$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recent mainland transplan
Business
Big Island, Hawaii
Jan 26, 2014

Good value in Hilo

Good value for the price. Great location, central to all of Hilo. Good base for exploring the volcano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentHawaii
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 21, 2014

Friendly, Clean, and Convenient

This was my second stay at this hotel -- the last time was over 4 years ago. I was glad to see that the hotel looks just as good as it did before and I was quickly reminded how friendly and helpful the staff are. It's not a fancy hotel, just very well kept and efficient -- perfect for going out during the day to explore the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny Pincher Dad
Business
Central Ca.
Jan 18, 2014

Family Budget Traveler

The Hotel location was located near the beach and shopping. The hotel is clean and reasonable value. Staff was very friendly. We would stay there again, but would bring our own pillow to make the bed more comfortable..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Costco near airport to save lots of money. Prices there are similar to their prices on the mainland. Groceries elsewhere are up to 50% more expensive than the mainland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yoshi M Japan
Business
Japan
Jan 16, 2014

Good access to the city center with enough room space

The access to the city center and shopping malls is quite good. The parking space is limited but nearby municipal parking is available. The room is comfortable and does not too much but sufficient for usual visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IN the shopping mall with KTA supermarket, there is a good Mexican restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessdogs2
Business
Fairbanks alaska
Jan 14, 2014

My trip to the big island

We stayed for three nights the hotel was great it's in downtown kona within walking distance of all the main attractions of kona I had a wonderful stay. Prices were very reasonable thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xinemarie
Business
exiled
Jan 13, 2014

Cheap and cheerful

This hotel is older and basic but the fantastic location makes it a great value. The woman who checked after a late arrival was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and fairly simple. Only complaint is the small beds. Made a good base for a couple of days of exploring the island. The breakfast at the cafe next door was also a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JNZs
Business
Keaau, HI
Jan 2, 2014

Convenient, Clean and Comfortable

We usually stay at the Marriott down the road while we do Home Vacation Rentals most of our time on the other side of the island, but decided to try this one and were pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go See Ian at Hype Surf Lessons. They are experts and focus on safety by having a two to one teacher student ratio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seajaytoo
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 28, 2013

Good location for getting around

Staff lovely, friendly. Bed too soft, pillows too hard, sheets too short, but clean. Ocean is warmer than the pool! Restaurant cooking smells drift towards hotel, too smelly outside. Location for walking to shops, etc is good. Will consider a condo next time for conveniences such as eating in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a scooter to purchase items from Costco or Target or Safeway-walk to these is far, uphill and way too hot any time of the day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaanu
Business
Columbus,OHIO
Dec 27, 2013

We liked it.

We got what we paid for. We stayed here for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Delight
Business
Texas
Nov 10, 2013

Kona Getaway

Excellent value, great staff, great location. Would highly recommend! So what if some of the decor is older?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top