$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
216 reviews
A great honey moon

We were and are very pleased with the staff at kona seaside Hotel. Always very helpful and was... See full review

  • Warren Q
  • Jul 12, 2015
Great Stay

Great stay, with good value and friendliness. Locations couldn't have been better. See full review

  • Scott Thomas
  • Nov 17, 2014
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Property features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai. Free Wi-Fi.
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi.
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean. Free Wi Fi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible parking

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warren Q
Business
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

A great honey moon

We were and are very pleased with the staff at kona seaside Hotel. Always very helpful and was there to serve. Prices were reasonable. Rooms were great, could have microwaves in room along with the refrig. Over all we will be back to that hotel and to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired puppy
Business
N/A
Jun 19, 2015

Yea! Kona Seaside!

Traveling alone on business you look for the biggest bang for the bucks. I was looking for a nice, clean, and comfortable place to stay...at a good price. Location, security and parking were also on the criteria. The Kona Seaside (at least for this trip) was the answer. To you business types that travel a lot and looking for value...the Kona Seaside may be your answer. I enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caroline E.
Business
Union City
May 28, 2015

Great location for anyone who isn't spending time in the hotel

It was conveniently located in the middle of the action. The Marriott is right across and the pier is diagonal from the Hotel. At the pier is where a lot of the activities are so it helps to not have to drive and struggle for parking. I stayed on the 2nd floor and the 4th floor. On the second floor, the wifi went in and out on my IPhone 6. By the 3rd day, I turned my data off completely when I would get to the hotel, because it would only stay on for a few minutes. (10-20 minutes). It kept me logged on with my laptop though. On my 8th day, I stayed on the 4th floor where the wifi was even worse for my phone. I don't even think I got logged on my phone for more than 15 minutes that whole day. That room had bugs in it. :/ Interesting that the higher the room, it worse it got. Even though the view was better, I did pay a price. The king sized bed on the 2nd floor was comfy, but not the queens on the 4th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel P.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

35th annversary trip.

The people at Kona Seaside were extremely helpful, very courteous, and willing to help us find things to do, or where to send us to get the information we needed. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah Nan
Business
Kapaa
Feb 4, 2015

Hotel is Centrally Located!

Not a fancy place but is well placed location in KailuaKona Village.Within close proximity of nice restaurants,&village sights.Lots of historical sights within a 10 min walk. Not a fancy place,but clean&well maintained!Locally owned&operated & close to lots of nearby attractions!Is well placed as a home base for many Kailua-Kona activities!Can't be beat for those who live to walk in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get there early for on site parking for a minimal charge.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired puppy
Business
Oahu
Dec 5, 2014

Business trip

Great stay. What a value! Friendly staff! Great location and good parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danilo SLO
Business
Slovenia
Dec 3, 2014

better than waikiki

everything is on one place , nice beaches, shopping centre, wheather, side seeing, awsome nature, a lot to see, at least 1 week to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

awsome

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creator God
Business
kailua kona
Nov 19, 2014

ohana

Very friendly like family I stay here quite often. They always work with me and fill every request. Never spend more at other places it is worth twice what they charge because it feels very personal. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii traveler from Mich
Business
Michigan
Nov 17, 2014

Excellent location at a reasonable price

We made a last minute decision to try to find a reasonable place in Kona for a few days while on the island. The Seaside's rates were very good for a "run of the house" room and we were even happier when we got there and realized how close they are to the main tourist areas for shopping, beaches and restaurants. It's right at the north end of Alii Drive and you can take a nice relaxing walk along the shore to the attractions. I've always liked the traditional Hawaiian hotels like the Seaside with an open lobby and big sliding doors on the rooms. Our 2nd floor room was recently remodeled and very clean and quiet. The only thing I would have liked to change would be to have queen beds instead of the 2 full size beds, but that again was a characteristic of a classic Hawaiian hotel. I also agree with others that the parking is tight. They do the best they can with the space they have. We were always able to get a good spot before the 3:00 check-in time, which is when the lot would get the busiest. We will definitely consider staying here again when we return to Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott Thomas
Business
Hio
Nov 17, 2014

Great Stay

Great stay, with good value and friendliness. Locations couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top