Kona Village Resort

3 stars
Queen Kaahumanu Highway, Kailua Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
23 reviews
Amazing

I couldn't have dreamed this place up. No T.V. no phones and if you want to use your cell you are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 18, 2010
Amazing

I couldn't have dreamed this place up. No T.V. no phones and if you want to use your cell you are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 18, 2010
Kona Village features 125 spacious Hawaiian Bungalows spread across a 82-acre natural seaside oasis. Guestrooms offer a choice of picturesque garden views, tranquil lagoon settings and dramatic ocean panoramas. Nine bungalow styles range in size from intimate to large enough to accommodate multiple families. So distinctive is each hale that many guests request their same hale upon their return. A few feet from the beach, a natural spring dedicated to the Hawaiian god Kane pours into the ocean. Fresh from the mountains, it brings life to Kona Village Resort and all who come its way. As dramatic as the setting sun, Kona Village Resort beckons with an enchanting beauty and strong spirit of aloha. No phones, no televisions, no radios/ just the music of the trade-winds. 82 acre natural seaside oasis.

Kona Village Resort Rooms

Standard 1 Bedroom Bungalow
1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, king bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, daily maid service/ Coole
Moderate 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Moderate 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, alcove, 1 king and 1 twin bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, s
Superior 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Superior 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, king bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, daily maid servi
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, king bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, daily maid service
Royal 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Royal 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. Large room featuring a private lanai, 1 king and 1 twin bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, dai

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Telephone

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Village Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6875 -156.0218
Area description
City Center

Dining

Hale Moana Restaurant
Located - On-Site - On the beach Cuisine - Pacific Fusion Hours - 7:15-9:45A/12:30-2:00P/6:00-9:00P Dress code - Dinner only - Men: shirt with collar, pants/Women: dress or pants.
Hale Samoa Restaurant
Located - On-Site - On the beach Cuisine - Pacific Fusion Hours - 6:00-9:00P Dress code - Dinner only - Men: shirt with collar, pants/Women: dress or pants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Village Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
v&d
PA
Jun 25, 2010

Great place

Great place for either families or couples. Plenty of activities for kids and not only for them. Very quiet and relaxing-no cell phone ringing, no loud conversations, no loud music, no TV. We stayed at one of the pond hale and the ocean was a beautiful, less than 5 minutes walk through the resort. Don't worry much about the hale location-there is no bad location! The two bars/restaurants on the ocean shore had fabulous food but very expensive. Try the Bora Bora bar pupus (appetizers)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
RTP, NC
Sep 8, 2009

a swimmer's dream

Quiet, friendly, and restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HawaiiHereICome
San Jose, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Our perfect spot in paradise

We just got back from our third trip here. We get a taxi from the airport, settle in for our relaxing stay, and never leave. The snorkeling just off the beach is the best we've found. There so much coral and lava to explore that you can snorkel a different spot every time you go out. The gear is included so you just pick it up from the friendly folks at the beach shack and jump in the water. This is the perfect resort to go to if your idea of a vacation is to throw a few pairs of flip flops, some sun dresses, swim suits and cover ups in a bag and head to the perfect beach. The food is wonderful and all meals are served at tables with a beautiful view of the crescent bay. The menus don't vary much but there is enough variety that you can repeat your favorites and try new things during your stay. We enjoyed banana bread, coconut pastries, prime rib, lobster tails, strange tropical fruits, fresh fish, homemade ice cream, fresh salads, an amazing array of food. The hales right on the ocean are out of our price range but all of them are really nice. The ones that don't have views of the ocean or the pond are often secluded in lush greenery and trees. The landscaping is very well kept but looks completely natural. It looks nothing at all like the "corporate splendor" of the Four Seasons next door. If you are someone that dreams of a rustic vacation on a deserted island, but in reality wants most of the necessities taken care of for you, then Kona Village Resort is your place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jun 5, 2010

A+ Kona Village Resort

beautiful bay for real swimmers(half mile before breakfast) food was excellent. Awesome birdwatching, the sound of the birds was very relaxing. beautiful ponds. The hale was very clean and well laid out PM2. Also great luau performaces, hula & beautiful voices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

incredible white sand body surfing beach at state park next to resort.

Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing

I couldn't have dreamed this place up. No T.V. no phones and if you want to use your cell you are asked to do that in your hut. While this isn't for everybody it was really a great experience for us. There were turtles that swam onto the beach daily and equipment was provided for snorkeling and kayaking and if you are into sports they have a weekly race swiming and running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Know that this is 8 miles from any shopping.

Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HawaiiHereICome
San Jose, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Our perfect spot in paradise

We just got back from our third trip here. We get a taxi from the airport, settle in for our relaxing stay, and never leave. The snorkeling just off the beach is the best we've found. There so much coral and lava to explore that you can snorkel a different spot every time you go out. The gear is included so you just pick it up from the friendly folks at the beach shack and jump in the water. This is the perfect resort to go to if your idea of a vacation is to throw a few pairs of flip flops, some sun dresses, swim suits and cover ups in a bag and head to the perfect beach. The food is wonderful and all meals are served at tables with a beautiful view of the crescent bay. The menus don't vary much but there is enough variety that you can repeat your favorites and try new things during your stay. We enjoyed banana bread, coconut pastries, prime rib, lobster tails, strange tropical fruits, fresh fish, homemade ice cream, fresh salads, an amazing array of food. The hales right on the ocean are out of our price range but all of them are really nice. The ones that don't have views of the ocean or the pond are often secluded in lush greenery and trees. The landscaping is very well kept but looks completely natural. It looks nothing at all like the "corporate splendor" of the Four Seasons next door. If you are someone that dreams of a rustic vacation on a deserted island, but in reality wants most of the necessities taken care of for you, then Kona Village Resort is your place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jun 5, 2010

A+ Kona Village Resort

beautiful bay for real swimmers(half mile before breakfast) food was excellent. Awesome birdwatching, the sound of the birds was very relaxing. beautiful ponds. The hale was very clean and well laid out PM2. Also great luau performaces, hula & beautiful voices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

incredible white sand body surfing beach at state park next to resort.

Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing

I couldn't have dreamed this place up. No T.V. no phones and if you want to use your cell you are asked to do that in your hut. While this isn't for everybody it was really a great experience for us. There were turtles that swam onto the beach daily and equipment was provided for snorkeling and kayaking and if you are into sports they have a weekly race swiming and running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Know that this is 8 miles from any shopping.

Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris and Lisa Bowen
Spokane, WA
Oct 14, 2009

Heaven really does exist

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to Hawaii. Since it was for our tenth anniversary, we decided to make it something special. Boy did we ever pick a good one. Kona Village, a small resort compared to the larger, more commercial resort, does just about everything right. From the location to excellent food, to first class service, they've got it all. Even though it is expensive, I felt like it was worth every dollar, and can't wait to go back. Mahalo Kona, until we meet again! Chris and Lisa Bowen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
v&d
PA
Jun 25, 2010

Great place

Great place for either families or couples. Plenty of activities for kids and not only for them. Very quiet and relaxing-no cell phone ringing, no loud conversations, no loud music, no TV. We stayed at one of the pond hale and the ocean was a beautiful, less than 5 minutes walk through the resort. Don't worry much about the hale location-there is no bad location! The two bars/restaurants on the ocean shore had fabulous food but very expensive. Try the Bora Bora bar pupus (appetizers)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top