Kona Islander Inn Hotel

2 stars
755776 Alii Dr., Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
31 reviews
kona

had a great time rented a car and seen a lot See full review

  • srg15068
  • Mar 23, 2011
Perfect for budget travellers

We've used the Islander a number of times. There are three different types of rooms depending on... See full review

  • theukeman
  • Feb 4, 2012
Budget-friendly Kailua inn offers kitchenettes and a central location
Budget-conscience visitors looking for rustic Island charm will appreciate the plantation-style Kona Islander Inn Hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of Kailua town, nestled among so much ginger, banana and other tropical foliage that it feels more like a secret oasis. Rooms include kitchenettes and private balconies with views of the central swimming pool, gardens or ocean. The waterfront and a petite sandy nook are just across the road. Kailua's plentiful shopping, dining and sites are all within a few minutes' walk.
Highlights
  • Stretch the dollar at one of the area's most affordable hotels, with in-room kitchenettes for additional savings on meals
  • Enjoy a location in the heart of charming Kailua town, a few steps from restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Mellow Island atmosphere and lush tropical-foliage landscaping
Location
Kona Islander Inn Hotel spreads out across tropical landscaping in the heart of Kailua-Kona, across the street from the ocean and a sandy nook.
Rooms
Kona Islander Inn is a 3-story, plantation-style hotel with refreshingly simple, Island-décor studios. Each features a kitchenette, private balcony, air conditioning, free unlimited island-wide calls and TV. Many of the rooms face an inner courtyard swimming pool. Higher-floor east-facing rooms have views of the ocean. Laundry facilities are also on-site.
Features
Guests can relax in the sunshine at the pool or head to the waterfront nearby. Kona islander Inn Hotel is next door to Kailua's lively farmers market, held Wednesday through Sunday-a great way to shop for budget-priced in-room-kitchenette meals. Plentiful restaurants and cafés also line Alii Drive throughout the town area.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Please come to our office at the Kona Islander Inn- 75-5776 Kuakini Hwy. Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740. Please call 1-800-622-5348 or locally 1-808-329-3333. If you arrive after 8 p.m. when our offices are closed- our security guard, located in the lobby of the Kona Islander Inn, will have an envelope with your keys. Please provide your ID and or reservation information. Use the security desk phone to call for assistance if the guard is not in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6362 -155.992
Area served
Kona
Nearby airports
KOA
Area description
Enjoy the sounds and freshness of tropical breezes in the evenings as you sip a cool tropical drink. Reminisce about the days frolicking at the beach and develop an appreciation of the relaxation that comes from being in Hawaii.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Islander Inn Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kona Islander Inn Hotel Rooms

Standard queen
Pool, hot tub, BBQ, A/C, white sandy beach, kitchenettes, Internet, on Alii Drive in the village- walk to everything. Fall asleep to the beautiful sounds of the ocean in the standard queen rooms at Kona Islander Inn Hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 31
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
5
Value:
3.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
arroyo grande, california
Jun 24, 2011

kona islander inn

First of all, this is not a regular hotel. Each unit is privately owned and therefore is decorated and kept up differently than other units. So it is hit and miss whether you might get a great room or a worn out rom. The owners pay a maintanance fee which keeps the unit cleaned but they are all different. So the room we had was very worn out with bugs in the bathroom. Even though we were there for two days, we did not have any maid service in our room until it was checkout time and then they were standing at our door ready to clean. If you are looking for "color" this is the place for you at its affordable price and great location. Just bring your flipflops for the shower and bug spray to arm yourself for bathroom trips and you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The major plus of this hotel is that it is located in the center of town and you can walk anywhere, which is good because you will want to get out of the room as soon as possible!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Jun 5, 2011

Kona Islander Inn

Basically all u get is the room. 1st room had cockroaches every 2 minutes!!!! It was on the first floor, room 126 where no hot water ran. Parking is really bad, basically none. No daily service, no breakfast, only one bar of soap. Moved to 344 on 3rd floor, one cockroach. $69 a night, $59 for two nights... not really worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherry the Hula Girl
Tinley Park, Illinois
Aug 9, 2012

Right in the middle of everything!

I loved the location of this hotel! It was within walking distance of many restaurants and great shops! It has nice grounds and is very close to the ocean. The thing I did not like was the lack of room service (which I knew about that coming into the hotel), but because of it, the shower was disgusting--looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. If you're able to overlook that kind of stuff, then this is a fine hotel; but if you're looking for super clean, new towels every day, etc., don't stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Keep your car parked at the hotel and just walk to the various restaurants/shopping. That way you're guaranteed a spot in the lot when you turn in for the night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff7272
Pueblo West, CO, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Islander inn

Room # 153 - great view of the ocean from the lanai. Tiles broken and curtains ripped. No maid service, extra towels or toilet paper. Some bugs and ants but overall a pleasant stay. Very convenient to shopping and restauraunts but very little parking at the hotel. You are getting what you pay for but we were not at the hotel much anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iai
Honolulu, HI
Aug 9, 2011

Very nice, good location and price.

We didn't stay much at the hotel, we just went to shower, sleep, and not much more. We had two different rooms, one was perfect, the other had an empty bottle remaining from the previous person and the shower was barely working. There's no internet in the room, which was not a big deal for me. The location is perfect to go out for dinner and very easy to find once in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 19, 2010

Good location, no room service

Good: - perfect location, quiet place - good price - microwave, fridge, kitchen utensils Bad: - cockroaches in kitchen - old furniture, bathroom - no room service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiifornia
Tracy, CA
Aug 11, 2011

Kona Islander Inn

The hotel and staff are great, but it started off as a nightmare. [...] tried to stick my family of five in a tiny condo with one double bed and one twin bed, regardless of the number of people the room was reserved for. Thankfully, the girl behind the counter had a larger unit with two queen beds available. [...]Nonetheless, the hotel is in a prime location. It's right at the edge of the heart of Kailua-Kona and there is a farmer's market right next door that runs from Wed-Sun. The only problem I really think needs to be corrected is the parking situation. There isn't enough parking to accomodate all of the guests. If you can't find a space in the parking lot or on the street, you'll have to pay to park in the garage across the street. Fortunately, I grew up in Kailua-Kona so I could leave my car at my friends' and family's houses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're traveling on a budget, be aware that maid service and supplementary toiletries are an additional charge. If you can't afford to pay for extra toilet paper, make sure you bring backup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search