$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 27, 2010

Great views and a good location but

Very nice but a lot of kids with no supervision screaming and yelling at pool. Hotel appeared to be empty when we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MOuntain View, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Lots of complimentary service

If we do come back to the Big Island, probably won't stay here again. Property is a bit old and for the price, you can probably get better rooms. The good. - Checkin was a breeze, literally, in the open air lobby. Nice touch with the cool oshibori (hand towel) and fresh juice (might've been POG? a Hawaii delicacy, passion + orange + guave juice) - Most resorts in Hawaii will charge you for anything and everything, this place won't. - Parking? free, Internet? free. You get the idea... towels, snorkel gears (lots of other sea sports as well) - The beach right behind this hotel is known for green sea turtles, I snorkeled there twice and saw 5 turtles, literarily swam right next to them. The beach there is also very shallow and calm, so good for beginners - For best snorkeling, take a 10 minute walk south from the hotel to Makaiwa Bay (where the restaurant "Boathouse" is at). It's part of the resort, so they have cabanas/lounge chairs. Better to go in the morning as water is calm/clear, and less crowded. We had a harder time trying to pick a good spot from all the empty cabanas than finding one :-) - Cool elevator in the middle of the resort, I'm sure kids would like that. The average / bad. - Complimentary coffe stands in the morning can backup easily and the staff doesn't have a good way to refill them without fighting for space with the guests, quite chaotic especially before guests are caffeinated - Do everything you can to get out of staying in one of the rooms facing the parking lot, unless you enjoy watching valet parking staff running around all day - We stayed in room #501, one of the ADA (disability) rooms. It might be a bit more spacious than a normal room (I'm not sure), but there's no desk and the TV is off to the side on the table, kinda weird. And there's some weird plumbing / pump? noise when you're in the bathroom every 15 minutes or so, sounds like someone is trying to escape from down below or something

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monstera in "Shops of Mauna Lani", good Japanese food. Either walk there or checkout the (free) bikes from lobby

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Jun 10, 2009

Great resort - rooms need a bit of work

Spa was great but pricey as expected. Rooms were a bit outdated but the hotel was beautiful. Got upgraded to ocean view at no charge which was nice but expected more from the room at a hotel of this caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat at the japanese restaurant at the nearby mall. Terrible food.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 2, 2011

Amazing getaway

A cozy hotel complex with amazing architecture and landscaping. Plenty of charming artificial waterfalls on lava-stone canals with exotic fish. Many places to explore just next door - historic lava field, chain of ponds with palms growing from under the sea water... Wonderful snorkeling. Fantastic cuisine of Canoe House Restaurant just on the premises. Excellent concierge service. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Having its own outstanding dining option at Canoe House, the hotel provides also an excellent complimentary drive-up service to the closest shopping center just on Mauna Lani Complex territory, where immaculate restaurants as well as very affordable local food store, art gallery, souvenir store, etc. are located. Only keep in mind that there is no microwave in the hotel rooms.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarabecksmom
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2010

First Rate Service

This is a fabulous location for a getaway, honeymoon or beach vacation. Service was first rate from check-in to restaurants, doormen and checkout. All were super friendly and very helpful. Food was a little pricey but worth the expense, especially breakfast buffet. This is not your place if you want to be in the tourist part of the island - Kona is 20 miles down the road. If you want to tour, however, it is easy to get to any other part of the Big Island from here. It is also the sunniest side of the island with very little rain so it's perfect for beach lovers. We had a fabulous time here and would return if we come back to this island. Great package price and value for off-season stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moriarty
Business
Shanghai
Aug 28, 2014

Hotel is more a secluded resort

Overall rating is 4 stars, because the rating does not include questions regarding to what extent the hotel is isolated/secluded. If that were the case, then I would rate this hotel 3 stars at max. - Hotel target group: families, couples, who are satisfied with: beach, swimming pool, golf, spa etc. - Not for people who like: to shop (no city streets/shops), do other activities (surfing, snorkling, other watersports), sightseeing, seeing culture, enjoy different choices of restaurants and food. - You need a car to drive to find other activities, restaurants, etc. - The beach is so so, the sand is ok, and the water also, but it is rather rocky. - Too quiet at the hotel, too few people. Conclusion: if you are looking to basically only relax by tanning, swimming, laying at the beach, and accept to do things that only the hotel offers, than this is a very good place to stay at. Otherwise go to Oahu and stay at one of the hotels at Waikiki, it has so much more to offer in terms of restaurants, water sports, shopping, and the beach is much better. Waikiki also has more people/visitors; but it is not crowded. We went in Aug 2014, and it was just the right amount of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a bike to the small shopping center within the Mauni Lani resort. You can buy 100% Kona coffee at the local supermarket, and eat a great steak (I had the ribeye) at Ruth Chris' Steak House, it was one of the few highlights during the stay at the Mauni Lani.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetena
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 21, 2014

Great vacation

The staff were very friendly. Facility is great! We we upgraded to an ocean view room...huge bonus. The snorkeling is wonderful. Gear is included with the resort fee. Great service all around. We had a late flight 9:55 pm. While we we not granted a late check-out. We were allowed to use all hotel amenities and were given a hospitality room to shower and relax before we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a shopping area with food court about a 2 mile drive down the highway. Here the food is reasonably priced. Hotel dining is a bit expensive.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captiol Crooner
Business
New York
Jun 2, 2015

Honeymoon

Nice rooms, though we did see some ants crawling around. The beach and pools were beautiful. Staff was nice and helpful. They gave us juice and leis when we arrived, which was a nice touch. It was really fun to watch all the interesting fish throughout the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schmoemeister
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 17, 2014

Has it all!

We stayed in Kona at a small condo and near Hilo in a cottage and ended our stay on the big island here at this beautiful place. Our room was so nice and the lanai overlooked the ocean and the pool (didn't expect that as we couldn't afford a "ocean view" room). Wonderful HOT hot tubs and the pool was brand new. Nice padded beach chairs with big cushy towels and cabanas at the beach and poolside and there were plenty to go around so you didn't have to scout out a place in the morning! You can rent snorkel gear right there on the beach (it was free if you get an upgrade on your day fee which also included a bunch of other stuff). We took the snorkel gear and walked a bit along the beautiful fish ponds to a WONDERFUL snorkeling area and a stunning beach. Staff was VERY friendly and food was wonderful at the bay cafe. My husband even took a water color class from a wonderful artist poolside one day - he LOVED it! We would go back in a heartbeat. You could stay here and not even need a car - has it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Kona Brewing Company down in Kona (about 1/2 hr. drive) for lunch or dinner. Wonderful staff, food and just fun!! Beachside in Kona we also recommend Bongo Bens for breakfast and the Ono fish and chips at Quinns. There is a great place between the airport and Kona as well called the Pine Tree Cafe that had excellent food at a great price as well!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie V.
Business
Boston
Apr 30, 2014

Paradise!

This resort is one of the best I've ever been. I checked neighboring Fairmont and Hilton and they are nothing in comparison. Exceptional hotel with very good value for the money! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Fish!

Back to menu Return to top