$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
78 reviews
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it.... See full review

  • just traveling me
  • Jul 28, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Theresa
Venice, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Love Mauna Lani... this place rocks!!!

Hotel was fantastic - couldn't have asked for anything more. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. There are lots of activities to do - we hiked, biked, snorkeled, and did lots of swimming - the beach is beautiful and the food is delicious! We will be back - thank you Mauna Lani for a truly wonderful vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Island Fan
Austin, TX
Jul 20, 2009

Great hotel, would stay again for sure!

My husband and I stayed here for five nights. From the personalized check in with fresh juice, cold towels it was awesome. We LOVED the open air lobby with the fish ponds with turtles and sharks, too! Our room was kept so neat, in the morning someone came in and made the beds and cleaned the room and in the evening there was a turn down service (and they also refilled our ice bucket). It was my birthday while we were there, but I didn't tell anyone at the hotel. When a friend of mine called to have flowers delivered the manager also sent up a delicious cake and a card wishing me a happy birthday! There is absolutely nothing negative I have to say about this hotel. We would definitely stay here again. We didn't bring our kids this time but I think they would have loved it also because of the fish ponds and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the Manta Ray dive with Neptune Charlies!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach, California
Jul 13, 2009

outstanding resort with fantastic views

The Mauna Lani resort provided an exceptional vacation with a view from our balcony that was out of this world. The service was exceptional and the breakfast buffet delicious and worth the $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Orbitz provided us with an unbelievable vacation package. When making arrangements for my next trip, I will check with Orbitz first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob FBM
Los Angeles
Jun 30, 2009

This is the best hotel on big island

This is a great hotel for a romantic couple. The pictures do not really show you how nice this hotel is. It's by the far the most beautiful hotel on big island that I've seen. The nice thing about the hotel is that is manages to be luxurious, yet retains some Hawaiian charm with it's styling. I've staying in many of the worlds best hotels, and there aren't many times you walk out the door feeling that everything about your experience was perfect. The rooms are excellent, and the service it first class. For a midsize hotel it makes you feel like royalty when you walk out the front door and the valet is already pulling your car around because they recognized you walking down the hall. They upgrade your room without asking and for free because they are not full. I hate it when you check into a 5 star hotel and they charge you to use all the facilities that made it a 5 star hotel to begin with. None of that here. You use everything for free. They also have the best restaurant we ate at during our stay on the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Canoe House restaurant is the best restaurant we ate at during our stay on Big Island. In fact it was the best diner I'd had in months. Food and service is excellent, but the setting it wonderful and romantic, right on the beach, yet elegant. Next door at the fairmont, they have a similar restaurant for twice the price, yet the atmosphere is not as nice, and the food is no better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Diego
San Diego
Jun 30, 2009

My second stay at the Mauna Lani

Don't miss the hot rock lomi lomi massage at the spa. It was fantasic. As were the nightly sunsets. In 2008, we saw the green flash from the Mauna Lani beach. Great snorkeling down at the second beach inlet. This was my second trip because the staff and facility was so great. You never have to leave. The biggest decision is, "Should I hang out at the beach today? Or, the pool?" While on the beach/pool in a personal cabana, servers will take your drink/food order and deliver it. Does life get better than that? There were 6 of us traveling and celebrating 4 birthdays and a 25th wedding anniversary. We got special goodies each night to mark the occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food at the Mauna Lani can be pricey. And, only one restaurant is open at a time. Just down the Queens Highway, is the Queens Marketplace and the Kings Shops. Both have food options that are less expensive. Also, the Mauna Lani rooms have a small refridgerator. Perfect for storing sandwiches, salads, yogurt and fruit from the local Foodland Market. This helps offset the pricey food at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Outstanding Stay

Service was outstanding from the moment of check-in until we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo, Japan
Jun 10, 2009

Great resort - rooms need a bit of work

Spa was great but pricey as expected. Rooms were a bit outdated but the hotel was beautiful. Got upgraded to ocean view at no charge which was nice but expected more from the room at a hotel of this caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat at the japanese restaurant at the nearby mall. Terrible food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Az
Jun 6, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Mauna Lani is conveniently located on prime property with tremendous history and cultural significance to the Hawaians. The thought and preparation to preserve this property and enable the guest to enjoy it is exceptional. The director of cultural affairs has an office in the hotel and is active in educating those interested. There are multiple beaches available with staff and accomodations for snorkel, scuba, sunset cruises and nature walks. We took time to hike Mauna Kea, take in the volcanoes, soak up the sun, and thoroughly relax in this very nuturing and healing environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the morning walks along the beach trails in either direction and don't hesitate to meet "Danny" Akaka for a cultural tour of the property! If you have rented a car I highly recommend a drive up to the North point and back through Waimea. Saddle Road to Mauna Kea is spectacular as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Goto Guy
Hollywood, CA
May 11, 2009

A fantastic, secluded resort

This hotel had been recommended by family members who had stayed there recently and it lived up to the billing. From the moment we were greeted at the front door with complimentary leis, ice cold water with fresh strawberries and lemons soaking in it, and a valet who offered to park our car in guest parking and bring us the keys so we could avoid the $21/ night valet charges, the staff at the Mauna Lani set the tone for our stay. We were given a complimentary room upgrade to ocean front (likely a function of traveling during a very down time but appreciated nonetheless) and the room was immaculate. All the staff made every effort to learn our names and greet us personally. HIGHLIGHTS: The morning brunch was 5 star with varitey every day and some home run staples like fresh waffles and omelettes. A nearly empty beach front meant we had our choice of hammocks or cabanas at all times (again, likely due to the downturn, but still wonderful). Complementary snorkel gear and reasonably priced workout classes. It is a secluded resort with not a ton of activities, but it is perfect if you're looking to unwind without the hustle and bustle of the bigger resorts. We walked next door to the Fairmont Orchid and it seemed positively restless by comparison. Again, we may have hit it at the perfect time, but the Mauna Lani offered the perfect, relaxing retreat that we were hoping for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our best meal was actually at Huggo's which is in Kona, probably about 20 mi from the hotel, but only 5 or 6 from the airport. It's a casual beachfront bar with bar type food that was very good. the entertainment was Grammy winner LT Smooth who plays there regularly. It has a great view to watch the sunset with very affordable prices on food and drinks and great, casual ambience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut
Dec 7, 2008

Very confuse

The building is kinda old. the pool inside smell kinda not so good.. price is reasonable though.. and the ocean view is great ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top