$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Kevin
Napa
Feb 12, 2013

What a Paradise!

We loved the Mauna Lani! It was more than we expected and cannot wait to go back. Very lovely and private with great amenities and such good food on site. The beach is so wonderful there... I chose Mauna Lani because of the ancient fishponds and petroglyphs and that history made it very special! I fell in love with the Sting Ray on site and visited him often. Shops, restaurants and an upscale grocery store were really close to hotel and such a nice convenience. We spent more than one Happy Hour at Tommy Bahamas restaurant for the fabulous coconut prawns watching the sunset. Simply paradise... We'll be back very, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the free guided tour to see all the different fish and turtles on the property. Also, the ancient fish ponds and petroglyphs on the property made this property very special and magical for us!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 24, 2012

Nice Getaway

It's a nice Hotel - one of the more private resorts - (not crowded beaches).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hapuna Beach is Gorgeous

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela sasha
Business
California
Apr 13, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was a very relaxing place for our family. We loved the oceanfront location and nice beach access. The free amenities were great.....bikes, cabanas, laundry room, etc. The pool was warm and not overcrowded, but the place could use a better pool with a slide for the kids. Overall, the grounds were very tropical and beautiful to walk around and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the local grocery store to pick up breakfast and lunch stuff to keep in our fridge.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuadasilverhand
Business
portland, OR
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful grounds, rooms fine considering cost

The grounds of the Mauna Lani are just amazing, in some ways it is worth it just to visit this hotel and wander the paths, salt ponds, and beaches. OTOH, the cost is quite high and I hoped that the interior of the room, while adequate, would be more modern and contemporary. The shower should not be a walkover tub to-get-in type. The Bay Terrace breakfast is quite varied and high quality (we did not do the buffet, it looked good). The Ocean Grille is best for drinks not food. The Canoe House is truly fine dining, and almost worth the expense, as the kitchen is doing fine work, and the service is very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss walking the paths and visiting the salt ponds to see the fish.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chibi
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2011

Make the dream real

When I was a kid, I had a favorite button that pictured a man in swimming trucks and sunglasses lounging on a beach beneath a palm tree. Above him it read, "Don't bug me, I'm on vacation." I loved that button. I wanted to be in that button. The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was the closest I've ever gotten to living the dream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the beach outside your door.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad J
Business
South Jordan, Utah
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect!

The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent - best snorkeling in Hawaii is just a 10 minute walk down the beach front (ask about it - we drove all around Hawaii snorkeling and then found that the best place was right under our noses - its not the Mauna Lani's beach but its on the "Mauna Lani Property." We got a great deal and would do it all over again. They also had FREE Wi-Fi. Only draw back - they need to get ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkeling on the Mauni Lani Property is the best we found in Hawaii. Its about a 10 minute walk south-west of the Mauna Lani's hotel beach to another beach on the "Mauna Lani Property."

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen B.
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 5, 2011

A Classic Beauty

The Mauna Lani is a fantastic and clssic Hawaiian property, The location is picture perfect and extremenly private. Trhe beach, seascape and grounds are immaculate and the amenities (spa, workout and tennis facility, bikes, water toys, etc.) are wonderful. The only dings that I have (and they are relatively minor) is that some of the property is a bit tired and dated, and the rooms are just OK. We stayed in a corner ocean-side room (the top room they offer) and while the room was spacious, the bathroom was old offering a standard tub/shower with a dated shower curtain - OK, just not 5-star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are 20-30 coffee plantations along the Kona side offering free tours and tastings. It's similar to a vineyard tour in Napa and well worth some time to explore.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy1
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 10, 2011

Paradise and perfection!

This is probably the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The setting, room and service were unparalled. We were so happy here, that we hardly felt the need to leave the property, but we wanted to do some sightseeing since this was our first visit to the Big Island, so we forced ourselves. You get exceptional value for the money. In contrast our nephew, who was staying a few miles away at a different resort with his family, went back home to New York a week early because they did not enjoy their stay. Accomodations can really make or break a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On the property there is a grocery store where you can get some basic items thus avoiding the more expensive prices in the gift shop.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 2, 2011

Amazing getaway

A cozy hotel complex with amazing architecture and landscaping. Plenty of charming artificial waterfalls on lava-stone canals with exotic fish. Many places to explore just next door - historic lava field, chain of ponds with palms growing from under the sea water... Wonderful snorkeling. Fantastic cuisine of Canoe House Restaurant just on the premises. Excellent concierge service. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Having its own outstanding dining option at Canoe House, the hotel provides also an excellent complimentary drive-up service to the closest shopping center just on Mauna Lani Complex territory, where immaculate restaurants as well as very affordable local food store, art gallery, souvenir store, etc. are located. Only keep in mind that there is no microwave in the hotel rooms.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hapa Son
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 27, 2010

Lots of aloha

We biked the site and walked several of the trails. The hotel offered varied activities daily, although we didn't take advantage of them because of our plans to visit heiau in South and North Kohala. Staff was always accommodating regarding information about the area, getting bikes for us and helping us with dining alternatives [the Canoe House had no convenient dining times because of the holiday crowds]. We've stayed at the hotel and along the Kohala coast several times, but this was our favorite visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Monstera, a Japanese restaurant in The Shops about half a mile from the hotel, was a very good recommendation. We also liked eating at Merriman's in Waimea about 12-15 miles away.

Back to menu Return to top