$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cantsaywhy
Portland OR
Jan 24, 2013

Great Place

Nice facility, very helpful staff, very nice beach access, overall we had a wonderful time on our second honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Kevin
Business
Napa
Feb 12, 2013

What a Paradise!

We loved the Mauna Lani! It was more than we expected and cannot wait to go back. Very lovely and private with great amenities and such good food on site. The beach is so wonderful there... I chose Mauna Lani because of the ancient fishponds and petroglyphs and that history made it very special! I fell in love with the Sting Ray on site and visited him often. Shops, restaurants and an upscale grocery store were really close to hotel and such a nice convenience. We spent more than one Happy Hour at Tommy Bahamas restaurant for the fabulous coconut prawns watching the sunset. Simply paradise... We'll be back very, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the free guided tour to see all the different fish and turtles on the property. Also, the ancient fish ponds and petroglyphs on the property made this property very special and magical for us!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modesty
Business
Olympia, WA
Feb 12, 2013

Simplicity, beauty and hospitality

The Mauna Lani is the least "fussy" first class resort at which I have ever stayed. The feel is completely casual with open air vistas from the gorgeous lobby entrance to the rooms. Everything is local wood and simple so nothing gets in the way of what you came for, the view, the weather and the ocean. If marble bathrooms and gleaming gold fixtures are your style this is not the hotel for you. If you love being able to open the doors to the lanai and just close the wood shutters for privacy every night and enjoy the sea breezes you are in the right spot. The staff are friendly and always helpful, but not hovering. They treat you like a guest they would invite to their home and demonstrate true hospitality. Although not the newest and shiney-ist resort on the island it has the polish of a classic with simple quality everywhere. Combined with a great beach, a great restaurant and a world-class spa it has all the amenities without the fussy veneer. If you want to relax and just enjoy Hawaii I highly recommend it. After 16 years of annual vacations and trying most of the resorts on the Kohala Coast, this is the one we now return to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Water Cafe in Waimea was amazing. Truly worth the drive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NKNYNJ
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Nice staff

I lost a very delicate necklace with diamonds due to my own fault. It just slid off my neck when I was going out to dinner. I guess I didn't put it on properly. We reported the loss, but did not hope to find it. After we gave up, the staff kept looking for it in the dark with flashlights, found it somewhere on the parking lot, and returned it to us the next day. We just couldn't believe it! As I said before, the necklace is extremely delicate, and the hotel's staff was not responsible for the loss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad J
Business
South Jordan, Utah
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect!

The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent - best snorkeling in Hawaii is just a 10 minute walk down the beach front (ask about it - we drove all around Hawaii snorkeling and then found that the best place was right under our noses - its not the Mauna Lani's beach but its on the "Mauna Lani Property." We got a great deal and would do it all over again. They also had FREE Wi-Fi. Only draw back - they need to get ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkeling on the Mauni Lani Property is the best we found in Hawaii. Its about a 10 minute walk south-west of the Mauna Lani's hotel beach to another beach on the "Mauna Lani Property."

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel, California
Jun 16, 2010

Memory Vacation

Every person at the resort made us feel special. From [...], the doormen to [...] the receptionist etc etc. Everyone treated us like a special family guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to enjoy everything. Everything to do is right at the resort including a fantastic 2 golf courses

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Stevens WA
May 23, 2010

Breathtaking sunsets!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Mauni Lani Bay was wonderful! the staff was great! grounds are beautiful and it was very peaceful & relaxing,we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to save a little on dining or do some shopping it's a short drive down the road off the hi~way,there is even a macaroni grill,also has a little grocery store...

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2008

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality.

Great place for families or honeymooners.We loved their hospitality. At Mauna Lani, you dont get charge for pool chairs, snorkeling, tennis etc, everything is included. They have the best beach access and a great pool. One thing we would have done differently is to rent a weekly car because you must see the island but there is no public transportation. Its highly recommended and we would go back to the same hotel if we had the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at Mauno Lani, you can take the free shuttle to fairmont hotel for sushi or alternative dining or you can walk to the Mauna Lani shops for additional dining option such such as tommy bahamas or ruth and chris steak house.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasco, WA
Jun 23, 2007

True Aloha

The Mauna Lani Hotel is a wonderful resort to visit. My husband and I really enjoyed it's beautiful location. It has everything a Hawaiin vacation needs: a nice pool, great beach for swimming, a wonderful private bay for extraordinary snorkling, and plenty of lava tidal pools for exploring and watching waves. The staff was very accomodating and met all our needs. The room was beautiful and well maintained. The hotel grounds were absolutely fantastic. We will recommend this as a destination to others and we will be returning soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBradley
Business
USA
May 15, 2014

Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens so we asked to be moved and they did promptly, but it slowed us getting settled in. Overall, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the beach and snorkeling is great. All the food is overpriced, but there is a R. Chris and a T. Bahama within biking or driving distance. There also is an affordable grocery store close with wonderful food. We would stay again if we found a good deal. No upgrades so we had no ocean view, but we weren't in the room that much with the beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy Hour at R. Chris is very affordable and close.

Back to menu Return to top