$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Kevin
Business
Napa
Feb 12, 2013

What a Paradise!

We loved the Mauna Lani! It was more than we expected and cannot wait to go back. Very lovely and private with great amenities and such good food on site. The beach is so wonderful there... I chose Mauna Lani because of the ancient fishponds and petroglyphs and that history made it very special! I fell in love with the Sting Ray on site and visited him often. Shops, restaurants and an upscale grocery store were really close to hotel and such a nice convenience. We spent more than one Happy Hour at Tommy Bahamas restaurant for the fabulous coconut prawns watching the sunset. Simply paradise... We'll be back very, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the free guided tour to see all the different fish and turtles on the property. Also, the ancient fish ponds and petroglyphs on the property made this property very special and magical for us!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Modesty
Business
Olympia, WA
Feb 12, 2013

Simplicity, beauty and hospitality

The Mauna Lani is the least "fussy" first class resort at which I have ever stayed. The feel is completely casual with open air vistas from the gorgeous lobby entrance to the rooms. Everything is local wood and simple so nothing gets in the way of what you came for, the view, the weather and the ocean. If marble bathrooms and gleaming gold fixtures are your style this is not the hotel for you. If you love being able to open the doors to the lanai and just close the wood shutters for privacy every night and enjoy the sea breezes you are in the right spot. The staff are friendly and always helpful, but not hovering. They treat you like a guest they would invite to their home and demonstrate true hospitality. Although not the newest and shiney-ist resort on the island it has the polish of a classic with simple quality everywhere. Combined with a great beach, a great restaurant and a world-class spa it has all the amenities without the fussy veneer. If you want to relax and just enjoy Hawaii I highly recommend it. After 16 years of annual vacations and trying most of the resorts on the Kohala Coast, this is the one we now return to time and time again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Water Cafe in Waimea was amazing. Truly worth the drive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cantsaywhy
Business
Portland OR
Jan 24, 2013

Great Place

Nice facility, very helpful staff, very nice beach access, overall we had a wonderful time on our second honeymoon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lounger
Business
Virginia
Jun 22, 2012

Provides great scenery and a relaxing environment

The hotel is asthetically pleasing....fish and shark ponds, nature walks on the beach, awesome views of the sunset, and a very nice beach area with hammocks. The hotel also offers you bicycles to tour around the property. The breakfast buffet and lunch restaurant were great. Some of the downsides that we encountered: Do not drive your rental vehicle up to the hotel because you will be charged a rather outlandish valet fee. About the rental vehicle-make sure that you keep your receipts. We were charged for 2 days over what we had our vehicle. I had to call the Budget 1800 number to get that fixed and get a refund. The Canoe Restaurant- Literally a waste of money. The food is nothing exceptional and it is highly overpriced. The costs must support the purchases of the IPADs that the restaurant uses so you can view the wine list. Food is way overpriced and rather bland. We went there once and never went back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to Alli Drive, lots of restaurants, ocean views, shopping, entertainment, historical sites and hotels.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Er
Business
Singapore
Jun 8, 2012

Overall good experience

There's some ants in the room everywhere , we end up changing room the next day to a smaller room. Overall was great, wish breakfast is provided and I can be able to request for high floor and late check out before I arrive. The staffs were fantastic . Beach not so promising but there's lots of sea turtles around to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

45 min drive to SAMs restaurant after kona airport. The food is cheap and in big portions . Value for money.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 24, 2012

Nice Getaway

It's a nice Hotel - one of the more private resorts - (not crowded beaches).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hapuna Beach is Gorgeous

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela sasha
Business
California
Apr 13, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was a very relaxing place for our family. We loved the oceanfront location and nice beach access. The free amenities were great.....bikes, cabanas, laundry room, etc. The pool was warm and not overcrowded, but the place could use a better pool with a slide for the kids. Overall, the grounds were very tropical and beautiful to walk around and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the local grocery store to pick up breakfast and lunch stuff to keep in our fridge.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuadasilverhand
Business
portland, OR
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful grounds, rooms fine considering cost

The grounds of the Mauna Lani are just amazing, in some ways it is worth it just to visit this hotel and wander the paths, salt ponds, and beaches. OTOH, the cost is quite high and I hoped that the interior of the room, while adequate, would be more modern and contemporary. The shower should not be a walkover tub to-get-in type. The Bay Terrace breakfast is quite varied and high quality (we did not do the buffet, it looked good). The Ocean Grille is best for drinks not food. The Canoe House is truly fine dining, and almost worth the expense, as the kitchen is doing fine work, and the service is very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss walking the paths and visiting the salt ponds to see the fish.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chibi
Business
Chicago
Oct 16, 2011

Make the dream real

When I was a kid, I had a favorite button that pictured a man in swimming trucks and sunglasses lounging on a beach beneath a palm tree. Above him it read, "Don't bug me, I'm on vacation." I loved that button. I wanted to be in that button. The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was the closest I've ever gotten to living the dream.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the beach outside your door.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brad J
Business
South Jordan, Utah
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect!

The staff was wonderful, the location was excellent - best snorkeling in Hawaii is just a 10 minute walk down the beach front (ask about it - we drove all around Hawaii snorkeling and then found that the best place was right under our noses - its not the Mauna Lani's beach but its on the "Mauna Lani Property." We got a great deal and would do it all over again. They also had FREE Wi-Fi. Only draw back - they need to get ice machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkeling on the Mauni Lani Property is the best we found in Hawaii. Its about a 10 minute walk south-west of the Mauna Lani's hotel beach to another beach on the "Mauna Lani Property."

Back to menu Return to top