$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
231 reviews
Great Stay

Great stay, with good value and friendliness. Locations couldn't have been better. See full review

  • Scott Thomas
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to... See full review

  • JP725
  • Jul 1, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (231)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aquatic Sue
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 2, 2010

Flashback in Time

Two of my friends and I recently stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel. We had just spent 6 days scuba diving in Maui and were looking forward to doing more of the same on the Big Island. However, unlike our accomodations in Maui (which were fantastic), the Kona Seaside Hotel reminded me of something out of a bad 70's movie. The room we stayed in was small and dingy and the furnishings were very outdated. Their "ice bucket" consisted of nothing more than a large styrofoam cup and the bath towels were ridiculously small as well. On the plus side, there were a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. But outside of the location, the Kona Seaside Hotel didn't have much else to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller112012
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 14, 2012

Not a great Hotel stay over all. We wont recommend to others

Hi, we have been there for 3 nights. we booked our reservation through this site and they could not find our reservation with our names. Finally they said they have to dig the system to find the reservation. The room they gave us is at the far end of the hall next to pool. The place is not good and stinks. Toilet wont flush properly. We asked to move us to a different room and they asked us to check out next day and next day and finally on the day we were about to leave, they offered one..!! Great business trick. We have to pay $5 for parking, which really sucks as the lots are really small. No microwave in rooms.. or per floor just in case if you plan to bring some thing to go from restaurants..!! Over all.. i will not recommend to any one and will spend some extra money next time to book in better Hotels. Lesson learned..! Thanks Readers..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yucky ducky
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Mar 25, 2013

Just OK

The room felt "old" , old blankets, old carpet. The best part was the breakfast included, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chelance
Business
Paauilo
Mar 19, 2014

Too pricey

Too expensive for what it's worth not going to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, TN
Jun 17, 2009

Glad to only spend 6 hours here

We came in at midnight and it was very busy. It was hard to find a parking space. The staff was friendly, but the room had no air conditioning and was not very clean. We were glad to be out of there by 6 a.m. the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Best thing we did on Big Island was take the Blue Hawaiian two hour helicopter tour of the island! It was expensive but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
honolulu,hawaii
May 25, 2009

not a good choice

not a good experience at all. i should of paid the extra 40 dollars to get a better hotel. i was afraid of sleeping on the bed. the confortor had a huge blood stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 11, 2009

NO AMENITIES. Have low expectations

Was there for business. So a few amenities would have been nice. Rooms do not have an ironing board which of course means no iron. Rooms also do not have a hair dryer. Ice machine? How about on the bottom floor-waaaaay at the end of the corridor. Not on every floor. In fact any concessions machines are outside on the first floor. Hotel is very old so all of doors slam and can be heard and felt by neighboring rooms. TV is an old 19" tube kind with a few channels A/C is a little $50 wall unit, that barely works. In my room the ceiling was peeling off and the patio door would not lock. Two of the bulbs were also burned out. Do NOT pay extra for the Garden view. They DON'T have a garden. Now if you can get the ocean view, it is not bad. They also charge for internet. Most hotels offer this free these days. The pillows were about as old as the hotel. Overall, if all you need is a place to sleep and do not need any amenities this may work for you. If however you want to feel comfortable, do your hair, iron your clothes, and rest, go elsewhere. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go south to the shopping area. Walking distance. Plenty of restaurants. Quinns, Splasher rare good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sn
Business
switzerland
Oct 23, 2009

kona

- good price - good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shyshy808
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 23, 2012

It's an ok hotel for the price

This is a good hotel. I visit here very often. It depends who you get at the front desk. Some of the girls are really rude, and the manager seems lazy. No early check in. You can be on a death bed and they still won't let you check in. Check in is at 3pm so if you arrive early and tired from a long flight don't expect to rest any time before 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shyshy808
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 12, 2012

I seen better

We arrived at10am and was advised that check in wasn't until 3pm. The reason we went to the hotel early was because my mom was really sick. I explained to the staff member the situation. She said that they can only per-register us and that our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. Once we officially checked we were given room 003. We found a huge black and brown spider in the bath tub and it was hopping all over the place. They made my handicap father wheel his wheel chair to the front desk to get one more towel. They only provide you with 2. I found this out from him when we came back from Walmart. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that you get free breakfast coupons. The staff members were rude, especially to people in wheel chairs. Theres better hotels in Kona. If you can try to avoid this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top