$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
247 reviews
Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to... See full review

  • JP725
  • Jul 1, 2014
Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with... See full review

  • robstercraw
  • Apr 15, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Hotel Map

19.6418 -155.9963
Area served
Kailua Kona
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
From the Keahole Airport turn right onto the highway and travel nine miles into Kailua-Kona. Hotel is located at the corner of Kuakini and Palani.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
review er
washington state
Nov 20, 2011

would stY again

good access clean room good resturant and breakfest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A born Hawaiian man
Business
California, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel at great location. Less than a minute away from a perfect early morning dip in the ocean. Nothing can beat this! Great staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look out for great deals by competing restaurants, and also great deals on all sorts of activities. Just take a walk alone the beautiful Alii st, and you'll find out!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmike s
san diego
Oct 23, 2011

very good

I have been to con a many times, and this is my first time to stay at the seaside, I am happy. because of the breakfast, internet, and location. my first night I was on the road side of sthe building, and the street noise bothered me, but was able to change to the other side then a flock of birds woke me up, I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the breakfast was great.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hit the road
Iowa, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Satisfied guest

the Kona Seaside provided a lovely location for an excellent price. The great parking options were a nice change from other Hawaiin hotels. We loved the breakfast option at a nearby restaurant. I would happily stay at the Kona Seaside again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chuck and Barbie
Florida
Sep 27, 2011

Not Customer Friendly

The staff would not let us check in before 3 p.m. When we did check in, they gave us a room already occupied. It was a lot of hassle for two weary travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HI KONA
HOUSTON, TEXAS
Sep 19, 2011

GOOD DIGS!

THIS IS THE 4TH YEAR IN A ROW I HAVE STAYED AT THE KONA SEASIDE ITS GOTTEN SO MUCH BETTER, MUCH IMPROVEMENT, ESP WITH INTERNET ACCESS AND NOW KEY CARDS. WILL CONTINUE TO STAY THERE ON MY ANNUAL VISITS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BIG ISLAND GRILL, IS SOOOO GOOD!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blairsville, GA
Jul 23, 2011

Another wonderful stay!

We've stayed here on previous trips and decided it was worth another gamble...but true to form, no gamble staying here! Great place, great staff. I've never seen prettier grounds and the maintenance of the entire property is immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great beaches and beautiful sunsets!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Blairsville, GA
Jul 2, 2011

Fantastic!

Day trip up the North Kohala coast and decided to spend the night in Kona. Registration was a breeze, Roberta the receptionist was very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was very nice, good size and very, very clean. We left a gratuity for the cleaning staff. Will stay here again when we travel that side of the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the petroglyphs off Hwy 19 at Mauna Lani Drive. Ancient carvings on lava go back perhaps to 1000AD.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary2go
St. Petersburg,FL
Jul 1, 2011

Great value,friendly staff and nice view

The staff was warm and friendly, and the hotel is in a great location. The room was clean and had a great view. 2 pools,beautiful gardens and a free breakfast.Really a great value, would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley, it only costs $1,and takes you on a nice loop around the area, to several shopping areas and beaches.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geeze
Maui
Jun 13, 2011

Friendly service and great price.

While in Kona, we did church service at the Temple. The Hotel was in a great location and had friendly people all around to assist us. Parking was a challenge, but we were very fortunate to always have a space available for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search