$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
81 reviews
Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other... See full review

  • MikWra
  • Oct 2, 2014
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cantsaywhy
Portland OR
Jan 24, 2013

Great Place

Nice facility, very helpful staff, very nice beach access, overall we had a wonderful time on our second honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Er
Business
Singapore
Jun 8, 2012

Overall good experience

There's some ants in the room everywhere , we end up changing room the next day to a smaller room. Overall was great, wish breakfast is provided and I can be able to request for high floor and late check out before I arrive. The staffs were fantastic . Beach not so promising but there's lots of sea turtles around to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

45 min drive to SAMs restaurant after kona airport. The food is cheap and in big portions . Value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 24, 2012

Nice Getaway

It's a nice Hotel - one of the more private resorts - (not crowded beaches).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hapuna Beach is Gorgeous

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela sasha
Business
California
Apr 13, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was a very relaxing place for our family. We loved the oceanfront location and nice beach access. The free amenities were great.....bikes, cabanas, laundry room, etc. The pool was warm and not overcrowded, but the place could use a better pool with a slide for the kids. Overall, the grounds were very tropical and beautiful to walk around and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the local grocery store to pick up breakfast and lunch stuff to keep in our fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuadasilverhand
Business
portland, OR
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful grounds, rooms fine considering cost

The grounds of the Mauna Lani are just amazing, in some ways it is worth it just to visit this hotel and wander the paths, salt ponds, and beaches. OTOH, the cost is quite high and I hoped that the interior of the room, while adequate, would be more modern and contemporary. The shower should not be a walkover tub to-get-in type. The Bay Terrace breakfast is quite varied and high quality (we did not do the buffet, it looked good). The Ocean Grille is best for drinks not food. The Canoe House is truly fine dining, and almost worth the expense, as the kitchen is doing fine work, and the service is very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss walking the paths and visiting the salt ponds to see the fish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chibi
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2011

Make the dream real

When I was a kid, I had a favorite button that pictured a man in swimming trucks and sunglasses lounging on a beach beneath a palm tree. Above him it read, "Don't bug me, I'm on vacation." I loved that button. I wanted to be in that button. The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was the closest I've ever gotten to living the dream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the beach outside your door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad J
Business
South Jordan, Utah
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect!

The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent - best snorkeling in Hawaii is just a 10 minute walk down the beach front (ask about it - we drove all around Hawaii snorkeling and then found that the best place was right under our noses - its not the Mauna Lani's beach but its on the "Mauna Lani Property." We got a great deal and would do it all over again. They also had FREE Wi-Fi. Only draw back - they need to get ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkeling on the Mauni Lani Property is the best we found in Hawaii. Its about a 10 minute walk south-west of the Mauna Lani's hotel beach to another beach on the "Mauna Lani Property."

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen B.
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 5, 2011

A Classic Beauty

The Mauna Lani is a fantastic and clssic Hawaiian property, The location is picture perfect and extremenly private. Trhe beach, seascape and grounds are immaculate and the amenities (spa, workout and tennis facility, bikes, water toys, etc.) are wonderful. The only dings that I have (and they are relatively minor) is that some of the property is a bit tired and dated, and the rooms are just OK. We stayed in a corner ocean-side room (the top room they offer) and while the room was spacious, the bathroom was old offering a standard tub/shower with a dated shower curtain - OK, just not 5-star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are 20-30 coffee plantations along the Kona side offering free tours and tastings. It's similar to a vineyard tour in Napa and well worth some time to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy1
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 10, 2011

Paradise and perfection!

This is probably the best hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The setting, room and service were unparalled. We were so happy here, that we hardly felt the need to leave the property, but we wanted to do some sightseeing since this was our first visit to the Big Island, so we forced ourselves. You get exceptional value for the money. In contrast our nephew, who was staying a few miles away at a different resort with his family, went back home to New York a week early because they did not enjoy their stay. Accomodations can really make or break a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On the property there is a grocery store where you can get some basic items thus avoiding the more expensive prices in the gift shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, IN
Jan 18, 2011

Beautiful tranquil and first class!

Hotel was beautiful, rooms very spacious with mini fridge to store your own drinks and snacks. Personnel was consistently helpful and attentive. The property is very natural and beautiful, not the least bit gimicky or contrived. Snorkeling equipt provided by hotel free of charge and snorkeling was great. Beach/shoreline was rugged and very scenic - make sure you follow the Old Fishermans Trail over the jagged rocks to the black sand beach -just breathtaking! A great bargain (probably due to the time period we visited - 2 weeks after Christmas)for a five star property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want an amazing romantic gourmet dining experience, try the Canoe House on the Mauna Lani property - pricey (but everything in Hawaii is more expensive!) but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 2, 2011

Amazing getaway

A cozy hotel complex with amazing architecture and landscaping. Plenty of charming artificial waterfalls on lava-stone canals with exotic fish. Many places to explore just next door - historic lava field, chain of ponds with palms growing from under the sea water... Wonderful snorkeling. Fantastic cuisine of Canoe House Restaurant just on the premises. Excellent concierge service. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Having its own outstanding dining option at Canoe House, the hotel provides also an excellent complimentary drive-up service to the closest shopping center just on Mauna Lani Complex territory, where immaculate restaurants as well as very affordable local food store, art gallery, souvenir store, etc. are located. Only keep in mind that there is no microwave in the hotel rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top