Kona Islander Inn Hotel

2 stars
755776 Alii Dr., Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
49 reviews
kona

had a great time rented a car and seen a lot See full review

  • srg15068
  • Mar 23, 2011
Perfect for budget travellers

We've used the Islander a number of times. There are three different types of rooms depending on... See full review

  • theukeman
  • Feb 4, 2012
Budget-friendly Kailua inn offers kitchenettes and a central location
Budget-conscience visitors looking for rustic Island charm will appreciate the plantation-style Kona Islander Inn Hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of Kailua town, nestled among so much ginger, banana and other tropical foliage that it feels more like a secret oasis. Rooms include kitchenettes and private balconies with views of the central swimming pool, gardens or ocean. The waterfront and a petite sandy nook are just across the road. Kailua's plentiful shopping, dining and sites are all within a few minutes' walk.
Highlights
  • Stretch the dollar at one of the area's most affordable hotels, with in-room kitchenettes for additional savings on meals
  • Enjoy a location in the heart of charming Kailua town, a few steps from restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Mellow Island atmosphere and lush tropical-foliage landscaping
Location
Kona Islander Inn Hotel spreads out across tropical landscaping in the heart of Kailua-Kona, across the street from the ocean and a sandy nook.
Rooms
Kona Islander Inn is a 3-story, plantation-style hotel with refreshingly simple, Island-décor studios. Each features a kitchenette, private balcony, air conditioning, free unlimited island-wide calls and TV. Many of the rooms face an inner courtyard swimming pool. Higher-floor east-facing rooms have views of the ocean. Laundry facilities are also on-site.
Features
Guests can relax in the sunshine at the pool or head to the waterfront nearby. Kona islander Inn Hotel is next door to Kailua's lively farmers market, held Wednesday through Sunday-a great way to shop for budget-priced in-room-kitchenette meals. Plentiful restaurants and cafés also line Alii Drive throughout the town area.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Please come to our office at the Kona Islander Inn- 75-5776 Kuakini Hwy. Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740. Please call 1-800-622-5348 or locally 1-808-329-3333. If you arrive after 8 p.m. when our offices are closed- our security guard, located in the lobby of the Kona Islander Inn, will have an envelope with your keys. Please provide your ID and or reservation information. Use the security desk phone to call for assistance if the guard is not in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Kona Islander Inn Hotel Rooms

Standard queen
Pool, hot tub, BBQ, A/C, white sandy beach, kitchenettes, Internet, on Alii Drive in the village- walk to everything. Fall asleep to the beautiful sounds of the ocean in the standard queen rooms at Kona Islander Inn Hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Islander Inn Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.6362 -155.992
Area served
Kona
Nearby airports
KOA
Area description
Enjoy the sounds and freshness of tropical breezes in the evenings as you sip a cool tropical drink. Reminisce about the days frolicking at the beach and develop an appreciation of the relaxation that comes from being in Hawaii.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gig Harabor, WA
Feb 23, 2011

Kona Islander Inn

Not rewally a hotel. It's a condo operation. Be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo. Parking is almost non-existent. Also, there's a charge for housekeeping, extra towels, etc. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Watkins, MN
Feb 27, 2011

Great location, the rest....

The location is wonderful, the grounds beautiful, then there's the room and the service. The room smelled like mold and actually had mold growing in the bathroom. Cockroaches all around. Want clean towels? $10.00 dollars please. No ammenities, not even a pop or ice machine. Not enough on site parking but you can park in the lot across the street for $5.00/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars, eating, and shopping within 3 blocks.

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
arroyo grande, california
Jun 24, 2011

kona islander inn

First of all, this is not a regular hotel. Each unit is privately owned and therefore is decorated and kept up differently than other units. So it is hit and miss whether you might get a great room or a worn out rom. The owners pay a maintanance fee which keeps the unit cleaned but they are all different. So the room we had was very worn out with bugs in the bathroom. Even though we were there for two days, we did not have any maid service in our room until it was checkout time and then they were standing at our door ready to clean. If you are looking for "color" this is the place for you at its affordable price and great location. Just bring your flipflops for the shower and bug spray to arm yourself for bathroom trips and you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The major plus of this hotel is that it is located in the center of town and you can walk anywhere, which is good because you will want to get out of the room as soon as possible!!!

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scott-0
Merced, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Hardly an adequate place for a honeymoon

The experience started very poorly when we checked in after hours (about 9pm) and there were no staff present. The security guard gave us our key and we went to our room. The trash was full in a bag sitting near the front of the room, the sheets were completely off the bed, a few cockroaches were running about the room. Suffice it to say the room had not been cleaned and was not ready for us. Not a good start to a honeymoon. Luckily one other room was vacant and the trash was actually removed and the sheets on the bed. The place looked somewhat run-down, but was adequate to meet basic needs. The TV remote didn't work and there were occasional cockroaches. The grill out by the pool was actually excellent, but most else was mediocre to poor. Not the place for a honeymoon - somewhere with a cleaner look and maid service would have been much prefered (in hindsight). This might be the ideal place, however, for someone looking for a cheap deal and doesn't care if things are poorly maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rudy and Mary
Salem, Oregon
Nov 9, 2012

We'll come again.

We had read previous reviews and were aware that some liked it, some didn't. The bedding was clean. The carpeting was dirty, The supplies were minimal, I couldn't even sweep the kitchen. A vacuum should have been available. Friendly staff. I enjoyed my stay in spite of the spotted carpet. We spent hours and hours enjoying our deck overlooking nicely manicured gardens with ocean view in background.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cpt. Unhappy with the Room
Flushing, NY
Mar 27, 2010

not awesome

The location was very convenient to downtown. I was not, however, on the beach like the picture in the ad. It was across the street from a private and inaccessible beach. The room was uncomfortable and their were tiny roaches all over the kitchen when I got up in the middle of the night. EWWWWWW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

super convenient

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gig Harabor, WA
Feb 23, 2011

Kona Islander Inn

Not rewally a hotel. It's a condo operation. Be sure to bring your own soap and shampoo. Parking is almost non-existent. Also, there's a charge for housekeeping, extra towels, etc. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Watkins, MN
Feb 27, 2011

Great location, the rest....

The location is wonderful, the grounds beautiful, then there's the room and the service. The room smelled like mold and actually had mold growing in the bathroom. Cockroaches all around. Want clean towels? $10.00 dollars please. No ammenities, not even a pop or ice machine. Not enough on site parking but you can park in the lot across the street for $5.00/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great bars, eating, and shopping within 3 blocks.

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phs
Green Bay
Jun 2, 2010

Hawaii Dream

We took some tours and did some sightseeing. The updating that was done was good, but the curtains were pulled off the hooks, the shower was very badly stained and the sleeping area had very little area to get around the bed. The room did not have a telephone and the information said it did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jahred
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Wowza, what a funky room

Well lets start with the fact that it is right on Alii drive overlooking the ocean and has a beautiful garden! One of the best outdoors I have seen at a hotel. Then we saw the room!!!! WOWZA! I have stayed in many hotels and this room was by far the funkiest. The floor and curtains were GROSS. The kitchenette had no stovetop and the dishes provided were mostly dirty. The bed sheets were the wrong size and didn't seem to have been cleaned. When we asked for new sheets, a small surfer girl behind the desk said "Its kind of like your home away from home, and the laundry room is around the corner" UMMM?? Ok....What that meant was, wash your own stuff, and don't expect any help from us. The good news is it was Hawaii, so we spent all our time outside, and this cheap hotel offered us a spot right in beautiful kailua town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top