$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad J
South Jordan, Utah
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect!

The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent - best snorkeling in Hawaii is just a 10 minute walk down the beach front (ask about it - we drove all around Hawaii snorkeling and then found that the best place was right under our noses - its not the Mauna Lani's beach but its on the "Mauna Lani Property." We got a great deal and would do it all over again. They also had FREE Wi-Fi. Only draw back - they need to get ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkeling on the Mauni Lani Property is the best we found in Hawaii. Its about a 10 minute walk south-west of the Mauna Lani's hotel beach to another beach on the "Mauna Lani Property."

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seal Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Which one, Mauna Lani Bay or Mauna Kea?

I couldn't decide between the Mauna Lani Bay or the Mauna Kea so we spend a few days at both. The Mauna Lani Bay is HUGE. It has a separate spa/fitness center and two beach's. There is a lot of coral on the beaches so it's good for snorkeling and the water is very calm since it's a bay. Snorkel gear is included in your stay. The Mauna Kea grounds are huge, but it doesn't have a spa, though the gym was nice. The beach is AMAZING. There are lounge chairs on the beach, and they set up an umbrellas for you once you find a place to settle- you have to find your own place to set-up, where they'll help you set up at the Mauna Lani. The Mauna Kea pool is pretty weak and we didn't notice any pool service for food or drinks, where as the food was very reasonable and good at the Mauna Lani pool- which is also much nicer, but not an infinity pool. It also has nicely padded round double loungers with a cover you can use. There are a lot more places to eat a the Mauna Lani Bay and you can choose a cold (cereal/fruit) or hot breakfast (full works) that is cheaper and better than at the Mauna Kea. There's also a small shopping center with a grocery store just outside the hotel. Both places give you an empty small refrigerator to use, which was very nice. We had a Plumera room at the Mauna Kea, which would not be worth it if it wasn't for the $100/night credit. The lounge is just a room with some cookies or brownies and some drinks. It's nothing like a Club Room at a Ritz. You do get a nice beach view room and the rooms are updated with a very nice bed and excellent bedding, though there was no carpeting in the room, which the wife didn't like. The room at the Mauna Lani Bay was a little dated, particularly the bathroom faucet and tub. The bed/bedding wasn't bad, but it was not as nice as the Mauna Kea. It's still a nice room, but the Mauna Kea was recently refinished. The Mauna Kea also had a lot more channels, including HBO, Food, HGTV that the wife liked. The service is more polished at the Mauna Lani Bay. The food server's interact better and know your name because they ask for your room number when you get a table. The pool and beach service is also better. It's not bad at the Mauna Kea, but we did notice a distinct improvement at the Mauna Lani. Internet and parking are also included at the Manua Lani Bay, as are a shuttle to the shopping center/fitness center/second beach, and other services listed on their website. The Mauna Kea charges a $15/night self parking or $20/night valet parking fee- very cheesy IMO. Both are nice places, but different. The Mauna Kea had a LOT more families and kids, where the Mauna Lani Bay was much quieter and seemed to have more couples there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's and Sansei for fine dining. Pine Tree (by the airport) or Hawaiian Style Cafe (breakfast/lunch only) in Waimea for tasty local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 27, 2010

Great views and a good location but

Very nice but a lot of kids with no supervision screaming and yelling at pool. Hotel appeared to be empty when we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, California
Jun 16, 2010

Memory Vacation

Every person at the resort made us feel special. From [...], the doormen to [...] the receptionist etc etc. Everyone treated us like a special family guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to enjoy everything. Everything to do is right at the resort including a fantastic 2 golf courses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Jun 6, 2010

Finest in the World

Like a heavenly retreat from the noisy world. Most things complementary; shuttle, parking, bicycles, water toys, marshmallow toasting, etc. Turtles everywhere! Stunning golf, hit it over the ocean on one hole. Shallow bay for kids, another deeper bay with stunning coral reefs and lots of fish. Sit under their famous blue cabanas and watch the ocean. Food excellent, pricing usual for resorts. Nearby shopping plus grocery store for fruit and sandwiches,etc, AND great Japanese food restaurant, also Tommy Bahama's and Ruth's Chris. Mauna Lani is a smaller, intimate, luxury hotel to really get away and recharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't use the rental car at all. Stayed on grounds, used their free valet parking, shuttle or walk to shops where you can shop at the grocery store for food and snacks. Also great juice/smoothie place too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarabecksmom
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2010

First Rate Service

This is a fabulous location for a getaway, honeymoon or beach vacation. Service was first rate from check-in to restaurants, doormen and checkout. All were super friendly and very helpful. Food was a little pricey but worth the expense, especially breakfast buffet. This is not your place if you want to be in the tourist part of the island - Kona is 20 miles down the road. If you want to tour, however, it is easy to get to any other part of the Big Island from here. It is also the sunniest side of the island with very little rain so it's perfect for beach lovers. We had a fabulous time here and would return if we come back to this island. Great package price and value for off-season stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach, Ca
May 31, 2010

Wonderful Property and Breathtaking view

The Mauna Lani came highly recommended and we can see why. Lush surroundings, friendly staff, great restaurants, and nice beach set up. Also, the golfing was beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
May 25, 2010

Fabulous!

We went for our honeymoon and they upgraded us to an ocean view room for free and had a bottle of champagne set up in our room. Our departing flight wasn't until 8 pm and they allowed us a late checkout time for free. Loved the comfy robes and slippers provided for us as well as the nightly turn down service that included fresh bottled water and orchids on our pillows. Mauna Lani provides tasteful recycling containers in each room for those empty water bottles. We also appreciated that the hotel has preserved important historical and cultural aspects of the property like ancient fishing ponds and petroglyphs. The beach is lovely. Sea turtles swimming right along the shore or even sunbathing on the sand! We rented a car, a mustang convertible and would highly recommend it! It was one of the highlights to be driving around the island with the top down! The Big Island is not huge, thus day trips are easy to plan. The concierge desk gave us a list of places to visit and along with the free guide books every where, we were able to see so many great things! Before we arrived in Hawaii, we booked a helicopter tour and a star gazing tour, would also highly recommend both! The grocery store at the shops just down the road has great prices. We bought breakfast food, snacks, and even some souvenirs there. Actually, we thought the gift shop at the hotel to be pretty well priced too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Stevens WA
May 23, 2010

Breathtaking sunsets!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Mauni Lani Bay was wonderful! the staff was great! grounds are beautiful and it was very peaceful & relaxing,we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to save a little on dining or do some shopping it's a short drive down the road off the hi~way,there is even a macaroni grill,also has a little grocery store...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
May 14, 2010

Finding paradise in paradise

The grounds were lush and beautiful, making exploring delightful. Fish and turtle ponds with numerous breeds were fun to watch. Since the service was excellent and there was ample space in both the room and bath area, the whole experience was most relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 11, 2010

Hawaii 5-0

The location was perfect for golf. The outside courses we played were very close (within 20 minutes). Aside from golf, the pool and beach were very relaxing distractions. Good pool-side menu and service. The breakfast was pricey because there are no other close options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the shops at Waikoloa Village

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top