$253 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NKNYNJ
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Nice staff

I lost a very delicate necklace with diamonds due to my own fault. It just slid off my neck when I was going out to dinner. I guess I didn't put it on properly. We reported the loss, but did not hope to find it. After we gave up, the staff kept looking for it in the dark with flashlights, found it somewhere on the parking lot, and returned it to us the next day. We just couldn't believe it! As I said before, the necklace is extremely delicate, and the hotel's staff was not responsible for the loss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, California
Jun 16, 2010

Memory Vacation

Every person at the resort made us feel special. From [...], the doormen to [...] the receptionist etc etc. Everyone treated us like a special family guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to enjoy everything. Everything to do is right at the resort including a fantastic 2 golf courses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Stevens WA
May 23, 2010

Breathtaking sunsets!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Mauni Lani Bay was wonderful! the staff was great! grounds are beautiful and it was very peaceful & relaxing,we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to save a little on dining or do some shopping it's a short drive down the road off the hi~way,there is even a macaroni grill,also has a little grocery store...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2008

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality.

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality. At Mauna Lani, you dont get charge for pool chairs, snorkeling, tennis etc, everything is included. They have the best beach access and a great pool. One thing we would have done differently is to rent a weekly car because you must see the island but there is no public transportation. Its highly recommended and we would go back to the same hotel if we had the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at Mauno Lani, you can take the free shuttle to fairmont hotel for sushi or alternative dining or you can walk to the Mauna Lani shops for additional dining option such such as tommy bahamas or ruth and chris steak house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasco, WA
Jun 23, 2007

True Aloha

The Mauna Lani Hotel is a wonderful resort to visit. My husband and I really enjoyed it's beautiful location. It has everything a Hawaiin vacation needs: a nice pool, great beach for swimming, a wonderful private bay for extraordinary snorkling, and plenty of lava tidal pools for exploring and watching waves. The staff was very accomodating and met all our needs. The room was beautiful and well maintained. The hotel grounds were absolutely fantastic. We will recommend this as a destination to others and we will be returning soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
USA
May 15, 2014

Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens so we asked to be moved and they did promptly, but it slowed us getting settled in. Overall, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the beach and snorkeling is great. All the food is overpriced, but there is a R. Chris and a T. Bahama within biking or driving distance. There also is an affordable grocery store close with wonderful food. We would stay again if we found a good deal. No upgrades so we had no ocean view, but we weren't in the room that much with the beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Hour at R. Chris is very affordable and close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Carlos, CA
Aug 12, 2009

The place to be on the Big Island

What you will find at the Mauna Lani is a tranquil vacataion where your booking is NOT just the admission so they can charge you more. Mauna Lani features free in-room high-speed internet, free cabanas, free snorkelign (4 hrs), free tennis (1 hr per day), free coffee from 6a-9a. The hotel and the rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, comfortable, practical & relaxing. The fishponds around the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere. All staff members we spoke to were super friendly and even their beach food is very tasty & healthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not spend $100 p.p. on a snorkel tour. Get the 4 hr free equipment rental from Mauna Lani resort and walk over to their crescent beach - some of the best snorkeling there on the coast. Their main beach also has turtles coming up once in a while.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach, California
Jul 13, 2009

outstanding resort with fantastic views

The Mauna Lani resort provided an exceptional vacation with a view from our balcony that was out of this world. The service was exceptional and the breakfast buffet delicious and worth the $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Orbitz provided us with an unbelievable vacation package. When making arrangements for my next trip, I will check with Orbitz first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Friends
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Speechless

Luxorious but not superficial. The hotel and its grounds are magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Would be nice if the hotel had more dining options. Having breakfast at the hotel is really expensive. $27+ each person for buffet...that much for eggs, cereal and pancakes?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy1
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 10, 2011

Paradise and perfection!

This is probably the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The setting, room and service were unparalled. We were so happy here, that we hardly felt the need to leave the property, but we wanted to do some sightseeing since this was our first visit to the Big Island, so we forced ourselves. You get exceptional value for the money. In contrast our nephew, who was staying a few miles away at a different resort with his family, went back home to New York a week early because they did not enjoy their stay. Accomodations can really make or break a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On the property there is a grocery store where you can get some basic items thus avoiding the more expensive prices in the gift shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top