Kona Islander Inn Hotel

2 stars
755776 Alii Dr., Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
49 reviews
kona

had a great time rented a car and seen a lot See full review

  • srg15068
  • Mar 23, 2011
Perfect for budget travellers

We've used the Islander a number of times. There are three different types of rooms depending on... See full review

  • theukeman
  • Feb 4, 2012
Budget-friendly Kailua inn offers kitchenettes and a central location
Budget-conscience visitors looking for rustic Island charm will appreciate the plantation-style Kona Islander Inn Hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of Kailua town, nestled among so much ginger, banana and other tropical foliage that it feels more like a secret oasis. Rooms include kitchenettes and private balconies with views of the central swimming pool, gardens or ocean. The waterfront and a petite sandy nook are just across the road. Kailua's plentiful shopping, dining and sites are all within a few minutes' walk.
Highlights
  • Stretch the dollar at one of the area's most affordable hotels, with in-room kitchenettes for additional savings on meals
  • Enjoy a location in the heart of charming Kailua town, a few steps from restaurants, shopping, bars and historic sites
  • Mellow Island atmosphere and lush tropical-foliage landscaping
Location
Kona Islander Inn Hotel spreads out across tropical landscaping in the heart of Kailua-Kona, across the street from the ocean and a sandy nook.
Rooms
Kona Islander Inn is a 3-story, plantation-style hotel with refreshingly simple, Island-décor studios. Each features a kitchenette, private balcony, air conditioning, free unlimited island-wide calls and TV. Many of the rooms face an inner courtyard swimming pool. Higher-floor east-facing rooms have views of the ocean. Laundry facilities are also on-site.
Features
Guests can relax in the sunshine at the pool or head to the waterfront nearby. Kona islander Inn Hotel is next door to Kailua's lively farmers market, held Wednesday through Sunday-a great way to shop for budget-priced in-room-kitchenette meals. Plentiful restaurants and cafés also line Alii Drive throughout the town area.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.3 mi/450 m)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.5 mi/31.3 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.9 mi/150 km)
Policies and fees
Please come to our office at the Kona Islander Inn- 75-5776 Kuakini Hwy. Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740. Please call 1-800-622-5348 or locally 1-808-329-3333. If you arrive after 8 p.m. when our offices are closed- our security guard, located in the lobby of the Kona Islander Inn, will have an envelope with your keys. Please provide your ID and or reservation information. Use the security desk phone to call for assistance if the guard is not in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6362 -155.992
Area served
Kona
Nearby airports
KOA
Area description
Enjoy the sounds and freshness of tropical breezes in the evenings as you sip a cool tropical drink. Reminisce about the days frolicking at the beach and develop an appreciation of the relaxation that comes from being in Hawaii.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Islander Inn Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kona Islander Inn Hotel Rooms

Standard queen
Pool, hot tub, BBQ, A/C, white sandy beach, kitchenettes, Internet, on Alii Drive in the village- walk to everything. Fall asleep to the beautiful sounds of the ocean in the standard queen rooms at Kona Islander Inn Hotel.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theukeman
AZ
Feb 4, 2012

Perfect for budget travellers

We've used the Islander a number of times. There are three different types of rooms depending on how well individual owners have refurbished and maintained them. We had to ask to be moved to a better room because the first one we were allocated was tired and rough. The second room was great. If you want value for money, right by the ocean, in the centre of Kona, you can't beat this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. Jim the Snorkeler
British Columbia, Canada
Jun 5, 2010

A game of chance

This is not a hotel but individually owned tiny condos built in the 1960's. No maid service or things like a bathtub, free tiny soaps, shampoos, oven or even adequate kitchenette supplies. I stayed 9 days to snorkel, which was world class. However, if on business I would have checked out immediately. Others I know of have had better experiences. It depends on how good the individual condo owner is. This should never have been listed as a "hotel". Each condo owner should be rated, not the place as a whole. When my toilet did not work properly for two days I found out the "plumber" coming was not a plumber but the condo owner who was "up Island". The room phone did not work and had never been connected. Some rooms have working phones. The closet door literally fell apart when I opened it. I was given a second condo. I could not open its patio door without an extreme effort for 4 days while waiting for a the repair. The staff very friendly but will fib about when repairs will be done. Their paid Internet connection really sucked and was $6/hour. The rooms were clean but not under sofas and dressers whre I found things from others the cleaners did not touch. Grounds are lush. Tiny pool is bascially for kids, you have the ocean and a hot tub. Free Bar B Que use worked very well. Location is really excellent if you like in town convenient locations. This place can be a good value if you somehow can actually be guarenteed one of the renovated rooms in good repair with everything actually working- or if you pretend that you are just camping out. Good luck. A crapshoot for sure the way it is currently run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Swim at night with the Manata Rays. You will never forget it!

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagle Point, Oregon
Mar 20, 2010

Eeeek!!!!

Fortunately, didn't spend much time in room. Visiting friends on the island and sightseeing. Left hotel one day early due to discomfort with conditin of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagle Point, Oregon
Mar 20, 2010

Eeeek!!!!

Fortunately, didn't spend much time in room. Visiting friends on the island and sightseeing. Left hotel one day early due to discomfort with conditin of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
huicho
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Oct 18, 2011

horrible get away

the first night we arrived it was arround 10:30. no one was there to assist us, very bad service they did not had me registered on the computer so i had to wait for another 45 minutes. The room was very duty, and so old, the carpet the bathoom the shower, everything. next day when we came back, they were so unorganized becouse they had to give us another room and they took our things. it was totally a disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. Jim the Snorkeler
British Columbia, Canada
Jun 5, 2010

A game of chance

This is not a hotel but individually owned tiny condos built in the 1960's. No maid service or things like a bathtub, free tiny soaps, shampoos, oven or even adequate kitchenette supplies. I stayed 9 days to snorkel, which was world class. However, if on business I would have checked out immediately. Others I know of have had better experiences. It depends on how good the individual condo owner is. This should never have been listed as a "hotel". Each condo owner should be rated, not the place as a whole. When my toilet did not work properly for two days I found out the "plumber" coming was not a plumber but the condo owner who was "up Island". The room phone did not work and had never been connected. Some rooms have working phones. The closet door literally fell apart when I opened it. I was given a second condo. I could not open its patio door without an extreme effort for 4 days while waiting for a the repair. The staff very friendly but will fib about when repairs will be done. Their paid Internet connection really sucked and was $6/hour. The rooms were clean but not under sofas and dressers whre I found things from others the cleaners did not touch. Grounds are lush. Tiny pool is bascially for kids, you have the ocean and a hot tub. Free Bar B Que use worked very well. Location is really excellent if you like in town convenient locations. This place can be a good value if you somehow can actually be guarenteed one of the renovated rooms in good repair with everything actually working- or if you pretend that you are just camping out. Good luck. A crapshoot for sure the way it is currently run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Swim at night with the Manata Rays. You will never forget it!

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awOR
Hood River, Oregon
Jan 12, 2012

A DIVE

I rarely write a review. I am content with very basic motels when all I need is a roof and a bed and am easily satisfied, so was not expecting much from Kona Islander Inn. Beware of what you are getting into- the place looks decent from the outside, but my room (Molokai 232) did not qualify as even close to acceptable. I was reluctant to touch anything. The room was old, outdated, in disrepair, not clean, ants, etc.... it needed to be gutted and redone from top to bottom. Upon arrival I found that this is supposedly a condo-hotel, or something like that, apparently with no consistency among the rooms. I guess I got the room that was meant for a skid-row residence hotel. If you are driving a car, note that there is not even close to enough parking capacity on site for the number of units. I will never return to this place... I'd rather park by the beach and sleep in my car. Sorry for the poor review... the place has potential with a massive remodel of the interior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corvallis OR
Jun 21, 2011

SHADY AND DIRTY!!

The Good: Good central location, walking distance to everything The Bad: Room was very dirty Bathroom was so dirty we were uncomfortable going barefoot Roach bait was needed Carpets were stained Fairly certain bites were received from something in the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EmOxon
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Backpackers shelter

Given that the name of the place includes Hotel and Inn (albeit only on the Billboards outside) I expected to have at least some basic room service. Boy I was wrong! Upon arrival we were given a piece of paper with code required to enter the room. Entering a shabby looking room, in the dim light I read the instructions stating that no room service is provided except for a NOMINAL FEE. NOMINAL FEE turned out to be $15 for changing linen only. Forget about cleaning room and changing towels. Well I think if you planning a vacation - you don't expect to do a lot of housekeeping while vacationing? Description stated that room had a kitchenette. This happened to be in between entrance and bathroom. The microwave was not working properly (front panel was falling out), but after 3 request to change it (which we were assured will be done promptly) we gave up on it. Internet is available only at hotel's lobby and is at the price. Parking available but in short supply which due to lack of public transportation is regrettable. Hotel's beach (which mentioned briefly but left unseen on the web-site's video) is nothing more than access to shoreline full of volcanic rocks but with plenty of backpacker hanging around. Bottom line - if you looking for a decent place to spend your vacation - look elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gump's accross the street is very good as well as Java Rock down the street. Also there is a Open Market with supply of fresh fruits and tourist stuff...

Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corvallis OR
Jun 21, 2011

SHADY AND DIRTY!!

The Good: Good central location, walking distance to everything The Bad: Room was very dirty Bathroom was so dirty we were uncomfortable going barefoot Roach bait was needed Carpets were stained Fairly certain bites were received from something in the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Kona Islander Inn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phs
Green Bay
Jun 2, 2010

Hawaii Dream

We took some tours and did some sightseeing. The updating that was done was good, but the curtains were pulled off the hooks, the shower was very badly stained and the sleeping area had very little area to get around the bed. The room did not have a telephone and the information said it did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top