$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
80 reviews
Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it.... See full review

  • just traveling me
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens... See full review

  • JBradley
  • May 15, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NKNYNJ
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Nice staff

I lost a very delicate necklace with diamonds due to my own fault. It just slid off my neck when I was going out to dinner. I guess I didn't put it on properly. We reported the loss, but did not hope to find it. After we gave up, the staff kept looking for it in the dark with flashlights, found it somewhere on the parking lot, and returned it to us the next day. We just couldn't believe it! As I said before, the necklace is extremely delicate, and the hotel's staff was not responsible for the loss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasco, WA
Jun 23, 2007

True Aloha

The Mauna Lani Hotel is a wonderful resort to visit. My husband and I really enjoyed it's beautiful location. It has everything a Hawaiin vacation needs: a nice pool, great beach for swimming, a wonderful private bay for extraordinary snorkling, and plenty of lava tidal pools for exploring and watching waves. The staff was very accomodating and met all our needs. The room was beautiful and well maintained. The hotel grounds were absolutely fantastic. We will recommend this as a destination to others and we will be returning soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBradley
USA
May 15, 2014

Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens so we asked to be moved and they did promptly, but it slowed us getting settled in. Overall, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the beach and snorkeling is great. All the food is overpriced, but there is a R. Chris and a T. Bahama within biking or driving distance. There also is an affordable grocery store close with wonderful food. We would stay again if we found a good deal. No upgrades so we had no ocean view, but we weren't in the room that much with the beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Hour at R. Chris is very affordable and close.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos, CA
Aug 12, 2009

The place to be on the Big Island

What you will find at the Mauna Lani is a tranquil vacataion where your booking is NOT just the admission so they can charge you more. Mauna Lani features free in-room high-speed internet, free cabanas, free snorkelign (4 hrs), free tennis (1 hr per day), free coffee from 6a-9a. The hotel and the rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, comfortable, practical & relaxing. The fishponds around the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere. All staff members we spoke to were super friendly and even their beach food is very tasty & healthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not spend $100 p.p. on a snorkel tour. Get the 4 hr free equipment rental from Mauna Lani resort and walk over to their crescent beach - some of the best snorkeling there on the coast. Their main beach also has turtles coming up once in a while.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach, California
Jul 13, 2009

outstanding resort with fantastic views

The Mauna Lani resort provided an exceptional vacation with a view from our balcony that was out of this world. The service was exceptional and the breakfast buffet delicious and worth the $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Orbitz provided us with an unbelievable vacation package. When making arrangements for my next trip, I will check with Orbitz first.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Friends
San Jose, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Speechless

Luxorious but not superficial. The hotel and its grounds are magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Would be nice if the hotel had more dining options. Having breakfast at the hotel is really expensive. $27+ each person for buffet...that much for eggs, cereal and pancakes?

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy1
Alexandria, VA
Mar 10, 2011

Paradise and perfection!

This is probably the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The setting, room and service were unparalled. We were so happy here, that we hardly felt the need to leave the property, but we wanted to do some sightseeing since this was our first visit to the Big Island, so we forced ourselves. You get exceptional value for the money. In contrast our nephew, who was staying a few miles away at a different resort with his family, went back home to New York a week early because they did not enjoy their stay. Accomodations can really make or break a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On the property there is a grocery store where you can get some basic items thus avoiding the more expensive prices in the gift shop.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2010

Anniversary

Great service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Sep 14, 2008

Great Vacation Resort!

The Mauna Lani was beyond our expectations! The staff was always ready to help us and very friendly. Check in was a breeze and the grounds were beautiful. Our son loved the staff and activities at the Kids Kamp and we enjoyed the beach front, restaurants and shopping which is very close by. We liked how it was a short drive to everything we wanted to do, including Kona and Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Activities for everyone were close by.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 6, 2007

Great Beach Experience

The Mauna Lani has the best beach that we have encountered in Hawaii. There is a wonderful swimming area and an amazing snorkelling beach. There are comfortable beach cabana-type chairs. The hotel is beautiful and the Hawaiin music every night adds charm. The fish pools around the hotel are beautiful and fub to watch. We were at the hotel for Turtle Independence Day (July 4) when sea turtles raised at the resort are released into the ocean. This was fun to watch. A;;-in-all a relaxing, comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search