$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
226 reviews
Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to... See full review

  • JP725
  • Jul 1, 2014
Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with... See full review

  • robstercraw
  • Apr 15, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Hotel Map

19.6418 -155.9963
Area served
Kailua Kona
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
From the Keahole Airport turn right onto the highway and travel nine miles into Kailua-Kona. Hotel is located at the corner of Kuakini and Palani.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bo the paddler
Business
Tacoma, Wa.
Sep 4, 2013

clean

good place to sleep and short distance to shops and dining

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Bear
Business
Kaneohe HI
Jul 31, 2013

Perfect for locals and tourists

We live on Oahu and both my husband & I have family all over the Big Island that we could stay with, but we really love Kong Seaside. Its in a perfect location, the staff is so friendly & full of aloha, sure its a little old school but it is very clean and you really can't beat the price. If you are looking to order room service, pay a parking valet and spending hundreds at a day spa, this isn't the place for you because they don't waste their time with that stuff here. Get checked in, get settled, put on your bikini & get to the huge nice pool or the beach!! Hello if you spent all this money to come to sew Hawaii, get out of your hotel room and go see it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go try the Kava at Kanaka Kava. Its fresh grown on a lovely farm on the other side of the island, the owners and staff will take great care of you & the sweet potato haupia pie is amazing!! Oh and in general, slow down, be respectful of the local culture, and don't turn your back to the ocean. Aloha!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Volcano hicker
Business
Reno
Jul 5, 2013

Good downtown location

Better than I expected -- refrigerator & air conditioner in room. Nice ocean view. Free Wi-Fi in lobby & 2 free to use computers. Small pool & no hot tub. Description said 2 pools but I never found the 2nd. Charge $5/day for parking, but there is public parking a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric from Albuquerque
Business
Albuquerque, NM.
Jun 12, 2013

Perfect location w/everything right there!

Even though I had a rental car, I like to have a location right in the middle of things and walking distance from everything I want. At the Kona Seaside Hotel you're at the starting point of Ali'i drive and snorkeling, the beach, cold beer, ABC store, Kona coffee, good food, many great sights, and shopping is all within a 2-3 min. walk. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and there 24 hours a day. Towels are available in the lobby and so are free wifi and two Apple computers to use and print out boarding passes. My room had a small fridge and a 4th floor balcony withe a nice view. Parking is $5 per day, but necessary if you have a car -- which I'd certainly recommend on the Big Island. Great price for this level of service and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkel just left off the Pier -- many things to see including sea turtles. I also found "Splashers" to be a good restaurant for breakfast and lunch that's just about 1 min from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperSherry
Business
Rancho Cucamonga CA
May 19, 2013

overnight getaway

hotel was a very good value and close to restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimbo
Business
Utah
May 3, 2013

Perfect Budget Hotel

This hotel was great. Nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The rooms were plenty big (much larger than the Seaside Hilo room we stayed in), with a small fridge and decent sized bathroom. We loved having a balcony. The staff was very nice and helpful, and the location is great - walking distance to lots of restaurants and a nice ocean walk. $5 for parking, but there's a public lot close by that we parked at. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a strip mall with a grocery store just up the street. The L&Ls there is delicious, and the little shave ice shack across the parking lot has good shave ice and cheap, absolutely DELICIOUS kahlua pork tacos. Make sure you eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lmike s
Business
san diego
Apr 25, 2013

good location

There is not a lot of choice in Kona for a affordable hotel. This is the Best choice for price and location. I didnt really need the breakfast or the room facing the water. I really liked the internet, TV, balcony and AC. I have stayed here 3 times and stay again. Fact is I barely used the room, I was out most of the time. I made it easy on the maid by putting a "do not disturb sign " on the door for the 5 nights I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the restaurants and shoreline are within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired in Atlanta
Business
Southern California
Apr 21, 2013

Wonderful place to spend a couple of days

I have stayed here a few times over the past 30 years. It is always very clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. It is right in the beginning of the shops, dining,and galleries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shahzadalim
Business
Mississauga, ON
Apr 14, 2013

Nice place to stay

Good value for money and excellent location to enjoy walks on the waterfront

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To the water front and food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yucky ducky
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Mar 25, 2013

Just OK

The room felt "old" , old blankets, old carpet. The best part was the breakfast included, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top