$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Kona Seaside Hotel

2 stars
75-5646 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
344 reviews
Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to... See full review

  • JP725
  • Jul 1, 2014
Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with... See full review

  • robstercraw
  • Apr 15, 2014
Kailua value hotel offers Island-style rooms near waterfront and shops
The budget-friendly and family owned Kona Seaside Hotel offers great perks just off the waterfront in downtown Kailua-Kona. The property features two swimming pools and two all-day restaurants, plus some guest rooms have ocean views. Just around the corner, Kailua's oceanfront Alii Drive is bustling with charming shops, restaurants and historic sites, including Hulihee Palace, Mokuaikaua Church and Ahuena Heiau.
Highlights
  • Book an oceanview tower room with private balcony and enjoy views of the pier, bay, paddlers and big-game fishing boats
  • Location in the heart of Kailua town, near restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Cool off in two on-property swimming pools, perfect for Kona's year-round warm weather
  • Two restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees may apply)
Rooms
Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available in either the hotel's mid-rise tower or the garden area. Selected Kona Seaside Hotel rooms offer nice bay views. All are furnished in simple Island style with turquoise and red patterned bedspreads, bedside lamp and nightstands. Guest rooms include air conditioning, a mini refrigerator, clock radio, ceiling fan and private balcony. Units include high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Some also have microwaves.

Features
Kona Seaside Hotel offers guests two restaurants: Tanti's and Paleo's Bar and Grill, both open daily. Additional casual and fine dining is plentiful throughout the neighborhood, especially on the waterfront Alii Drive. Kona Seaside Hotel is across the Kaliua Peir, the ocean activity center on the Big Island. Guest enjoy two pools, and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply). Parking is available (fees apply). Day trips to Volcano National Park promise an easy route from the property.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)


Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (20.1 mi/32.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (93 mi/151 km)

Kona Seaside Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Tower: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, refrigerator,coffee and tea maker,black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, A/C and large private lanai.Free Wi-Fi
Superior Garden: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our garden area, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board,tropical ceiling fan, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data port, refrigerator, and air conditioning. Free WiFi
Superior Pool: One King or Two Double Beds
Located in our popular Tower area near the lobby, this spacious room has one king or two double beds, a remote controlled color TV, tropical ceiling fan, coffee and tea maker, black out drapes, iron and ironing board, clock radio, dial direct telephone with data refrigerator, A/C and large private lanai with a view of the ocean.Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Seaside Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6418 -155.9963
Area served
Kailua Kona
Nearby airports
Keahole Airport
Area description
From the Keahole Airport turn right onto the highway and travel nine miles into Kailua-Kona. Hotel is located at the corner of Kuakini and Palani.

Dining

Splashers
Oceanfront dining with lunch and dinner specialities of fresh kona caught fish, steaks and chops.
Tante's
This Oceanfront restaurant specializes in local favorites

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (344)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
344 out of 344
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A born Hawaiian man
Business
California, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great hotel

Great hotel at great location. Less than a minute away from a perfect early morning dip in the ocean. Nothing can beat this! Great staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look out for great deals by competing restaurants, and also great deals on all sorts of activities. Just take a walk alone the beautiful Alii st, and you'll find out!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
papafatty
Business
Honolulu
Jul 22, 2014

home. away from home

On arrival I was greeted warmly by the staff who accommodated me with room of my liking . The room was convenient ,and affordable. The location was ideal where nearly everything was in walking distance . All in all I enjoyed my visit and stay at this hotel , plan to stay at this hotel when I return on the next trip to kona for business .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JP725
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 1, 2014

Great location, priced well and staff extremely hospitable!

The staff at this hotel was extremely helpful whenever we had questions about the best beaches to visit or where to get the most delicious malasada. Hotel is located within walking distance to the ocean, lots of "touristy" restaurants and souvenir shops along the way as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Turtle beach is about a 4 minute drive along Ali'i Drive, its a perfect spot for snorkeling and you will definitely see turtles there!

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Jacq
Mexico
Jun 10, 2014

Great Location

The Kona Seaside Hotel is centrally located to all the tourist activities and right across the road from the beach. It was reasonably priced, considering it IS Kona, and I felt comfortable and safe there. The staff was friendly and helpful, and even though it was right downtown Kona, it was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gknyc
Redwood City, California
Apr 21, 2014

Quiet & convenient

When I arrived early they did there best to accomodate me. Getting the room ready after my long day of travel was a plus. The receptionist took care of me in 30 minutes. That's top notch service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robstercraw
California
Apr 15, 2014

Kona Seaside

Very warm and friendly staff. Hotel is clean. With lots of aloha. Reception area is welcoming with ice cold water infused with orange slices. Close to downtown Kailua.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clara bear
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 10, 2014

Last minute getaway

We had business in Kona and decided perhaps we should stay in town. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel so decided to check out the Seaside as we had heard they has great service & rooms. We enjoyed our evening in town at the beach, dinner and a comfortable and friendly stay. Mahalo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxwell from Idaho
Coeurdalene Idaho
Apr 7, 2014

Max needed R & R

The rooms were clean, the staff helpful, the views were beautiful. The food was great. However someone backed into the car in the parking lot and broke out a headlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chelance
Paauilo
Mar 19, 2014

Too pricey

Too expensive for what it's worth not going to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monkey bidness
Spokane, WA
Mar 11, 2014

Great Value and location

Hotel is centrally located for eating, drinking , and shopping. You can walk to most places you might want to go in the local Kailua vicinity. Staff is friendly and helpful at all times and the rooms are generally clean and well maintained. We have stayed here in the past and will stay again when in the Kailua/Kona area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kona Steakhouse. Very close great prices on food and drinks and the food is good.

Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob and LaVon
Wisconsin
Mar 9, 2014

Very nice place to stay

The staff was great, helpful and friendly. the room was very clean. Had a little trouble with the room Wi-Fi. It is right on a main street so at night when you had the windows open it was a little loud, but all in all we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top