$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
230 reviews
Great Stay

Great stay, with good value and friendliness. Locations couldn't have been better. See full review

  • Scott Thomas
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to... See full review

  • JP725
  • Jul 1, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Subedo
Business
Ocenside, CA
Dec 2, 2012

Week's stay

Clean and wonderful staff. Good breakfast at Splasher's -- Room location not so good and noisy. Yes would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend of Dude
Business
wichita, kansas
Nov 22, 2012

Job related trip

The hotel was average but it provided everything I was looking for in a room. Parking on the other hand was a complete joke. Every space is sized for a Smart Car or a Mini. I was driving a Ford Fusion, a pretty small car and it would barely fit in a space. Once in the space I couldn't get in or out of the car. You WILL get door dings and scrapes. Better get the rental car insurance. The car I rented didn't have any dings or mars when I got it but it sure did when I returned it. I can't recommend the hotel due to the worst parking I've ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guilex1978
Business
Oahu, HI
Nov 14, 2012

Great location, ok room

The room was clean but the big problem was that the beds are awful. Hard as rocks. Staff was friendly. Great location next to downtown Kailua-Kona - in walking distance to all the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller112012
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 14, 2012

Not a great Hotel stay over all. We wont recommend to others

Hi, we have been there for 3 nights. we booked our reservation through this site and they could not find our reservation with our names. Finally they said they have to dig the system to find the reservation. The room they gave us is at the far end of the hall next to pool. The place is not good and stinks. Toilet wont flush properly. We asked to move us to a different room and they asked us to check out next day and next day and finally on the day we were about to leave, they offered one..!! Great business trick. We have to pay $5 for parking, which really sucks as the lots are really small. No microwave in rooms.. or per floor just in case if you plan to bring some thing to go from restaurants..!! Over all.. i will not recommend to any one and will spend some extra money next time to book in better Hotels. Lesson learned..! Thanks Readers..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misstravel777
Business
Edmonton, ALberta, Canada
Oct 4, 2012

Good Value and excellent location.

Positives:The hotel staff were very nice and very helpful. The rooms were very clean. You cannot beat the location...it is just up from the seawall where there are good restaurants and shops and near some famous sites to see as well. There is free internet in the lobby and a restaurant Tantra that serves $5 breakfasts. Parking is $5 extra per day. There is a concerge at the Marriott across the street that booked our tours for us. Drawbacks: The hotel itself is abit older and the beds are not the most comfortable in the world, but we didn't spend that much time in the hotel room anyways. The air conditioner is a window a/c...adequate but abit loud. Anyways, I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good affordable food at the Thai Rin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tired of this review
Business
alabama
Oct 2, 2012

nice place

Great location,freindly staff.very clean motel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Haerim
Business
Fullerton, ca
Sep 30, 2012

Didnt meet my minimum expectation

I understand it is Hawaii where everything is expensive but a bit disappointed at the quality of the hotel. The rooms are outdated and I was surprised that it didn't even have hair dryer in the bathroom and charged $5 for parking!!!! Not going back there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIKE ORLAND PARK
Business
ILLINOIS
Aug 25, 2012

GREAT LOCATION

PERFECT LOCATION, GREAT STAFF. BEST OVERALL VALUE IN KONA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SPLASHERS BAR AND GRILL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KP13
Business
NE Ohio
Aug 10, 2012

Good Value

Great room with a great view. I thought this place was nicer than the 3.5 star I had in Sydney last week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shyshy808
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 23, 2012

It's an ok hotel for the price

This is a good hotel. I visit here very often. It depends who you get at the front desk. Some of the girls are really rude, and the manager seems lazy. No early check in. You can be on a death bed and they still won't let you check in. Check in is at 3pm so if you arrive early and tired from a long flight don't expect to rest any time before 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinning and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top