Kona Islander Inn Hotel

2 stars
755776 Alii Dr., Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
31 reviews
kona

had a great time rented a car and seen a lot See full review

  • srg15068
  • Mar 23, 2011
Perfect for budget travellers

We've used the Islander a number of times. There are three different types of rooms depending on... See full review

  • theukeman
  • Feb 4, 2012
Budget-friendly Kailua inn offers kitchenettes and a central location
Budget-conscience visitors looking for rustic Island charm will appreciate the plantation-style Kona Islander Inn Hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of Kailua town, nestled among so much ginger, banana and other tropical foliage that it feels more like a secret oasis. Rooms include kitchenettes and private balconies with views of the central swimming pool, gardens or ocean. The waterfront and a petite sandy nook are just across the road. Kailua's plentiful shopping, dining and sites are all within a few minutes' walk.
Highlights
  • Stretch the dollar at one of the area's most affordable hotels, with in-room kitchenettes for additional savings on meals
  • Enjoy a location in the heart of charming Kailua town, a few steps from restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Mellow Island atmosphere and lush tropical-foliage landscaping
Location
Kona Islander Inn Hotel spreads out across tropical landscaping in the heart of Kailua-Kona, across the street from the ocean and a sandy nook.
Rooms
Kona Islander Inn is a 3-story, plantation-style hotel with refreshingly simple, Island-décor studios. Each features a kitchenette, private balcony, air conditioning, free unlimited island-wide calls and TV. Many of the rooms face an inner courtyard swimming pool. Higher-floor east-facing rooms have views of the ocean. Laundry facilities are also on-site.
Features
Guests can relax in the sunshine at the pool or head to the waterfront nearby. Kona islander Inn Hotel is next door to Kailua's lively farmers market, held Wednesday through Sunday-a great way to shop for budget-priced in-room-kitchenette meals. Plentiful restaurants and cafés also line Alii Drive throughout the town area.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Please come to our office at the Kona Islander Inn- 75-5776 Kuakini Hwy. Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740. Please call 1-800-622-5348 or locally 1-808-329-3333. If you arrive after 8 p.m. when our offices are closed- our security guard, located in the lobby of the Kona Islander Inn, will have an envelope with your keys. Please provide your ID and or reservation information. Use the security desk phone to call for assistance if the guard is not in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6362 -155.992
Area served
Kona
Nearby airports
KOA
Area description
Enjoy the sounds and freshness of tropical breezes in the evenings as you sip a cool tropical drink. Reminisce about the days frolicking at the beach and develop an appreciation of the relaxation that comes from being in Hawaii.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Islander Inn Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kona Islander Inn Hotel Rooms

Standard queen
Pool, hot tub, BBQ, A/C, white sandy beach, kitchenettes, Internet, on Alii Drive in the village- walk to everything. Fall asleep to the beautiful sounds of the ocean in the standard queen rooms at Kona Islander Inn Hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theukeman
AZ
Feb 4, 2012

Perfect for budget travellers

We've used the Islander a number of times. There are three different types of rooms depending on how well individual owners have refurbished and maintained them. We had to ask to be moved to a better room because the first one we were allocated was tired and rough. The second room was great. If you want value for money, right by the ocean, in the centre of Kona, you can't beat this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Jan 26, 2011

great value

fine, quiet, view of the ocean, close to everything downtown kona. Parking available a block away free on steet. friendly staff, beautiful grounds, older renovated charming hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iai
Honolulu, HI
Aug 9, 2011

Very nice, good location and price.

We didn't stay much at the hotel, we just went to shower, sleep, and not much more. We had two different rooms, one was perfect, the other had an empty bottle remaining from the previous person and the shower was barely working. There's no internet in the room, which was not a big deal for me. The location is perfect to go out for dinner and very easy to find once in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Island Explorers
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2010

Kona Islander Inn

Very nice place right across the street from the beach. Lovely location in a cute village with walking distance to restaurants, shops, convenience stores. We had an ocean view room with a balcony. The room is furnished like a small studio apartment, not at all like a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Dec 19, 2010

Good location, no room service

Good: - perfect location, quiet place - good price - microwave, fridge, kitchen utensils Bad: - cockroaches in kitchen - old furniture, bathroom - no room service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas Nevada
Jun 21, 2011

A nice place to relax and enjoy the sigh

I saw the beach and went swimming in the nice clean pool. Also the spa was nice and clean and was not crowded. The pool area had barbeques and it was very relaxing. This hotel/condo was better than staying in a regular hotel room. The place was clean and the people that stayed there were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They had wonderful and right priced restaurants righ across the place that I was staying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prague Czech Republic, Europe
Jun 17, 2011

Cool holidays

We were visiting places of interest. The moquet was dirty at our arrival but the next day it was perfect. Unpleasant surprise was that the number of parking lots does not match the number of rooms. The first night I was obliged to park at payed parking outside the hotel for extra charge of 5 USD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

the hotel is for a good price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Top Teacher
Business
Boulder City, NV
Jun 13, 2010

Kona Islander Inn Review

Nice staff, best location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiifornia
Tracy, CA
Aug 11, 2011

Kona Islander Inn

The hotel and staff are great, but it started off as a nightmare. [...] tried to stick my family of five in a tiny condo with one double bed and one twin bed, regardless of the number of people the room was reserved for. Thankfully, the girl behind the counter had a larger unit with two queen beds available. [...]Nonetheless, the hotel is in a prime location. It's right at the edge of the heart of Kailua-Kona and there is a farmer's market right next door that runs from Wed-Sun. The only problem I really think needs to be corrected is the parking situation. There isn't enough parking to accomodate all of the guests. If you can't find a space in the parking lot or on the street, you'll have to pay to park in the garage across the street. Fortunately, I grew up in Kailua-Kona so I could leave my car at my friends' and family's houses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're traveling on a budget, be aware that maid service and supplementary toiletries are an additional charge. If you can't afford to pay for extra toilet paper, make sure you bring backup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
srg15068
pittsburgh
Mar 23, 2011

kona

had a great time rented a car and seen a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

island is big need to stay in different places to see everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search