$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
77 reviews
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it.... See full review

  • just traveling me
  • Jul 28, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modesty
Olympia, WA
Feb 12, 2013

Simplicity, beauty and hospitality

The Mauna Lani is the least "fussy" first class resort at which I have ever stayed. The feel is completely casual with open air vistas from the gorgeous lobby entrance to the rooms. Everything is local wood and simple so nothing gets in the way of what you came for, the view, the weather and the ocean. If marble bathrooms and gleaming gold fixtures are your style this is not the hotel for you. If you love being able to open the doors to the lanai and just close the wood shutters for privacy every night and enjoy the sea breezes you are in the right spot. The staff are friendly and always helpful, but not hovering. They treat you like a guest they would invite to their home and demonstrate true hospitality. Although not the newest and shiney-ist resort on the island it has the polish of a classic with simple quality everywhere. Combined with a great beach, a great restaurant and a world-class spa it has all the amenities without the fussy veneer. If you want to relax and just enjoy Hawaii I highly recommend it. After 16 years of annual vacations and trying most of the resorts on the Kohala Coast, this is the one we now return to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Water Cafe in Waimea was amazing. Truly worth the drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
just traveling me
LA CA
Jul 28, 2014

Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it. Beautiful setting and beach. Did not use many of the resort offerings (spa is pricey) - nice quiet place, very friendly staff. Good food at Canoehouse. Free wifi, parking, and very nice, spacious room + bathroom. Great location - quick to airport (KOA) and sights along West coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luv Mauna Lani
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2014

No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful grounds, with amazing staff. Will be booking again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the BEST snorkling on the Big Island is a 10-minute walk from this hotel. No other hotel can say that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shoreline, WA
Apr 27, 2010

Superb service by a friendly staff.

The snorkeling was great. Gear was included in the room price. No extra charge for internet in the room. Every one of the staff would greet you as you encountered them and this was each time, not just at the first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Exceptional

I've been going to this hotel for over 15 years and it is still one of the absolute best places I've ever been. I haven't been able to top it, and I recommend it to everyone I know. If you're traveling without kids, I'd recommend staying on the Canoe House side of the hotel -- less noise from the pool and a gorgeous view of the mountains. The buffet breakfast is a highlight. My boyfriend and I would get up early, take a beautiful walk along the beach with some Kona coffee, and arrive back hungry and ready for breakfast. Such an amazing way to start the day. The beach is incredible. Honu turtles float in the water, amazing birds walk around on the beach, and the cabanas give you plenty of shade if it's hot (usually around noon.) The staff is amazingly helpful and nice. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at the Safeway near the airport when you arrive, pick up some fresh fruit and snacks to keep in the the in-room refrigerator (empty -- there's no minibar.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NKNYNJ
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Nice staff

I lost a very delicate necklace with diamonds due to my own fault. It just slid off my neck when I was going out to dinner. I guess I didn't put it on properly. We reported the loss, but did not hope to find it. After we gave up, the staff kept looking for it in the dark with flashlights, found it somewhere on the parking lot, and returned it to us the next day. We just couldn't believe it! As I said before, the necklace is extremely delicate, and the hotel's staff was not responsible for the loss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother Theresa
Venice, CA
Aug 11, 2009

Love Mauna Lani... this place rocks!!!

Hotel was fantastic - couldn't have asked for anything more. We were upgraded to an ocean view room. There are lots of activities to do - we hiked, biked, snorkeled, and did lots of swimming - the beach is beautiful and the food is delicious! We will be back - thank you Mauna Lani for a truly wonderful vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos, CA
Aug 12, 2009

The place to be on the Big Island

What you will find at the Mauna Lani is a tranquil vacataion where your booking is NOT just the admission so they can charge you more. Mauna Lani features free in-room high-speed internet, free cabanas, free snorkelign (4 hrs), free tennis (1 hr per day), free coffee from 6a-9a. The hotel and the rooms are not fancy, but they are clean, comfortable, practical & relaxing. The fishponds around the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere. All staff members we spoke to were super friendly and even their beach food is very tasty & healthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not spend $100 p.p. on a snorkel tour. Get the 4 hr free equipment rental from Mauna Lani resort and walk over to their crescent beach - some of the best snorkeling there on the coast. Their main beach also has turtles coming up once in a while.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob FBM
Los Angeles
Jun 30, 2009

This is the best hotel on big island

This is a great hotel for a romantic couple. The pictures do not really show you how nice this hotel is. It's by the far the most beautiful hotel on big island that I've seen. The nice thing about the hotel is that is manages to be luxurious, yet retains some Hawaiian charm with it's styling. I've staying in many of the worlds best hotels, and there aren't many times you walk out the door feeling that everything about your experience was perfect. The rooms are excellent, and the service it first class. For a midsize hotel it makes you feel like royalty when you walk out the front door and the valet is already pulling your car around because they recognized you walking down the hall. They upgrade your room without asking and for free because they are not full. I hate it when you check into a 5 star hotel and they charge you to use all the facilities that made it a 5 star hotel to begin with. None of that here. You use everything for free. They also have the best restaurant we ate at during our stay on the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Canoe House restaurant is the best restaurant we ate at during our stay on Big Island. In fact it was the best diner I'd had in months. Food and service is excellent, but the setting it wonderful and romantic, right on the beach, yet elegant. Next door at the fairmont, they have a similar restaurant for twice the price, yet the atmosphere is not as nice, and the food is no better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schmoemeister
Spokane, WA
Apr 17, 2014

Has it all!

We stayed in Kona at a small condo and near Hilo in a cottage and ended our stay on the big island here at this beautiful place. Our room was so nice and the lanai overlooked the ocean and the pool (didn't expect that as we couldn't afford a "ocean view" room). Wonderful HOT hot tubs and the pool was brand new. Nice padded beach chairs with big cushy towels and cabanas at the beach and poolside and there were plenty to go around so you didn't have to scout out a place in the morning! You can rent snorkel gear right there on the beach (it was free if you get an upgrade on your day fee which also included a bunch of other stuff). We took the snorkel gear and walked a bit along the beautiful fish ponds to a WONDERFUL snorkeling area and a stunning beach. Staff was VERY friendly and food was wonderful at the bay cafe. My husband even took a water color class from a wonderful artist poolside one day - he LOVED it! We would go back in a heartbeat. You could stay here and not even need a car - has it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Kona Brewing Company down in Kona (about 1/2 hr. drive) for lunch or dinner. Wonderful staff, food and just fun!! Beachside in Kona we also recommend Bongo Bens for breakfast and the Ono fish and chips at Quinns. There is a great place between the airport and Kona as well called the Pine Tree Cafe that had excellent food at a great price as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 6, 2007

Great Beach Experience

The Mauna Lani has the best beach that we have encountered in Hawaii. There is a wonderful swimming area and an amazing snorkelling beach. There are comfortable beach cabana-type chairs. The hotel is beautiful and the Hawaiin music every night adds charm. The fish pools around the hotel are beautiful and fub to watch. We were at the hotel for Turtle Independence Day (July 4) when sea turtles raised at the resort are released into the ocean. This was fun to watch. A;;-in-all a relaxing, comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search