$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shyshy808
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 5, 2012

Fabulous hotel

Our flight arrived early from Honolulu to Kona. We decided to check in to our hotel at the Kona Seaside, at around 11:15am. We were told by the front desk staff that check in is at 3pm. They gave us the option to pre-check in and we can call in several hours to see if our room is ready. This hotel does not have an early check in policy (which i think they should consider for a small fee). We Pre-Checked in and paid $5 a night for parking. Parking must be fully paid at the time of check in. You will need to display the parking pass on your windshield. We received a call form the hotel about an hour after we left, saying that our room was ready. We checked in with no problems and received three complimentary breakfast coupons (this is a major plus). We were assigned room 1012. The room was very clean. The carpet looked like an 80's blue shag carpet, but was very clean, clean enough to walk on without slippers or shoes. The room came with a coffee pot with tea/coffee bags, a mini icebox and a GE window a/c and a ceiling fan, and two queen beds. The balcony was HUGE equip with a small table and two chairs. All-in-all we had a wonderful stay at the Kona Seaside Hotel. I would definitely stay their again, and I personally recommend this hotel. Its close to shopping, dinning, and outdoor activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shipping and dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmike s
Business
san diego
May 14, 2012

Great place

I have stayed there before. I liked the location, breakfast, parking, internet, staff. I would stay there again. The weather was good I didn't turn on the a/c. For Kona this is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annek
Business
California, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Clean and sufficient

A good budget option! Everything was clean and comfortable, parking was a lot cheaper than other places ($5), and there was a comfortable lobby with internet access (so that you don't have to pay to get it in your room). The only minor annoyance was that I had a hard time finding outlets to plug in my cell and laptop in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego AL
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Can't beat location.

The hotel is nothing special, but the location is fantastic. I really enjoyed being able to walk to the ocean for a swim every morning before breakfast. The rooms are very clean, the hallways and stairways not so much. Free wi-fi in the lobby only is a bit of a hassle. In room free wi-fi would be a big plus. Overall, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asas
Business
BC
Mar 12, 2012

Convenient

The hotel was easy to get to and located close to the beach, it was a nice place to spend the first night on the big Island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
My Hawaii 50 BDAY ST
Business
New Hampshire, USA
Mar 2, 2012

THE PLACE TO STAY!

The hotel is in the heart of Kona. Walk just about anywhere, tour pick ups at the hotel, and if not the front desk is incredible at directions or will make it easy to get a short cab ride there. The place felt very safe, as a single female traveler. Not a lock down, but monitored and secure system with staff, security and maintenance around at all times. Speaking of the staff, PHENOMENAL at providing service, special attention, problem solving that I didn't have but observed the professionalism in resolution. Friendly, personal and professional. Things were clean, maybe a bit worn, or used feeling. I personally did not come to Hawaii to stay in the room, it was more than adequate for a home base, and had everything I needed. Fridge, cable, wireless, air-conditioning, plenty of hot water. There are three sections to the hotel. The Tower, the front side is the noisiest. If you need quiet please request the Garden or if you want to socialize more with other guests the Pool view is your best option. There are two very clean pools and plenty of poolside chaise loungers, one pool on the tower side, and the other previously mentioned. Wireless is free in the lobby, and there are two guest computer stations. As a computer geek, the weekly full hi-speed wireless access rate was the way I went, it was a community service and offered other hot spots in the area as well as easy to sign up. Free wireless was around but very slow. Many coffee shops offered by the minute charges, so depending on your usage or needs the options were there. One last note. When at home I like to shop locally as much as possible supporting local economy. This is a Hawaiian family owned business, with 3 island locations. The competition of global corporate owned chains is hard, and many of those dollars spent leave the island without putting it back into the local economy. Tourism may be a major industry in Hawaii, locally the economy needs to be protected like all cottage industries. Your stay here does that with a pleasant and positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tours: If you want to learn about the island, the Big Island Grand Circle Tour is it! You will learn and see the most bang for your buck. _ A full day but soo much to get in will not be disappointed. The Captain Zodiac Snorkel Adventure AWESOME! Enough adventure and uniqueness on each trip with a great reef snorkel, for the experienced as well as a first timer like me. Mauna Kea Summit Sunset and Star Gazing Adventure. Well worth the trip and time, rental cars are not allowed on the mountain, so this is a perfect way to learn more, see the snow in Hawaii, watch a perfect sunset, learn more about the cultural, environmental and see a world above the clouds. Once the lights go out this expands to our universe and to gaze at the stars with a personal intimate group can be so enlightening. The Lava Legends Luau was another must do! If you have a birthday/anniversary or other special occasion make sure to let them know it will become an extra special memorable event. The beauty, humor and stories told through the program are treasures that will be stored on many levels of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Motherhusker
Business
Comox, BC, Canada
Feb 29, 2012

Little noisy....

Hotel is ok..average..clean although a little dated but most are in Hawaii now. Good location, absolutely right downtown Kona, bye the shops and the water, but that comes with the price of noise. WE ended up with a room facing the main road and the traffic started early in the morning. Overall i would stay there again but would request a room in a different area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Lemongrass bistro, just a short walk away. Asian fusion food that was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bozeman guy
Business
Bozeman
Feb 15, 2012

nice place to stay

This place was a great deal. The location is great, just a 2 minute walk to the ocean. Rooms were nice and clean, staff was friendly. The rooms are a bit dated, but nice. If you are looking for "modern" look elsewhere. If you are looking for a good deal, clean room, and great staff, this is the place :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tara430
Business
Kailua, HI, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Friendly staff, great value!

This hotel had exactly what we wanted. A very friendly staff and a clean, comfortable room at a very good price. We had a great breakfast at their restaurant by paying $10.00 extra when we booked our room. However, if you're looking for a fancy, luxurious place, this is not it. It's pretty standard but has everything you need at a low price. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate and had beer at the Kona Brewing Co. And it was amazing. It was just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky One
Business
Waimanalo, HI 96795, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

This weekend was great to get away from the hustle and bustle of home and work. Complimentary breakfast at Tante's Restraunt with the view of the ocean right across the street. It was nothing like fine dining but it was relaxing, food was good, and workers were friendly. Overall, this hotel was comfortable. The only disappointment was the parking. Although I got a parking pass, there wasn't any parking in the evening so I had to park down the street in a public parking area and walk to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top