$253 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Jun 10, 2009

Great resort - rooms need a bit of work

Spa was great but pricey as expected. Rooms were a bit outdated but the hotel was beautiful. Got upgraded to ocean view at no charge which was nice but expected more from the room at a hotel of this caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat at the japanese restaurant at the nearby mall. Terrible food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Az
Jun 6, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Mauna Lani is conveniently located on prime property with tremendous history and cultural significance to the Hawaians. The thought and preparation to preserve this property and enable the guest to enjoy it is exceptional. The director of cultural affairs has an office in the hotel and is active in educating those interested. There are multiple beaches available with staff and accomodations for snorkel, scuba, sunset cruises and nature walks. We took time to hike Mauna Kea, take in the volcanoes, soak up the sun, and thoroughly relax in this very nuturing and healing environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the morning walks along the beach trails in either direction and don't hesitate to meet "Danny" Akaka for a cultural tour of the property! If you have rented a car I highly recommend a drive up to the North point and back through Waimea. Saddle Road to Mauna Kea is spectacular as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Goto Guy
Business
Hollywood, CA
May 11, 2009

A fantastic, secluded resort

This hotel had been recommended by family members who had stayed there recently and it lived up to the billing. From the moment we were greeted at the front door with complimentary leis, ice cold water with fresh strawberries and lemons soaking in it, and a valet who offered to park our car in guest parking and bring us the keys so we could avoid the $21/ night valet charges, the staff at the Mauna Lani set the tone for our stay. We were given a complimentary room upgrade to ocean front (likely a function of traveling during a very down time but appreciated nonetheless) and the room was immaculate. All the staff made every effort to learn our names and greet us personally. HIGHLIGHTS: The morning brunch was 5 star with varitey every day and some home run staples like fresh waffles and omelettes. A nearly empty beach front meant we had our choice of hammocks or cabanas at all times (again, likely due to the downturn, but still wonderful). Complementary snorkel gear and reasonably priced workout classes. It is a secluded resort with not a ton of activities, but it is perfect if you're looking to unwind without the hustle and bustle of the bigger resorts. We walked next door to the Fairmont Orchid and it seemed positively restless by comparison. Again, we may have hit it at the perfect time, but the Mauna Lani offered the perfect, relaxing retreat that we were hoping for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our best meal was actually at Huggo's which is in Kona, probably about 20 mi from the hotel, but only 5 or 6 from the airport. It's a casual beachfront bar with bar type food that was very good. the entertainment was Grammy winner LT Smooth who plays there regularly. It has a great view to watch the sunset with very affordable prices on food and drinks and great, casual ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut
Dec 7, 2008

Very confuse

The building is kinda old. the pool inside smell kinda not so good.. price is reasonable though.. and the ocean view is great ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel
Nov 23, 2008

My review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Great Service and comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops at Muana Lani offer great restaurants including Tommy Bahama and Ruths Chris and a market for Breakfast, Lunch or in room needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Sep 14, 2008

Great Vacation Resort!

The Mauna Lani was beyond our expectations! The staff was always ready to help us and very friendly. Check in was a breeze and the grounds were beautiful. Our son loved the staff and activities at the Kids Kamp and we enjoyed the beach front, restaurants and shopping which is very close by. We liked how it was a short drive to everything we wanted to do, including Kona and Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Activities for everyone were close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 27, 2008

Awesome Resort in Hawaii

This is the best hotel in Hawaii! It's beautiful, environment friendly and a great value! The hotel staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and lowkey. There are no extra charges and even freebies such as bike rental, snorkel gear rental and a shuttle around the complex. It's also very child friendly with many fish ponds and free toys. The restaurants are pricey like all Hawaii hotels, but the food here is well worth it. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to splurge on a wonderful Hawaii vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want to spend $27 for a breakfast buffet, take a short stroll to the shopping complex where there is a Starbucks and Foodland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2008

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality.

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality. At Mauna Lani, you dont get charge for pool chairs, snorkeling, tennis etc, everything is included. They have the best beach access and a great pool. One thing we would have done differently is to rent a weekly car because you must see the island but there is no public transportation. Its highly recommended and we would go back to the same hotel if we had the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at Mauno Lani, you can take the free shuttle to fairmont hotel for sushi or alternative dining or you can walk to the Mauna Lani shops for additional dining option such such as tommy bahamas or ruth and chris steak house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OAKLAND, CA
May 10, 2008

Great Honeymoon Spot

Lucky us. We've ben to Kona for 12 consecutive years but this was our first stay at the Mauna Lani. We chose this resort for our honeymoon, (second marriages for us and we're over 60). We had a great room and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the lovely grounds. Rooms are large and a bit more old world than we were accustomed to but as it turned out there were a lot of great features that were not initially obvious. The grounds are extensive and very well maintained. The fitness was excellent and we went every day. The best was the staff people that greeted us upon arrival and the very personal attention paid to getting us settled in. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good shopping and excellent selection of restaurants nearby. It is within walking distance as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, WY
Jul 14, 2007

Best Honeymoon Spot or Getaway!

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! From the moment we arrived, bleary eyed from the trip, we were treated so special! The check-in with the beautiful leis... THEY CARE! We had dinner the first night at their bar which was perfect. The rooms were lovely. The grounds were spectacular! I cannot say enough good things about this resort! We were baby boomers on our honeymoon. (second marriage) We tried all of the restaurants. All were superb! Lunch at the Gallery was a special treat! Dinner twice at the Canoe House where the staff will take pictures of you with the sunset background. We were able to explore the entire island without being worried about being on the American Plan. We could go into Kona or travel to Hilo for dinner. That helped us experience the entire island. If I could come back again, count us in for the Mauni Lani Resort! Great for families, honeymooners, or people wanting to see the Big Island. Did I mention the beautiful room, the great staff, the maids that cleaned, but never intruded. DELUXE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top