$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
344 reviews
Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to... See full review

  • JP725
  • Jul 1, 2014
Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with... See full review

  • robstercraw
  • Apr 15, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6418 -155.9963
Area served
Kailua Kona
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
From the Keahole Airport turn right onto the highway and travel nine miles into Kailua-Kona. Hotel is located at the corner of Kuakini and Palani.

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
344 out of 344
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 19, 2007

Clean, comfortable

for as many times that i have visited kona, this was the very first time i stayed at kona seaside hotel. my friend and niece who were staying up the street were very impressed and appalled at how much cheaper my room was as compared to theirs. also, they said that my room was very pleasant and clean. they loved the lobby; very inviting and very Hawaiian looking. good job, and mahalo nui loa. i will certainly stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

beach, shopping, dining

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Windsor, New Jersey
Aug 28, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

Great view of garden, ocean and city lights from our Tower room with balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very comfortable. Exceptional value. I would stay here again. Would have liked to have had coffee every AM, but we were often still in bed @ 7AM and the coffee is usually removed @ that time. Located near several Restaurants and shops. ABC store located across the street from hotel. ABC stores are reasonably priced. We purchased souvenirs as well as tasty sandwiches for breakfast or lunch on the go. Watch for the turtles swimming off the beach, at the pier. We stayed on Hawaii for 5 days and put 580 miles on the car. The Big Island will surprise you every few miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Great location

Kona Seaside Hotel is located near 2 major cross streets, easy to reach from the main highway. There is a view of the ocean from several rooms. It is located away from the busyness of the town of Kailua-Kona, but is close enough to walk to the town for eating and shopping. It's simple style and simple rooms are wonderful for those travelers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is located within a short distance from the hotel, variety of stores are all within a 5 to 20 minute walk.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Bear
Kaneohe HI
Jul 31, 2013

Perfect for locals and tourists

We live on Oahu and both my husband & I have family all over the Big Island that we could stay with, but we really love Kong Seaside. Its in a perfect location, the staff is so friendly & full of aloha, sure its a little old school but it is very clean and you really can't beat the price. If you are looking to order room service, pay a parking valet and spending hundreds at a day spa, this isn't the place for you because they don't waste their time with that stuff here. Get checked in, get settled, put on your bikini & get to the huge nice pool or the beach!! Hello if you spent all this money to come to sew Hawaii, get out of your hotel room and go see it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go try the Kava at Kanaka Kava. Its fresh grown on a lovely farm on the other side of the island, the owners and staff will take great care of you & the sweet potato haupia pie is amazing!! Oh and in general, slow down, be respectful of the local culture, and don't turn your back to the ocean. Aloha!!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperGrover
Bethel, Alaska
Jan 11, 2011

Great location, hotel, and staff

Hotel staff more than accommodating. Always pleasant. Great location. Within walking distance to the strip of stores and restaurants and 3 small beaches. Great snorkeling beach and great beginner beach. Excellent view of bay and beautiful gardens. Hotel was quiet, calm and relaxing atmosphere. This was our third time staying there, we were a group of 2 families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great walkways connecting you to the strip for shopping and dining.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blairsville, GA
Jul 2, 2011

Fantastic!

Day trip up the North Kohala coast and decided to spend the night in Kona. Registration was a breeze, Roberta the receptionist was very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was very nice, good size and very, very clean. We left a gratuity for the cleaning staff. Will stay here again when we travel that side of the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the petroglyphs off Hwy 19 at Mauna Lani Drive. Ancient carvings on lava go back perhaps to 1000AD.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperGrover
Bethel, Alaska
Jan 11, 2011

Great location, hotel, and staff

Hotel staff more than accommodating. Always pleasant. Great location. Within walking distance to the strip of stores and restaurants and 3 small beaches. Great snorkeling beach and great beginner beach. Excellent view of bay and beautiful gardens. Hotel was quiet, calm and relaxing atmosphere. This was our third time staying there, we were a group of 2 families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great walkways connecting you to the strip for shopping and dining.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flower Mound, TX
Nov 28, 2008

friendly and helpful staff

I thought the staff was very helpful in finding locations for things that I wanted to see while I was on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

several small beaches with public access are close by on alii drive.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2007

Great location

Kona Seaside Hotel is located near 2 major cross streets, easy to reach from the main highway. There is a view of the ocean from several rooms. It is located away from the busyness of the town of Kailua-Kona, but is close enough to walk to the town for eating and shopping. It's simple style and simple rooms are wonderful for those travelers on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is located within a short distance from the hotel, variety of stores are all within a 5 to 20 minute walk.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ipo
Maui
Jun 1, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. Mahalo

We toured museums, heiaus, beaches, etc. Enjoyed the beautiful vast land of Hawai'i.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kona Seaside - Tante's

Back to menu Return to top