$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
81 reviews
Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other... See full review

  • MikWra
  • Oct 2, 2014
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shoreline, WA
Apr 27, 2010

Superb service by a friendly staff.

The snorkeling was great. Gear was included in the room price. No extra charge for internet in the room. Every one of the staff would greet you as you encountered them and this was each time, not just at the first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie TX
Apr 10, 2010

Great Hotel

The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel is a great place for a relaxing vacation. It has a great location and the staff is great. There are two beaches for snorkeling, the spa is top notch, and the golf course is excellent also. It is a great place to go for a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Up to the north in this little town on the harbor there are two very good restraunts with reasonable prices. One is the Harbor Grill that has very good seafood and the other is Cafe Pesto which has very good pizzas and italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pre-vacation
Business
Bowie, Md.
Mar 1, 2010

Ray's pre-welcome Home trip

The room was beautiful, the onsire dining was pricey but good, the view was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely get out and enjoy the Beach and some tours,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 5, 2010

Great to disappointing..

From the moment we checked in, we felt very welcomed. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room we checked into was small but comfortable, and with a great view overlooking the garden and the ocean. A good value for the price. We had previously decided to treat ourselves to a suite for the last two nights, and therefore moved to an ocean view suite, located on the six floor. The front desk staff was very efficient and ensured and easy move in no time with assistance to make it perfect. The view there was breathtaking. Full pool view as well as the ocean, no obstruction. The room was spacious, nice living room, great balcony. All was fine, until the next morning when we discovered a huge leak in the room and therefore had to move to a different room. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The space and shape of the room were poorly designed. The room was dark and the view, although ocean front, was definitely not as nice as the previous room. The furniture are old and the bathrooms (in all rooms) need to be remodeled. Pool side experience: nice pool, good menu choices (food and drinks), poor service. Dirty dishes were left uncleared for hours. On the other hand, the service we received by the beach front was perfect; friendly and professional. Breakfast experience: excellent. Great staff. Attentive, nice, warm, knowledgeable. The food was amazing. Buffet or a la carte breakfast, all foods looked good and tasted delicious. Spa: terrible. Do not ever get the special "Watsu" massage. It happens in a small "lava" pool, and is based on stretches and strokes under water. It sounds good and so unusual. Yet, it should definitely be more explanatory at time of booking. Hygiene wise is it... against all principles! You are in the water for a full hour with a woman (or a man if you prefer), a perfect stranger, in a swimming suit, holding you against her body, her face.. Although the stretches feel really good, just the thought of somebody you absolutely do not know holding you for that long, touching and manipulating your body, somewhat against hers, in all sorts of positions is.... repulsive (guys out there, you might think it sounds great, but trust me, it is not what you expect!). I would definitely rather recommend a regular massage where your body is covered and only the massage therapist's hands are touching you. And I am not a prude! Overall my experience at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was mediocre. The service at the front desk and at the restaurant, for breakfast, was good though and people really do care. The landscaping of the hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous gardens, nice pool, nice beach (although it didn't bother me, I have to say that this is not the best beach if you want to swim in the ocean due to the reefs all around, but it is beautiful). Not a bad place to stay, but the hotel definitely needs big time remodeling and improvements in quite a few areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast experience is the best part! Definitely do not skip it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Campbell, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Beautiful Hotel and friendly staff

I had a conference at the Fairmont and decided to stay at the Mauna Lani based on reviews. I went over to the Fairmont for my conference so I was able to compare the two hotels. I would stay at the Mauna Lani again for the following reasons: friendly staff, free parking, free coffee in the morning, free internet, and interesting grounds to explore. I would also recommend to friends to stay at this hotel because although it is not as "ritzy" as the Fairmont, it is definitely more bang for the buck in the most beautiful setting. My husband even wished we had spent more time in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you visit all the lagoons here.. there's sea turtle, hammer head sharks along with colorful fish. You can also walk around the Mauna Lani resort area for all the additional sites and parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Exceptional

I've been going to this hotel for over 15 years and it is still one of the absolute best places I've ever been. I haven't been able to top it, and I recommend it to everyone I know. If you're traveling without kids, I'd recommend staying on the Canoe House side of the hotel -- less noise from the pool and a gorgeous view of the mountains. The buffet breakfast is a highlight. My boyfriend and I would get up early, take a beautiful walk along the beach with some Kona coffee, and arrive back hungry and ready for breakfast. Such an amazing way to start the day. The beach is incredible. Honu turtles float in the water, amazing birds walk around on the beach, and the cabanas give you plenty of shade if it's hot (usually around noon.) The staff is amazingly helpful and nice. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at the Safeway near the airport when you arrive, pick up some fresh fruit and snacks to keep in the the in-room refrigerator (empty -- there's no minibar.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard, CA
Aug 29, 2009

great couple getaway

swam, took golf lesson, snorkeled, went to beach, drove around island, shopped & dined. Always a pleasure to be at the Mauna Lani. Very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Roy's and their butterfish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met Fan In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Our Trip!

Third time! All great. Staff is wonderful. The room location was perfect. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon was excellent. Open air with Jazz music. Manta at the Mauna Kea was extremely romantic but expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Nearly perfect but worth 5 stars!

Quiet location 30 min north of Kailua-Kona airport/urban area but central to all parts of the island if you have a rental car. You could go to this hotel and never leave the site with plenty of relaxing and sporting activities for all. Would have preferred that the beach grill had dining hours beyond 4p for those wishing to have a more casual dinner pool and/or beachside. The Canoe House dinner menu is not kid friendly unless you have a sushi and seafood eater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the Queen's & King's Marketplaces two exits south of hotel for great shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top