Kona Village Resort

3 stars
Queen Kaahumanu Highway, Kailua Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
12 reviews
Amazing

I couldn't have dreamed this place up. No T.V. no phones and if you want to use your cell you are... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 18, 2010
Great place

Great place for either families or couples. Plenty of activities for kids and not only for them.... See full review

  • v&d
  • Jun 25, 2010
Kona Village features 125 spacious Hawaiian Bungalows spread across a 82-acre natural seaside oasis. Guestrooms offer a choice of picturesque garden views, tranquil lagoon settings and dramatic ocean panoramas. Nine bungalow styles range in size from intimate to large enough to accommodate multiple families. So distinctive is each hale that many guests request their same hale upon their return. A few feet from the beach, a natural spring dedicated to the Hawaiian god Kane pours into the ocean. Fresh from the mountains, it brings life to Kona Village Resort and all who come its way. As dramatic as the setting sun, Kona Village Resort beckons with an enchanting beauty and strong spirit of aloha. No phones, no televisions, no radios/ just the music of the trade-winds. 82 acre natural seaside oasis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Village Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Kona Village Resort Rooms

Standard 1 Bedroom Bungalow
1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, king bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, daily maid service/ Coole
Moderate 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Moderate 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, alcove, 1 king and 1 twin bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, s
Superior 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Superior 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, king bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, daily maid servi
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Deluxe 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. All rooms include a private lanai, king bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, daily maid service
Royal 1 Bedroom Bungalow
Royal 1 Bedroom Bungalow with thatched roof and high-beamed ceilings. Large room featuring a private lanai, 1 king and 1 twin bed, robes, slippers, bath amenities, small refrigerator stocked with complimentary beverages and mixers, coffee maker, safe, dai

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Telephone

Dining

Hale Moana Restaurant
Located - On-Site - On the beach Cuisine - Pacific Fusion Hours - 7:15-9:45A/12:30-2:00P/6:00-9:00P Dress code - Dinner only - Men: shirt with collar, pants/Women: dress or pants.
Hale Samoa Restaurant
Located - On-Site - On the beach Cuisine - Pacific Fusion Hours - 6:00-9:00P Dress code - Dinner only - Men: shirt with collar, pants/Women: dress or pants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Village Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing

I couldn't have dreamed this place up. No T.V. no phones and if you want to use your cell you are asked to do that in your hut. While this isn't for everybody it was really a great experience for us. There were turtles that swam onto the beach daily and equipment was provided for snorkeling and kayaking and if you are into sports they have a weekly race swiming and running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Know that this is 8 miles from any shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KVR Fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Wonderful Vacation!

Kona Village is a very unique and special place. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They really made us feel like ohana (family). Our 20 month old loved the children's pool and playing on their wonderful beach. The room in which we stayed needs to be renovated. That said, we didn't go to stare at our bathroom fixtures. If that's your thing, try the Four Seasons next door. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. Housekeeping did a wonderful job of picking up after us! The grounds surrounding the resort are gorgeous! We really enjoyed the food, especially breakfast. The luau is not to be missed. We can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast was delicious. Try the sweet potato pancakes with bananas and coconut syrup or the delectable orange french toast with coconut syrup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Sep 14, 2010

a different kind of Hawaii vacation

One of the things I like best about this hotel are the accommodations. Each guest has their own little house, called a hale. They are modern and spacious on the inside. The hales are distributed around the resort, some near the beach, and some on the pond. I prefer the pond area...it's very serene and beautiful. The hotel is set up as an all-inclusive, meaning all meals included, but you can book it as bed-and breakfast, which I did. Obviously, it is less expensive that way, but the downside is that you are then paying ala carte prices for dinner (and lunch) and it is quite expensive! There are three dining options at the hotel...the main dining room, the "upscale" dining room, and the casual bar area. Dinners at the two dining rooms are $80pp prix fixe. Meals at the bar are off the menu, but still expensive. AND there are no other restaurants around for miles!! Nonetheless, I still definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return with my wife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BFC
Business
Palos Verdes, CA
Sep 2, 2010

Laid Back Simplicity

The resort has a wonderful Tahitian Village feel to it that is completely different from any other resort. It has a Club Med ambiance to it without the shows. The breakfast was more than you can or should eat, but the lunch and dinner, if you don't do the included meal plan, are overpriced. The wait staff is first class and friendly, as is all of the staff on the property. Our only disappointment was with the fitness facilities which are spartan and old. We walked to the 4 Seasons next door to use their facilities which were first class, even though 4 Seasons does not allow Kona Village guests to use their gym, which is perplexing, as both properties are owned by the same entity. Kona Village has a laid back vibe to it where the 4 Seasons is more stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk next door to the Four Seasons Resort to use their gym facilities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
v&d
Business
PA
Jun 25, 2010

Great place

Great place for either families or couples. Plenty of activities for kids and not only for them. Very quiet and relaxing-no cell phone ringing, no loud conversations, no loud music, no TV. We stayed at one of the pond hale and the ocean was a beautiful, less than 5 minutes walk through the resort. Don't worry much about the hale location-there is no bad location! The two bars/restaurants on the ocean shore had fabulous food but very expensive. Try the Bora Bora bar pupus (appetizers)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 5, 2010

A+ Kona Village Resort

beautiful bay for real swimmers(half mile before breakfast) food was excellent. Awesome birdwatching, the sound of the birds was very relaxing. beautiful ponds. The hale was very clean and well laid out PM2. Also great luau performaces, hula & beautiful voices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

incredible white sand body surfing beach at state park next to resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johiti
Business
Scranton PA
May 22, 2010

Quiet Vacation

While at Kona Village we got some needed r&r. There were no TV's or telephones no interruptions. Just the two of us day after day Snorkeling was great Hawaii is a beautiful place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, Indiana
May 4, 2010

Family friendly is right!

First time to Hawaii so first time at this resort. Despite there being more children around than expected during the second week of April- we had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating. The hut we stayed in had the most comfortable bed. The moon and stars are absolutely breath-taking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Anywhere you drive to is going to be exciting and worth seeing on the big island but drive the speed limit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raymond, Washington
Nov 15, 2009

Beautiful relaxing getaway

My husband and I had a great time! Very relaxing, great service. Beautiful resort and beach, lots of contrast. Truly looks just like the pictures. The food was gourmet, as much as we could eat or want, although one of the two restaurants was closed. Watch for the sea turtles in the afternoons on the beach & in the surf. Our deluxe hale was nice, but the bathroom needed updating. it was just a standard bath & shower with sliding glass door. It could use new carpet & wall paper too, while not in bad shape, just worn. In all though it was a very comfortable room. Nice bed, great size room, nice deck, great service & lots of ambiance & privacy, which I loved. Never once heard the neighbors, even with the windows always open. I didn't hear anyone once complain about lack of TV, either. The temp. was very comfortable. No air conditioning was no problem at all with the ceiling fans and a nice constant breeze. As they say, the place is quiet at night. There was nothing going on after dinner, so you have to entertain yourselves, but there's still walks and the beach and games to borrow, the pools etc... After full days, we went to bed early and the birds get you up early anyway. Group activities were in the mornings. This place really was just about paradise. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tips aren't included. At checkin they ask you to choose an option for tips from several options. One is to carry cash and tip for services. Another is a flat 15% for everything, which we chose. The meals are gourmet all you can eat, but the values they put on them are high. The end bill wasn't that bad, but we ended up tipping more for some things than we normally would have, and maybe less for others. It was probably a wash, and it was nice not to have to carry cash. Not sure what I would recommend, just know your options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Village Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HawaiiHereICome
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 12, 2009

Our perfect spot in paradise

We just got back from our third trip here. We get a taxi from the airport, settle in for our relaxing stay, and never leave. The snorkeling just off the beach is the best we've found. There so much coral and lava to explore that you can snorkel a different spot every time you go out. The gear is included so you just pick it up from the friendly folks at the beach shack and jump in the water. This is the perfect resort to go to if your idea of a vacation is to throw a few pairs of flip flops, some sun dresses, swim suits and cover ups in a bag and head to the perfect beach. The food is wonderful and all meals are served at tables with a beautiful view of the crescent bay. The menus don't vary much but there is enough variety that you can repeat your favorites and try new things during your stay. We enjoyed banana bread, coconut pastries, prime rib, lobster tails, strange tropical fruits, fresh fish, homemade ice cream, fresh salads, an amazing array of food. The hales right on the ocean are out of our price range but all of them are really nice. The ones that don't have views of the ocean or the pond are often secluded in lush greenery and trees. The landscaping is very well kept but looks completely natural. It looks nothing at all like the "corporate splendor" of the Four Seasons next door. If you are someone that dreams of a rustic vacation on a deserted island, but in reality wants most of the necessities taken care of for you, then Kona Village Resort is your place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top