$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine 2012
Business
Stanley, VA
Jan 2, 2013

Excellent stay at perfect location

Our Hawaiian vacation was in Hilo, but we went to Kona for one night. This hotel was right across the street from the luau and ocean activity we went to and in addition was in the perfect location for food and shopping. Very affordable, comfortable and super nice hotel staff. Would definately stay here again. We been to the other Seaside family hotels and have never been dissappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Fontanka visitor
Business
United States
Dec 30, 2012

Convenient, very good value

Convenient location in Kona, excellent service at the desk. During our stay there was work on a pavement just outside the hotel, which added to the already existing noise from the busy road in front of it and was mildly annoying (how about doing that work outside of Xmas holidays?). Overall, however, very good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim 123
Business
Bay Area, CA
Dec 30, 2012

Convenient Location at Good Value

Conveniently located at the end of Ali'i Drive with Ali'i Drive (the touristy stuff) and grocery / drug store strip mall on Palani Road (the main artery in/out of town) within walking distance. Even some reviewers complaint about the rooms in the towel that face Palani Road, the noise was hardly noticeable to me. It would be even better if they would invest in in-room WIFI rather than lobby-only WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 2 blocks up the street on Palani Road is a strip mall with 2 grocery stores, drug stores, and few casual, fast food, take-out restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Kona
Business
Pacific Northwest
Dec 29, 2012

Would Not Go Back

Location next to street was very noisy even with windows closed. Beds not comfortable, sheets thin, AIR CONDITIONER NOISY AND TERRIBLE!!!! Weed wacker noise started at around 6:00 am - terrible!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prope
Business
Arlington, AZ
Dec 22, 2012

Kona Seaside

By and large good. Room was clean and well kept. This hotel just didn't go the extra inch to make it a great stay. Requested a king sized bed and got two doubles and it appeared there were rooms with king sized beds unoccupied. No complimentary morning paper, no rack for literature on local tours and points of interest. Seemed like the old case of save a penny lose a dollar to me. Yes we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charlies BBQ: Asian dish reasonable Pizza hut: New Yorker Pizza about $10 good! Denny's: varies depends on time of day, the Loco Moco was great, the rest mediocre to poor. Burger King: A little priceycomparedtomainland, BUT, The burgers were great! Tasted like they used to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRNolan
Business
Alaska
Dec 18, 2012

Few days in Kona

this is an older hotel with very nice staff, adequate comfort and very convenient re walking around Kona, getting to mall (Macy's, Movies) and eatery options. Noisy at night at times. We would go back. 67 year-old couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shuttle bus $2

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Subedo
Business
Ocenside, CA
Dec 2, 2012

Week's stay

Clean and wonderful staff. Good breakfast at Splasher's -- Room location not so good and noisy. Yes would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend of Dude
Business
wichita, kansas
Nov 22, 2012

Job related trip

The hotel was average but it provided everything I was looking for in a room. Parking on the other hand was a complete joke. Every space is sized for a Smart Car or a Mini. I was driving a Ford Fusion, a pretty small car and it would barely fit in a space. Once in the space I couldn't get in or out of the car. You WILL get door dings and scrapes. Better get the rental car insurance. The car I rented didn't have any dings or mars when I got it but it sure did when I returned it. I can't recommend the hotel due to the worst parking I've ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guilex1978
Business
Oahu, HI
Nov 14, 2012

Great location, ok room

The room was clean but the big problem was that the beds are awful. Hard as rocks. Staff was friendly. Great location next to downtown Kailua-Kona - in walking distance to all the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller112012
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 14, 2012

Not a great Hotel stay over all. We wont recommend to others

Hi, we have been there for 3 nights. we booked our reservation through this site and they could not find our reservation with our names. Finally they said they have to dig the system to find the reservation. The room they gave us is at the far end of the hall next to pool. The place is not good and stinks. Toilet wont flush properly. We asked to move us to a different room and they asked us to check out next day and next day and finally on the day we were about to leave, they offered one..!! Great business trick. We have to pay $5 for parking, which really sucks as the lots are really small. No microwave in rooms.. or per floor just in case if you plan to bring some thing to go from restaurants..!! Over all.. i will not recommend to any one and will spend some extra money next time to book in better Hotels. Lesson learned..! Thanks Readers..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top