$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Exceptional

I've been going to this hotel for over 15 years and it is still one of the absolute best places I've ever been. I haven't been able to top it, and I recommend it to everyone I know. If you're traveling without kids, I'd recommend staying on the Canoe House side of the hotel -- less noise from the pool and a gorgeous view of the mountains. The buffet breakfast is a highlight. My boyfriend and I would get up early, take a beautiful walk along the beach with some Kona coffee, and arrive back hungry and ready for breakfast. Such an amazing way to start the day. The beach is incredible. Honu turtles float in the water, amazing birds walk around on the beach, and the cabanas give you plenty of shade if it's hot (usually around noon.) The staff is amazingly helpful and nice. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at the Safeway near the airport when you arrive, pick up some fresh fruit and snacks to keep in the the in-room refrigerator (empty -- there's no minibar.)

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, CA
Aug 29, 2009

great couple getaway

swam, took golf lesson, snorkeled, went to beach, drove around island, shopped & dined. Always a pleasure to be at the Mauna Lani. Very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Roy's and their butterfish.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met Fan In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Our Trip!

Third time! All great. Staff is wonderful. The room location was perfect. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon was excellent. Open air with Jazz music. Manta at the Mauna Kea was extremely romantic but expensive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Nearly perfect but worth 5 stars!

Quiet location 30 min north of Kailua-Kona airport/urban area but central to all parts of the island if you have a rental car. You could go to this hotel and never leave the site with plenty of relaxing and sporting activities for all. Would have preferred that the beach grill had dining hours beyond 4p for those wishing to have a more casual dinner pool and/or beachside. The Canoe House dinner menu is not kid friendly unless you have a sushi and seafood eater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the Queen's & King's Marketplaces two exits south of hotel for great shopping and dining.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii for the anniversary
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Very Relaxing Beach Hotel

One of the best hotels we've stayed at. The staff is very friendly and the best part was the beach is right there. The best snorkeling without having to go on a tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Excellent facility, outstanding service, tremendous staff. I look forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, CA
Aug 12, 2009

The place to be on the Big Island

What you will find at the Mauna Lani is a tranquil vacataion where your booking is NOT just the admission so they can charge you more. Mauna Lani features free in-room high-speed internet, free cabanas, free snorkelign (4 hrs), free tennis (1 hr per day), free coffee from 6a-9a. The hotel and the rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, comfortable, practical & relaxing. The fishponds around the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere. All staff members we spoke to were super friendly and even their beach food is very tasty & healthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not spend $100 p.p. on a snorkel tour. Get the 4 hr free equipment rental from Mauna Lani resort and walk over to their crescent beach - some of the best snorkeling there on the coast. Their main beach also has turtles coming up once in a while.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Theresa
Business
Venice, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Love Mauna Lani... this place rocks!!!

Hotel was fantastic - couldn't have asked for anything more. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. There are lots of activities to do - we hiked, biked, snorkeled, and did lots of swimming - the beach is beautiful and the food is delicious! We will be back - thank you Mauna Lani for a truly wonderful vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Theresa
Business
Venice, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Love Mauna Lani... this place rocks!!!

Hotel was fantastic - couldn't have asked for anything more. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. There are lots of activities to do - we hiked, biked, snorkeled, and did lots of swimming - the beach is beautiful and the food is delicious! We will be back - thank you Mauna Lani for a truly wonderful vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top