$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 2, 2011

Amazing getaway

A cozy hotel complex with amazing architecture and landscaping. Plenty of charming artificial waterfalls on lava-stone canals with exotic fish. Many places to explore just next door - historic lava field, chain of ponds with palms growing from under the sea water... Wonderful snorkeling. Fantastic cuisine of Canoe House Restaurant just on the premises. Excellent concierge service. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Having its own outstanding dining option at Canoe House, the hotel provides also an excellent complimentary drive-up service to the closest shopping center just on Mauna Lani Complex territory, where immaculate restaurants as well as very affordable local food store, art gallery, souvenir store, etc. are located. Only keep in mind that there is no microwave in the hotel rooms.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hapa Son
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 27, 2010

Lots of aloha

We biked the site and walked several of the trails. The hotel offered varied activities daily, although we didn't take advantage of them because of our plans to visit heiau in South and North Kohala. Staff was always accommodating regarding information about the area, getting bikes for us and helping us with dining alternatives [the Canoe House had no convenient dining times because of the holiday crowds]. We've stayed at the hotel and along the Kohala coast several times, but this was our favorite visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Monstera, a Japanese restaurant in The Shops about half a mile from the hotel, was a very good recommendation. We also liked eating at Merriman's in Waimea about 12-15 miles away.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doctorgonzo
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 27, 2010

Fantastic resort

This was the perfect place for a relaxing honeymoon. Luxurious all around. The beach was great for swimming and snorkeling (gear was complimentary). Located within an easy drive of beaches like Hapuna Beach, probably the best beach in the entire U.S. Not far from Kailua-Kona. Like the rest of the Kohala resort area, it is pretty far from the windward side and associated sites. Food choices are good but spendy (especially the breakfast buffet). Go to Kailua or Waikoloa and visit the grocery store for some food if you don't want resort faire constantly. Of course, there are great places nearby to eat. Easily the nicest place I have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Things close early on the Big Island. Don't expect much life after 8 P.M.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce & Chris
Business
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Dec 20, 2010

One week stay in December, 2010

We went primarily for snorkilng, sight seeing, beachcombing, and relaxation. The hotel is beautiful, with lush green grounds with seawater ponds, all with various kinds of fish and even young green turtles. There is plenty of beach space in between lava flow outcrops, two 18-hole golf courses surrounding, and a series of original Hawaiin fish ponds, still being used to control fish like the old hawaiins did. Rooms are spacious, each with a private veranda and a small fridge. There is a fair sized market in the mauna Lani Shops area near hotel, and larger ones in Kailua-Kona and Waimea. Dining out was great everywhere, if a little expensivs...the Canoe House on premises is a beautiful open air setting, as are Browns Beach House (at Fairmont Orchid) and Huggo's downtown Kailua. The snorking was OK, but the water was a little shallow neat hotel, and not as clear as on Maui, probably due to nearby wave action. Did get close to good sized green turtle a few times (like 2 feet away!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Actually, about an hour and a half drive...beautiful rain forest walk (1/2 mile) at Akaka Falls state park, off Rte 19 a few miles north of Hilo on other side of island.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MOuntain View, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Lots of complimentary service

If we do come back to the Big Island, probably won't stay here again. Property is a bit old and for the price, you can probably get better rooms. The good. - Checkin was a breeze, literally, in the open air lobby. Nice touch with the cool oshibori (hand towel) and fresh juice (might've been POG? a Hawaii delicacy, passion + orange + guave juice) - Most resorts in Hawaii will charge you for anything and everything, this place won't. - Parking? free, Internet? free. You get the idea... towels, snorkel gears (lots of other sea sports as well) - The beach right behind this hotel is known for green sea turtles, I snorkeled there twice and saw 5 turtles, literarily swam right next to them. The beach there is also very shallow and calm, so good for beginners - For best snorkeling, take a 10 minute walk south from the hotel to Makaiwa Bay (where the restaurant "Boathouse" is at). It's part of the resort, so they have cabanas/lounge chairs. Better to go in the morning as water is calm/clear, and less crowded. We had a harder time trying to pick a good spot from all the empty cabanas than finding one :-) - Cool elevator in the middle of the resort, I'm sure kids would like that. The average / bad. - Complimentary coffe stands in the morning can backup easily and the staff doesn't have a good way to refill them without fighting for space with the guests, quite chaotic especially before guests are caffeinated - Do everything you can to get out of staying in one of the rooms facing the parking lot, unless you enjoy watching valet parking staff running around all day - We stayed in room #501, one of the ADA (disability) rooms. It might be a bit more spacious than a normal room (I'm not sure), but there's no desk and the TV is off to the side on the table, kinda weird. And there's some weird plumbing / pump? noise when you're in the bathroom every 15 minutes or so, sounds like someone is trying to escape from down below or something

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monstera in "Shops of Mauna Lani", good Japanese food. Either walk there or checkout the (free) bikes from lobby

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Friends
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Speechless

Luxorious but not superficial. The hotel and its grounds are magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Would be nice if the hotel had more dining options. Having breakfast at the hotel is really expensive. $27+ each person for buffet...that much for eggs, cereal and pancakes?

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Monte, CA.
Oct 11, 2010

Beautiful HOTEL

This hotel is beautiful, not only was it super clean but the staff is sooo nice I cannot say it enough the hospitality that me and my husband were given, we were on our honeymoon and picked a perfect spot, very quiet and relaxing. The hotel is really pricey for breakfast or dinner but the food is worth is very delicious! the hotel is also like a 25 minute drive from the airport. Other than that it was a very nice experience.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Monte, CA.
Oct 11, 2010

Beautiful HOTEL

This hotel is beautiful, not only was it super clean but the staff is sooo nice I cannot say it enough the hospitality that me and my husband were given, we were on our honeymoon and picked a perfect spot, very quiet and relaxing. The hotel is really pricey for breakfast or dinner but the food is worth is very delicious! the hotel is also like a 25 minute drive from the airport. Other than that it was a very nice experience.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2010

Anniversary

Great service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top