$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
View map of 75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
218 reviews
Great place for the money!

I would recommend Kona Seaside to everyone! Beautiful views and so close to downtown Kona you can... See full review

  • Scott P.
  • Aug 21, 2015
A great honey moon

We were and are very pleased with the staff at kona seaside Hotel. Always very helpful and was... See full review

  • Warren Q
  • Jul 12, 2015
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Property features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 431 reviews
★★★
$135
4.0 / 5 137 reviews
★★★
$165
3.8 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$179
4.4 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$108
5.0 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$137
3.9 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 69 reviews

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai. Free Wi-Fi.
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi.
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean. Free Wi Fi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible parking

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A born Hawaiian man
Business
California, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel at great location. Less than a minute away from a perfect early morning dip in the ocean. Nothing can beat this! Great staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look out for great deals by competing restaurants, and also great deals on all sorts of activities. Just take a walk alone the beautiful Alii st, and you'll find out!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott P.
Single
N/A
Aug 21, 2015

Great place for the money!

I would recommend Kona Seaside to everyone! Beautiful views and so close to downtown Kona you can walk there. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claudia E.
Family
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Family Trip

The hotel location was great. It was close to stores, restaurants and activities. The room was a bit small but comfortable for me and had very nice views. The staff was very nice and attentive. Overall my stay was good and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warren Q
Couples
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

A great honey moon

We were and are very pleased with the staff at kona seaside Hotel. Always very helpful and was there to serve. Prices were reasonable. Rooms were great, could have microwaves in room along with the refrig. Over all we will be back to that hotel and to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired puppy
Business
N/A
Jun 19, 2015

Yea! Kona Seaside!

Traveling alone on business you look for the biggest bang for the bucks. I was looking for a nice, clean, and comfortable place to stay...at a good price. Location, security and parking were also on the criteria. The Kona Seaside (at least for this trip) was the answer. To you business types that travel a lot and looking for value...the Kona Seaside may be your answer. I enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Caroline E.
Single
Union City
May 28, 2015

Great location for anyone who isn't spending time in the hotel

It was conveniently located in the middle of the action. The Marriott is right across and the pier is diagonal from the Hotel. At the pier is where a lot of the activities are so it helps to not have to drive and struggle for parking. I stayed on the 2nd floor and the 4th floor. On the second floor, the wifi went in and out on my IPhone 6. By the 3rd day, I turned my data off completely when I would get to the hotel, because it would only stay on for a few minutes. (10-20 minutes). It kept me logged on with my laptop though. On my 8th day, I stayed on the 4th floor where the wifi was even worse for my phone. I don't even think I got logged on my phone for more than 15 minutes that whole day. That room had bugs in it. :/ Interesting that the higher the room, it worse it got. Even though the view was better, I did pay a price. The king sized bed on the 2nd floor was comfy, but not the queens on the 4th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel P.
Family
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

35th annversary trip.

The people at Kona Seaside were extremely helpful, very courteous, and willing to help us find things to do, or where to send us to get the information we needed. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah Nan
Single
Kapaa
Feb 4, 2015

Hotel is Centrally Located!

Not a fancy place but is well placed location in KailuaKona Village.Within close proximity of nice restaurants,&village sights.Lots of historical sights within a 10 min walk. Not a fancy place,but clean&well maintained!Locally owned&operated & close to lots of nearby attractions!Is well placed as a home base for many Kailua-Kona activities!Can't be beat for those who live to walk in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get there early for on site parking for a minimal charge.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired puppy
Business
Oahu
Dec 5, 2014

Business trip

Great stay. What a value! Friendly staff! Great location and good parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danilo SLO
Family
Slovenia
Dec 3, 2014

better than waikiki

everything is on one place , nice beaches, shopping centre, wheather, side seeing, awsome nature, a lot to see, at least 1 week to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

awsome

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creator God
Single
kailua kona
Nov 19, 2014

ohana

Very friendly like family I stay here quite often. They always work with me and fill every request. Never spend more at other places it is worth twice what they charge because it feels very personal. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top