$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cantsaywhy
Couples
Portland OR
Jan 24, 2013

Great Place

Nice facility, very helpful staff, very nice beach access, overall we had a wonderful time on our second honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Laguna Niguel, California
Jun 16, 2010

Memory Vacation

Every person at the resort made us feel special. From [...], the doormen to [...] the receptionist etc etc. Everyone treated us like a special family guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to enjoy everything. Everything to do is right at the resort including a fantastic 2 golf courses

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Anchorage, Alaska
Jun 6, 2010

Finest in the World

Like a heavenly retreat from the noisy world. Most things complementary; shuttle, parking, bicycles, water toys, marshmallow toasting, etc. Turtles everywhere! Stunning golf, hit it over the ocean on one hole. Shallow bay for kids, another deeper bay with stunning coral reefs and lots of fish. Sit under their famous blue cabanas and watch the ocean. Food excellent, pricing usual for resorts. Nearby shopping plus grocery store for fruit and sandwiches,etc, AND great Japanese food restaurant, also Tommy Bahama's and Ruth's Chris. Mauna Lani is a smaller, intimate, luxury hotel to really get away and recharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't use the rental car at all. Stayed on grounds, used their free valet parking, shuttle or walk to shops where you can shop at the grocery store for food and snacks. Also great juice/smoothie place too.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarabecksmom
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2010

First Rate Service

This is a fabulous location for a getaway, honeymoon or beach vacation. Service was first rate from check-in to restaurants, doormen and checkout. All were super friendly and very helpful. Food was a little pricey but worth the expense, especially breakfast buffet. This is not your place if you want to be in the tourist part of the island - Kona is 20 miles down the road. If you want to tour, however, it is easy to get to any other part of the Big Island from here. It is also the sunniest side of the island with very little rain so it's perfect for beach lovers. We had a fabulous time here and would return if we come back to this island. Great package price and value for off-season stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Redondo Beach, Ca
May 31, 2010

Wonderful Property and Breathtaking view

The Mauna Lani came highly recommended and we can see why. Lush surroundings, friendly staff, great restaurants, and nice beach set up. Also, the golfing was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver
May 25, 2010

Fabulous!

We went for our honeymoon and they upgraded us to an ocean view room for free and had a bottle of champagne set up in our room. Our departing flight wasn't until 8 pm and they allowed us a late checkout time for free. Loved the comfy robes and slippers provided for us as well as the nightly turn down service that included fresh bottled water and orchids on our pillows. Mauna Lani provides tasteful recycling containers in each room for those empty water bottles. We also appreciated that the hotel has preserved important historical and cultural aspects of the property like ancient fishing ponds and petroglyphs. The beach is lovely. Sea turtles swimming right along the shore or even sunbathing on the sand! We rented a car, a mustang convertible and would highly recommend it! It was one of the highlights to be driving around the island with the top down! The Big Island is not huge, thus day trips are easy to plan. The concierge desk gave us a list of places to visit and along with the free guide books every where, we were able to see so many great things! Before we arrived in Hawaii, we booked a helicopter tour and a star gazing tour, would also highly recommend both! The grocery store at the shops just down the road has great prices. We bought breakfast food, snacks, and even some souvenirs there. Actually, we thought the gift shop at the hotel to be pretty well priced too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lake Stevens WA
May 23, 2010

Breathtaking sunsets!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Mauni Lani Bay was wonderful! the staff was great! grounds are beautiful and it was very peaceful & relaxing,we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to save a little on dining or do some shopping it's a short drive down the road off the hi~way,there is even a macaroni grill,also has a little grocery store...

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Carolina
May 14, 2010

Finding paradise in paradise

The grounds were lush and beautiful, making exploring delightful. Fish and turtle ponds with numerous breeds were fun to watch. Since the service was excellent and there was ample space in both the room and bath area, the whole experience was most relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Buffalo, NY
May 11, 2010

Hawaii 5-0

The location was perfect for golf. The outside courses we played were very close (within 20 minutes). Aside from golf, the pool and beach were very relaxing distractions. Good pool-side menu and service. The breakfast was pricey because there are no other close options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the shops at Waikoloa Village

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timeline
Couples
South Carolina
May 4, 2010

Honeymoon

Ocean view was the end unit next to mountain view. Room over looked the utility building. Hotel was empty, they could have came us a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

45-60 minute drive

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Manteca, Ca
Apr 27, 2010

I want to turn around and go back!!

I cannot say enough how fantastic the Mauna Lani hotel was for our Hawaii vacation! My husband took me there for my 30th birthday and from the moment we entered the Mauna Lani resort we were amazed at the excellent service, privacy, amenities, location, wildlife and comfortable rooms. My favorite moments of our trip included watching the shark, sea turtle and koi ponds, having breakfast on the terrace with the turkeys! We only wish the breakfast buffet was a little less expensive. The golf course is breathtaking and from the time we checked in we were in love with the place. Thanks Mauna Lani for wonderful service, the staff was very nice. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Foodland Farms grocery store in the Mauna Lani shops.

Back to menu Return to top