$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xinemarie
Business
exiled
Jan 13, 2014

Cheap and cheerful

This hotel is older and basic but the fantastic location makes it a great value. The woman who checked after a late arrival was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and fairly simple. Only complaint is the small beds. Made a good base for a couple of days of exploring the island. The breakfast at the cafe next door was also a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JNZs
Business
Keaau, HI
Jan 2, 2014

Convenient, Clean and Comfortable

We usually stay at the Marriott down the road while we do Home Vacation Rentals most of our time on the other side of the island, but decided to try this one and were pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go See Ian at Hype Surf Lessons. They are experts and focus on safety by having a two to one teacher student ratio

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seajaytoo
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 28, 2013

Good location for getting around

Staff lovely, friendly. Bed too soft, pillows too hard, sheets too short, but clean. Ocean is warmer than the pool! Restaurant cooking smells drift towards hotel, too smelly outside. Location for walking to shops, etc is good. Will consider a condo next time for conveniences such as eating in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a scooter to purchase items from Costco or Target or Safeway-walk to these is far, uphill and way too hot any time of the day!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaanu
Business
Columbus,OHIO
Dec 27, 2013

We liked it.

We got what we paid for. We stayed here for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Delight
Business
Texas
Nov 10, 2013

Kona Getaway

Excellent value, great staff, great location. Would highly recommend! So what if some of the decor is older?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holoholo Nanc
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Oct 7, 2013

Nice basic room

Clean, no frills room that was perfect for us, since we spent most of our time out exploring the town and countryside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive up the mountain for a taste of old Kona and Kona coffee farms.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bo the paddler
Business
Tacoma, Wa.
Sep 4, 2013

clean

good place to sleep and short distance to shops and dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to everything

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Bear
Business
Kaneohe HI
Jul 31, 2013

Perfect for locals and tourists

We live on Oahu and both my husband & I have family all over the Big Island that we could stay with, but we really love Kong Seaside. Its in a perfect location, the staff is so friendly & full of aloha, sure its a little old school but it is very clean and you really can't beat the price. If you are looking to order room service, pay a parking valet and spending hundreds at a day spa, this isn't the place for you because they don't waste their time with that stuff here. Get checked in, get settled, put on your bikini & get to the huge nice pool or the beach!! Hello if you spent all this money to come to sew Hawaii, get out of your hotel room and go see it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go try the Kava at Kanaka Kava. Its fresh grown on a lovely farm on the other side of the island, the owners and staff will take great care of you & the sweet potato haupia pie is amazing!! Oh and in general, slow down, be respectful of the local culture, and don't turn your back to the ocean. Aloha!!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Volcano hicker
Business
Reno
Jul 5, 2013

Good downtown location

Better than I expected -- refrigerator & air conditioner in room. Nice ocean view. Free Wi-Fi in lobby & 2 free to use computers. Small pool & no hot tub. Description said 2 pools but I never found the 2nd. Charge $5/day for parking, but there is public parking a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric from Albuquerque
Business
Albuquerque, NM.
Jun 12, 2013

Perfect location w/everything right there!

Even though I had a rental car, I like to have a location right in the middle of things and walking distance from everything I want. At the Kona Seaside Hotel you're at the starting point of Ali'i drive and snorkeling, the beach, cold beer, ABC store, Kona coffee, good food, many great sights, and shopping is all within a 2-3 min. walk. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and there 24 hours a day. Towels are available in the lobby and so are free wifi and two Apple computers to use and print out boarding passes. My room had a small fridge and a 4th floor balcony withe a nice view. Parking is $5 per day, but necessary if you have a car -- which I'd certainly recommend on the Big Island. Great price for this level of service and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkel just left off the Pier -- many things to see including sea turtles. I also found "Splashers" to be a good restaurant for breakfast and lunch that's just about 1 min from this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top