Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
77 reviews
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it.... See full review

  • just traveling me
  • Jul 28, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxnard, CA
Aug 29, 2009

great couple getaway

swam, took golf lesson, snorkeled, went to beach, drove around island, shopped & dined. Always a pleasure to be at the Mauna Lani. Very restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Roy's and their butterfish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Monte, CA.
Oct 11, 2010

Beautiful HOTEL

This hotel is beautiful, not only was it super clean but the staff is sooo nice I cannot say it enough the hospitality that me and my husband were given, we were on our honeymoon and picked a perfect spot, very quiet and relaxing. The hotel is really pricey for breakfast or dinner but the food is worth is very delicious! the hotel is also like a 25 minute drive from the airport. Other than that it was a very nice experience.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manteca, Ca
Apr 27, 2010

I want to turn around and go back!!

I cannot say enough how fantastic the Mauna Lani hotel was for our Hawaii vacation! My husband took me there for my 30th birthday and from the moment we entered the Mauna Lani resort we were amazed at the excellent service, privacy, amenities, location, wildlife and comfortable rooms. My favorite moments of our trip included watching the shark, sea turtle and koi ponds, having breakfast on the terrace with the turkeys! We only wish the breakfast buffet was a little less expensive. The golf course is breathtaking and from the time we checked in we were in love with the place. Thanks Mauna Lani for wonderful service, the staff was very nice. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Foodland Farms grocery store in the Mauna Lani shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manhattan Beach, California
Jul 13, 2009

outstanding resort with fantastic views

The Mauna Lani resort provided an exceptional vacation with a view from our balcony that was out of this world. The service was exceptional and the breakfast buffet delicious and worth the $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Orbitz provided us with an unbelievable vacation package. When making arrangements for my next trip, I will check with Orbitz first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, Alaska
Jun 6, 2010

Finest in the World

Like a heavenly retreat from the noisy world. Most things complementary; shuttle, parking, bicycles, water toys, marshmallow toasting, etc. Turtles everywhere! Stunning golf, hit it over the ocean on one hole. Shallow bay for kids, another deeper bay with stunning coral reefs and lots of fish. Sit under their famous blue cabanas and watch the ocean. Food excellent, pricing usual for resorts. Nearby shopping plus grocery store for fruit and sandwiches,etc, AND great Japanese food restaurant, also Tommy Bahama's and Ruth's Chris. Mauna Lani is a smaller, intimate, luxury hotel to really get away and recharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't use the rental car at all. Stayed on grounds, used their free valet parking, shuttle or walk to shops where you can shop at the grocery store for food and snacks. Also great juice/smoothie place too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
May 11, 2010

Hawaii 5-0

The location was perfect for golf. The outside courses we played were very close (within 20 minutes). Aside from golf, the pool and beach were very relaxing distractions. Good pool-side menu and service. The breakfast was pricey because there are no other close options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the shops at Waikoloa Village

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modesty
Olympia, WA
Feb 12, 2013

Simplicity, beauty and hospitality

The Mauna Lani is the least "fussy" first class resort at which I have ever stayed. The feel is completely casual with open air vistas from the gorgeous lobby entrance to the rooms. Everything is local wood and simple so nothing gets in the way of what you came for, the view, the weather and the ocean. If marble bathrooms and gleaming gold fixtures are your style this is not the hotel for you. If you love being able to open the doors to the lanai and just close the wood shutters for privacy every night and enjoy the sea breezes you are in the right spot. The staff are friendly and always helpful, but not hovering. They treat you like a guest they would invite to their home and demonstrate true hospitality. Although not the newest and shiney-ist resort on the island it has the polish of a classic with simple quality everywhere. Combined with a great beach, a great restaurant and a world-class spa it has all the amenities without the fussy veneer. If you want to relax and just enjoy Hawaii I highly recommend it. After 16 years of annual vacations and trying most of the resorts on the Kohala Coast, this is the one we now return to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Water Cafe in Waimea was amazing. Truly worth the drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Laguna Niguel
Nov 23, 2008

My review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Great Service and comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops at Muana Lani offer great restaurants including Tommy Bahama and Ruths Chris and a market for Breakfast, Lunch or in room needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
OAKLAND, CA
May 10, 2008

Great Honeymoon Spot

Lucky us. We've ben to Kona for 12 consecutive years but this was our first stay at the Mauna Lani. We chose this resort for our honeymoon, (second marriages for us and we're over 60). We had a great room and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the lovely grounds. Rooms are large and a bit more old world than we were accustomed to but as it turned out there were a lot of great features that were not initially obvious. The grounds are extensive and very well maintained. The fitness was excellent and we went every day. The best was the staff people that greeted us upon arrival and the very personal attention paid to getting us settled in. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good shopping and excellent selection of restaurants nearby. It is within walking distance as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top