$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modesty
Friends
Olympia, WA
Feb 12, 2013

Simplicity, beauty and hospitality

The Mauna Lani is the least "fussy" first class resort at which I have ever stayed. The feel is completely casual with open air vistas from the gorgeous lobby entrance to the rooms. Everything is local wood and simple so nothing gets in the way of what you came for, the view, the weather and the ocean. If marble bathrooms and gleaming gold fixtures are your style this is not the hotel for you. If you love being able to open the doors to the lanai and just close the wood shutters for privacy every night and enjoy the sea breezes you are in the right spot. The staff are friendly and always helpful, but not hovering. They treat you like a guest they would invite to their home and demonstrate true hospitality. Although not the newest and shiney-ist resort on the island it has the polish of a classic with simple quality everywhere. Combined with a great beach, a great restaurant and a world-class spa it has all the amenities without the fussy veneer. If you want to relax and just enjoy Hawaii I highly recommend it. After 16 years of annual vacations and trying most of the resorts on the Kohala Coast, this is the one we now return to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Water Cafe in Waimea was amazing. Truly worth the drive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBradley
USA
May 15, 2014

Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens so we asked to be moved and they did promptly, but it slowed us getting settled in. Overall, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the beach and snorkeling is great. All the food is overpriced, but there is a R. Chris and a T. Bahama within biking or driving distance. There also is an affordable grocery store close with wonderful food. We would stay again if we found a good deal. No upgrades so we had no ocean view, but we weren't in the room that much with the beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Hour at R. Chris is very affordable and close.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Carlos, CA
Aug 12, 2009

The place to be on the Big Island

What you will find at the Mauna Lani is a tranquil vacataion where your booking is NOT just the admission so they can charge you more. Mauna Lani features free in-room high-speed internet, free cabanas, free snorkelign (4 hrs), free tennis (1 hr per day), free coffee from 6a-9a. The hotel and the rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, comfortable, practical & relaxing. The fishponds around the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere. All staff members we spoke to were super friendly and even their beach food is very tasty & healthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not spend $100 p.p. on a snorkel tour. Get the 4 hr free equipment rental from Mauna Lani resort and walk over to their crescent beach - some of the best snorkeling there on the coast. Their main beach also has turtles coming up once in a while.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Manhattan Beach, California
Jul 13, 2009

outstanding resort with fantastic views

The Mauna Lani resort provided an exceptional vacation with a view from our balcony that was out of this world. The service was exceptional and the breakfast buffet delicious and worth the $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Orbitz provided us with an unbelievable vacation package. When making arrangements for my next trip, I will check with Orbitz first.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Friends
Family
San Jose, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Speechless

Luxorious but not superficial. The hotel and its grounds are magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Would be nice if the hotel had more dining options. Having breakfast at the hotel is really expensive. $27+ each person for buffet...that much for eggs, cereal and pancakes?

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy1
Couples
Alexandria, VA
Mar 10, 2011

Paradise and perfection!

This is probably the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The setting, room and service were unparalled. We were so happy here, that we hardly felt the need to leave the property, but we wanted to do some sightseeing since this was our first visit to the Big Island, so we forced ourselves. You get exceptional value for the money. In contrast our nephew, who was staying a few miles away at a different resort with his family, went back home to New York a week early because they did not enjoy their stay. Accomodations can really make or break a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On the property there is a grocery store where you can get some basic items thus avoiding the more expensive prices in the gift shop.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2010

Anniversary

Great service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Sacramento
Sep 14, 2008

Great Vacation Resort!

The Mauna Lani was beyond our expectations! The staff was always ready to help us and very friendly. Check in was a breeze and the grounds were beautiful. Our son loved the staff and activities at the Kids Kamp and we enjoyed the beach front, restaurants and shopping which is very close by. We liked how it was a short drive to everything we wanted to do, including Kona and Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Activities for everyone were close by.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 6, 2007

Great Beach Experience

The Mauna Lani has the best beach that we have encountered in Hawaii. There is a wonderful swimming area and an amazing snorkelling beach. There are comfortable beach cabana-type chairs. The hotel is beautiful and the Hawaiin music every night adds charm. The fish pools around the hotel are beautiful and fub to watch. We were at the hotel for Turtle Independence Day (July 4) when sea turtles raised at the resort are released into the ocean. This was fun to watch. A;;-in-all a relaxing, comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Manteca, Ca
Apr 27, 2010

I want to turn around and go back!!

I cannot say enough how fantastic the Mauna Lani hotel was for our Hawaii vacation! My husband took me there for my 30th birthday and from the moment we entered the Mauna Lani resort we were amazed at the excellent service, privacy, amenities, location, wildlife and comfortable rooms. My favorite moments of our trip included watching the shark, sea turtle and koi ponds, having breakfast on the terrace with the turkeys! We only wish the breakfast buffet was a little less expensive. The golf course is breathtaking and from the time we checked in we were in love with the place. Thanks Mauna Lani for wonderful service, the staff was very nice. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Foodland Farms grocery store in the Mauna Lani shops.

Back to menu Return to top