$253 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Nearly perfect but worth 5 stars!

Quiet location 30 min north of Kailua-Kona airport/urban area but central to all parts of the island if you have a rental car. You could go to this hotel and never leave the site with plenty of relaxing and sporting activities for all. Would have preferred that the beach grill had dining hours beyond 4p for those wishing to have a more casual dinner pool and/or beachside. The Canoe House dinner menu is not kid friendly unless you have a sushi and seafood eater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the Queen's & King's Marketplaces two exits south of hotel for great shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii for the anniversary
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Very Relaxing Beach Hotel

One of the best hotels we've stayed at. The staff is very friendly and the best part was the beach is right there. The best snorkeling without having to go on a tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Excellent facility, outstanding service, tremendous staff. I look forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, CA
Aug 12, 2009

The place to be on the Big Island

What you will find at the Mauna Lani is a tranquil vacataion where your booking is NOT just the admission so they can charge you more. Mauna Lani features free in-room high-speed internet, free cabanas, free snorkelign (4 hrs), free tennis (1 hr per day), free coffee from 6a-9a. The hotel and the rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, comfortable, practical & relaxing. The fishponds around the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere. All staff members we spoke to were super friendly and even their beach food is very tasty & healthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not spend $100 p.p. on a snorkel tour. Get the 4 hr free equipment rental from Mauna Lani resort and walk over to their crescent beach - some of the best snorkeling there on the coast. Their main beach also has turtles coming up once in a while.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Theresa
Business
Venice, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Love Mauna Lani... this place rocks!!!

Hotel was fantastic - couldn't have asked for anything more. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. There are lots of activities to do - we hiked, biked, snorkeled, and did lots of swimming - the beach is beautiful and the food is delicious! We will be back - thank you Mauna Lani for a truly wonderful vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Island Fan
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 20, 2009

Great hotel, would stay again for sure!

My husband and I stayed here for five nights. From the personalized check in with fresh juice, cold towels it was awesome. We LOVED the open air lobby with the fish ponds with turtles and sharks, too! Our room was kept so neat, in the morning someone came in and made the beds and cleaned the room and in the evening there was a turn down service (and they also refilled our ice bucket). It was my birthday while we were there, but I didn't tell anyone at the hotel. When a friend of mine called to have flowers delivered the manager also sent up a delicious cake and a card wishing me a happy birthday! There is absolutely nothing negative I have to say about this hotel. We would definitely stay here again. We didn't bring our kids this time but I think they would have loved it also because of the fish ponds and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the Manta Ray dive with Neptune Charlies!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach, California
Jul 13, 2009

outstanding resort with fantastic views

The Mauna Lani resort provided an exceptional vacation with a view from our balcony that was out of this world. The service was exceptional and the breakfast buffet delicious and worth the $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Orbitz provided us with an unbelievable vacation package. When making arrangements for my next trip, I will check with Orbitz first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob FBM
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 30, 2009

This is the best hotel on big island

This is a great hotel for a romantic couple. The pictures do not really show you how nice this hotel is. It's by the far the most beautiful hotel on big island that I've seen. The nice thing about the hotel is that is manages to be luxurious, yet retains some Hawaiian charm with it's styling. I've staying in many of the worlds best hotels, and there aren't many times you walk out the door feeling that everything about your experience was perfect. The rooms are excellent, and the service it first class. For a midsize hotel it makes you feel like royalty when you walk out the front door and the valet is already pulling your car around because they recognized you walking down the hall. They upgrade your room without asking and for free because they are not full. I hate it when you check into a 5 star hotel and they charge you to use all the facilities that made it a 5 star hotel to begin with. None of that here. You use everything for free. They also have the best restaurant we ate at during our stay on the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Canoe House restaurant is the best restaurant we ate at during our stay on Big Island. In fact it was the best diner I'd had in months. Food and service is excellent, but the setting it wonderful and romantic, right on the beach, yet elegant. Next door at the fairmont, they have a similar restaurant for twice the price, yet the atmosphere is not as nice, and the food is no better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Diego
Business
San Diego
Jun 30, 2009

My second stay at the Mauna Lani

Don't miss the hot rock lomi lomi massage at the spa. It was fantasic. As were the nightly sunsets. In 2008, we saw the green flash from the Mauna Lani beach. Great snorkeling down at the second beach inlet. This was my second trip because the staff and facility was so great. You never have to leave. The biggest decision is, "Should I hang out at the beach today? Or, the pool?" While on the beach/pool in a personal cabana, servers will take your drink/food order and deliver it. Does life get better than that? There were 6 of us traveling and celebrating 4 birthdays and a 25th wedding anniversary. We got special goodies each night to mark the occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food at the Mauna Lani can be pricey. And, only one restaurant is open at a time. Just down the Queens Highway, is the Queens Marketplace and the Kings Shops. Both have food options that are less expensive. Also, the Mauna Lani rooms have a small refridgerator. Perfect for storing sandwiches, salads, yogurt and fruit from the local Foodland Market. This helps offset the pricey food at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Outstanding Stay

Service was outstanding from the moment of check-in until we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top