$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
77 reviews
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it.... See full review

  • just traveling me
  • Jul 28, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Kevin
Napa
Feb 12, 2013

What a Paradise!

We loved the Mauna Lani! It was more than we expected and cannot wait to go back. Very lovely and private with great amenities and such good food on site. The beach is so wonderful there... I chose Mauna Lani because of the ancient fishponds and petroglyphs and that history made it very special! I fell in love with the Sting Ray on site and visited him often. Shops, restaurants and an upscale grocery store were really close to hotel and such a nice convenience. We spent more than one Happy Hour at Tommy Bahamas restaurant for the fabulous coconut prawns watching the sunset. Simply paradise... We'll be back very, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the free guided tour to see all the different fish and turtles on the property. Also, the ancient fish ponds and petroglyphs on the property made this property very special and magical for us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Er
Singapore
Jun 8, 2012

Overall good experience

There's some ants in the room everywhere , we end up changing room the next day to a smaller room. Overall was great, wish breakfast is provided and I can be able to request for high floor and late check out before I arrive. The staffs were fantastic . Beach not so promising but there's lots of sea turtles around to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

45 min drive to SAMs restaurant after kona airport. The food is cheap and in big portions . Value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lounger
Virginia
Jun 22, 2012

Provides great scenery and a relaxing environment

The hotel is asthetically pleasing....fish and shark ponds, nature walks on the beach, awesome views of the sunset, and a very nice beach area with hammocks. The hotel also offers you bicycles to tour around the property. The breakfast buffet and lunch restaurant were great. Some of the downsides that we encountered: Do not drive your rental vehicle up to the hotel because you will be charged a rather outlandish valet fee. About the rental vehicle-make sure that you keep your receipts. We were charged for 2 days over what we had our vehicle. I had to call the Budget 1800 number to get that fixed and get a refund. The Canoe Restaurant- Literally a waste of money. The food is nothing exceptional and it is highly overpriced. The costs must support the purchases of the IPADs that the restaurant uses so you can view the wine list. Food is way overpriced and rather bland. We went there once and never went back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to Alli Drive, lots of restaurants, ocean views, shopping, entertainment, historical sites and hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela sasha
California
Apr 13, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was a very relaxing place for our family. We loved the oceanfront location and nice beach access. The free amenities were great.....bikes, cabanas, laundry room, etc. The pool was warm and not overcrowded, but the place could use a better pool with a slide for the kids. Overall, the grounds were very tropical and beautiful to walk around and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the local grocery store to pick up breakfast and lunch stuff to keep in our fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Az
Jun 6, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Mauna Lani is conveniently located on prime property with tremendous history and cultural significance to the Hawaians. The thought and preparation to preserve this property and enable the guest to enjoy it is exceptional. The director of cultural affairs has an office in the hotel and is active in educating those interested. There are multiple beaches available with staff and accomodations for snorkel, scuba, sunset cruises and nature walks. We took time to hike Mauna Kea, take in the volcanoes, soak up the sun, and thoroughly relax in this very nuturing and healing environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the morning walks along the beach trails in either direction and don't hesitate to meet "Danny" Akaka for a cultural tour of the property! If you have rented a car I highly recommend a drive up to the North point and back through Waimea. Saddle Road to Mauna Kea is spectacular as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met Fan In LA
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Our Trip!

Third time! All great. Staff is wonderful. The room location was perfect. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon was excellent. Open air with Jazz music. Manta at the Mauna Kea was extremely romantic but expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MOuntain View, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Lots of complimentary service

If we do come back to the Big Island, probably won't stay here again. Property is a bit old and for the price, you can probably get better rooms. The good. - Checkin was a breeze, literally, in the open air lobby. Nice touch with the cool oshibori (hand towel) and fresh juice (might've been POG? a Hawaii delicacy, passion + orange + guave juice) - Most resorts in Hawaii will charge you for anything and everything, this place won't. - Parking? free, Internet? free. You get the idea... towels, snorkel gears (lots of other sea sports as well) - The beach right behind this hotel is known for green sea turtles, I snorkeled there twice and saw 5 turtles, literarily swam right next to them. The beach there is also very shallow and calm, so good for beginners - For best snorkeling, take a 10 minute walk south from the hotel to Makaiwa Bay (where the restaurant "Boathouse" is at). It's part of the resort, so they have cabanas/lounge chairs. Better to go in the morning as water is calm/clear, and less crowded. We had a harder time trying to pick a good spot from all the empty cabanas than finding one :-) - Cool elevator in the middle of the resort, I'm sure kids would like that. The average / bad. - Complimentary coffe stands in the morning can backup easily and the staff doesn't have a good way to refill them without fighting for space with the guests, quite chaotic especially before guests are caffeinated - Do everything you can to get out of staying in one of the rooms facing the parking lot, unless you enjoy watching valet parking staff running around all day - We stayed in room #501, one of the ADA (disability) rooms. It might be a bit more spacious than a normal room (I'm not sure), but there's no desk and the TV is off to the side on the table, kinda weird. And there's some weird plumbing / pump? noise when you're in the bathroom every 15 minutes or so, sounds like someone is trying to escape from down below or something

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monstera in "Shops of Mauna Lani", good Japanese food. Either walk there or checkout the (free) bikes from lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moriarty
Shanghai
Aug 28, 2014

Hotel is more a secluded resort

Overall rating is 4 stars, because the rating does not include questions regarding to what extent the hotel is isolated/secluded. If that were the case, then I would rate this hotel 3 stars at max. - Hotel target group: families, couples, who are satisfied with: beach, swimming pool, golf, spa etc. - Not for people who like: to shop (no city streets/shops), do other activities (surfing, snorkling, other watersports), sightseeing, seeing culture, enjoy different choices of restaurants and food. - You need a car to drive to find other activities, restaurants, etc. - The beach is so so, the sand is ok, and the water also, but it is rather rocky. - Too quiet at the hotel, too few people. Conclusion: if you are looking to basically only relax by tanning, swimming, laying at the beach, and accept to do things that only the hotel offers, than this is a very good place to stay at. Otherwise go to Oahu and stay at one of the hotels at Waikiki, it has so much more to offer in terms of restaurants, water sports, shopping, and the beach is much better. Waikiki also has more people/visitors; but it is not crowded. We went in Aug 2014, and it was just the right amount of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a bike to the small shopping center within the Mauni Lani resort. You can buy 100% Kona coffee at the local supermarket, and eat a great steak (I had the ribeye) at Ruth Chris' Steak House, it was one of the few highlights during the stay at the Mauni Lani.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookiemark
Chico, California
Feb 15, 2013

Really Pleasant Experience

Lovely place-- hotel makes the most of the soft Hawaiian breezes. Fascinating fish ponds nearby. Beach chairs are comfortable and offer adjustable sun/wind shades-- perfect for relaxing and watching the sunset. Meals are pricey but rooms have mini-fridges and there is a market in the resort shopping area. Parking is $18 a night, so add that on to your rental car expense. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Lots to do in and around the hotel, and the location is good for access to all of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice food market in the shopping area out toward the highway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Campbell, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Beautiful Hotel and friendly staff

I had a conference at the Fairmont and decided to stay at the Mauna Lani based on reviews. I went over to the Fairmont for my conference so I was able to compare the two hotels. I would stay at the Mauna Lani again for the following reasons: friendly staff, free parking, free coffee in the morning, free internet, and interesting grounds to explore. I would also recommend to friends to stay at this hotel because although it is not as "ritzy" as the Fairmont, it is definitely more bang for the buck in the most beautiful setting. My husband even wished we had spent more time in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you visit all the lagoons here.. there's sea turtle, hammer head sharks along with colorful fish. You can also walk around the Mauna Lani resort area for all the additional sites and parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Sep 14, 2008

Great Vacation Resort!

The Mauna Lani was beyond our expectations! The staff was always ready to help us and very friendly. Check in was a breeze and the grounds were beautiful. Our son loved the staff and activities at the Kids Kamp and we enjoyed the beach front, restaurants and shopping which is very close by. We liked how it was a short drive to everything we wanted to do, including Kona and Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Activities for everyone were close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search