hotel's staff was not responsible for the loss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad J
Couples
South Jordan, Utah
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect!

The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent - best snorkeling in Hawaii is just a 10 minute walk down the beach front (ask about it - we drove all around Hawaii snorkeling and then found that the best place was right under our noses - its not the Mauna Lani's beach but its on the "Mauna Lani Property." We got a great deal and would do it all over again. They also had FREE Wi-Fi. Only draw back - they need to get ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkeling on the Mauni Lani Property is the best we found in Hawaii. Its about a 10 minute walk south-west of the Mauna Lani's hotel beach to another beach on the "Mauna Lani Property."

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Laguna Niguel, California
Jun 16, 2010

Memory Vacation

Every person at the resort made us feel special. From [...], the doormen to [...] the receptionist etc etc. Everyone treated us like a special family guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to enjoy everything. Everything to do is right at the resort including a fantastic 2 golf courses

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lake Stevens WA
May 23, 2010

Breathtaking sunsets!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Mauni Lani Bay was wonderful! the staff was great! grounds are beautiful and it was very peaceful & relaxing,we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to save a little on dining or do some shopping it's a short drive down the road off the hi~way,there is even a macaroni grill,also has a little grocery store...

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2008

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality.

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality. At Mauna Lani, you dont get charge for pool chairs, snorkeling, tennis etc, everything is included. They have the best beach access and a great pool. One thing we would have done differently is to rent a weekly car because you must see the island but there is no public transportation. Its highly recommended and we would go back to the same hotel if we had the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at Mauno Lani, you can take the free shuttle to fairmont hotel for sushi or alternative dining or you can walk to the Mauna Lani shops for additional dining option such such as tommy bahamas or ruth and chris steak house.

Back to menu Return to top