$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pre-vacation
Business
Bowie, Md.
Mar 1, 2010

Ray's pre-welcome Home trip

The room was beautiful, the onsire dining was pricey but good, the view was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely get out and enjoy the Beach and some tours,

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 5, 2010

Great to disappointing..

From the moment we checked in, we felt very welcomed. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room we checked into was small but comfortable, and with a great view overlooking the garden and the ocean. A good value for the price. We had previously decided to treat ourselves to a suite for the last two nights, and therefore moved to an ocean view suite, located on the six floor. The front desk staff was very efficient and ensured and easy move in no time with assistance to make it perfect. The view there was breathtaking. Full pool view as well as the ocean, no obstruction. The room was spacious, nice living room, great balcony. All was fine, until the next morning when we discovered a huge leak in the room and therefore had to move to a different room. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The space and shape of the room were poorly designed. The room was dark and the view, although ocean front, was definitely not as nice as the previous room. The furniture are old and the bathrooms (in all rooms) need to be remodeled. Pool side experience: nice pool, good menu choices (food and drinks), poor service. Dirty dishes were left uncleared for hours. On the other hand, the service we received by the beach front was perfect; friendly and professional. Breakfast experience: excellent. Great staff. Attentive, nice, warm, knowledgeable. The food was amazing. Buffet or a la carte breakfast, all foods looked good and tasted delicious. Spa: terrible. Do not ever get the special "Watsu" massage. It happens in a small "lava" pool, and is based on stretches and strokes under water. It sounds good and so unusual. Yet, it should definitely be more explanatory at time of booking. Hygiene wise is it... against all principles! You are in the water for a full hour with a woman (or a man if you prefer), a perfect stranger, in a swimming suit, holding you against her body, her face.. Although the stretches feel really good, just the thought of somebody you absolutely do not know holding you for that long, touching and manipulating your body, somewhat against hers, in all sorts of positions is.... repulsive (guys out there, you might think it sounds great, but trust me, it is not what you expect!). I would definitely rather recommend a regular massage where your body is covered and only the massage therapist's hands are touching you. And I am not a prude! Overall my experience at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was mediocre. The service at the front desk and at the restaurant, for breakfast, was good though and people really do care. The landscaping of the hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous gardens, nice pool, nice beach (although it didn't bother me, I have to say that this is not the best beach if you want to swim in the ocean due to the reefs all around, but it is beautiful). Not a bad place to stay, but the hotel definitely needs big time remodeling and improvements in quite a few areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast experience is the best part! Definitely do not skip it.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Campbell, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Beautiful Hotel and friendly staff

I had a conference at the Fairmont and decided to stay at the Mauna Lani based on reviews. I went over to the Fairmont for my conference so I was able to compare the two hotels. I would stay at the Mauna Lani again for the following reasons: friendly staff, free parking, free coffee in the morning, free internet, and interesting grounds to explore. I would also recommend to friends to stay at this hotel because although it is not as "ritzy" as the Fairmont, it is definitely more bang for the buck in the most beautiful setting. My husband even wished we had spent more time in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you visit all the lagoons here.. there's sea turtle, hammer head sharks along with colorful fish. You can also walk around the Mauna Lani resort area for all the additional sites and parks.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Exceptional

I've been going to this hotel for over 15 years and it is still one of the absolute best places I've ever been. I haven't been able to top it, and I recommend it to everyone I know. If you're traveling without kids, I'd recommend staying on the Canoe House side of the hotel -- less noise from the pool and a gorgeous view of the mountains. The buffet breakfast is a highlight. My boyfriend and I would get up early, take a beautiful walk along the beach with some Kona coffee, and arrive back hungry and ready for breakfast. Such an amazing way to start the day. The beach is incredible. Honu turtles float in the water, amazing birds walk around on the beach, and the cabanas give you plenty of shade if it's hot (usually around noon.) The staff is amazingly helpful and nice. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at the Safeway near the airport when you arrive, pick up some fresh fruit and snacks to keep in the the in-room refrigerator (empty -- there's no minibar.)

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, CA
Aug 29, 2009

great couple getaway

swam, took golf lesson, snorkeled, went to beach, drove around island, shopped & dined. Always a pleasure to be at the Mauna Lani. Very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Roy's and their butterfish.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met Fan In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Our Trip!

Third time! All great. Staff is wonderful. The room location was perfect. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon was excellent. Open air with Jazz music. Manta at the Mauna Kea was extremely romantic but expensive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Nearly perfect but worth 5 stars!

Quiet location 30 min north of Kailua-Kona airport/urban area but central to all parts of the island if you have a rental car. You could go to this hotel and never leave the site with plenty of relaxing and sporting activities for all. Would have preferred that the beach grill had dining hours beyond 4p for those wishing to have a more casual dinner pool and/or beachside. The Canoe House dinner menu is not kid friendly unless you have a sushi and seafood eater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the Queen's & King's Marketplaces two exits south of hotel for great shopping and dining.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii for the anniversary
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 16, 2009

Very Relaxing Beach Hotel

One of the best hotels we've stayed at. The staff is very friendly and the best part was the beach is right there. The best snorkeling without having to go on a tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Excellent facility, outstanding service, tremendous staff. I look forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top