$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
134 reviews
honeymoon

this resort is the best. first time to the big island is was great!! See full review

  • Super Lola
  • Oct 23, 2014
Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well... See full review

  • Neighbor Island Resident
  • Aug 17, 2014
Kona Coast Resort is comprised of 266 condominiums with private lanais, ranging from 1,000 sq ft to 1,450 sq ft. The resort is located on 21 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens close to golf and beaches. The property has two pools with kiddie pool, three spas, kids playground, an exercise facility with locker rooms, a jogging path with workout stations, tennis, volleyball court, and basketball hoop. A poolside restaurant and bar enjoy an oceanview.

Located on the sunny Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island, the resort is easy driving distance from some of the best beaches in the state. Each spacious suite at this award winning resort is fully appointed, including in room washer/dryer and tastefully decorated. Rooms feature either garden, fairway or ocean views.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Kona Coast Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

off-site
Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
The Pointe
On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VicP
Business
River Grove
Dec 21, 2014

Hawaii is beautiful

Kona Coast Resort is beautiful. The condos are very large with full kitchens and a large porch. The condo sleeps 6 yet there was room and dishes for 10 people to eat! Kitchen was a little old with painted ceramic tile countertops and painted cabinets, but new stainless steel applinaces. Bathrooms were refurbished with all granite countertops and faucets. Large walk in shower in the master bath was very nice. TVs were very small and old tube sets. The updates that were redone were done really well and Spent some money on, but they skipped on a few things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love art go to the art gallery in Waterfront Row and talk to Jill. They have great Hawaiian artists and you can bring home a very nice bit of Hawaii with you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glenn M.
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

Very nice accommodations. We found everything here to be superior. The location is perfect for a family as it is just far enough from town to offer quiet evenings, but close enough to be downtown Kona in 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Masood Siddiqi
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 3, 2014

Great place to stay with family

Awesome place at cheap price to stay with family. Nice, clean, and affordable. Stayed here twice in 6 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Lola
Business
Riverside
Oct 23, 2014

honeymoon

this resort is the best. first time to the big island is was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smoores
Business
Arkansas
Sep 27, 2014

Kona is great!

Our first trip to this resort was Sept 2013. We loved it so I booked for this year. We were put in an older unit, which is fine if it is kept neat and clean. The condo was dirty and in need of repair - not attention, but repair! The carpet had stains that weren't faded like someone tried to clean it. The floor was so nasty that my feet turned black after I showered. Their mid-week clean entailed them changing the towels. The bed needs replaced, badly! I went for laundry detergent and the desk lady asked how my stay was as she was processing $1.50 for the soap! I told her and she said if I had complained they would have moved me. I shouldn't have to complain! They know the unit is very. dilapidated. The couch has busted seams on the cushions. The little TV in the living room has scratches all over it like a child with a pen wrote on it. Broken tiles on the kitchen floor. They know it needs repairs or gutted and rebuilt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMom
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 15, 2014

Big Island Retreat

Let me start off with the fact that I had requested an oceanview, only to find out upon checkin that only 5% are oceanview. Our lanai had the view of the children's plaground. Problem # 1. Problem #2-the 2nd day, the air conditioner quit. It was a Sunday, so since they couldn't get it fixed, we had to move to the unit next door. Problem #3-the next morning, the safe quit working with all of our stuff inside! The security manager kept our belongings in safe keeping for the better part of the day while the maintenance staff replaced the safe. They did address both of those issues timely, but we lost 1/2 day of vacation time moving & dealing with the safe problem. I had expected some kind of monetary compensation or a comp dinner for all of the inconvenience. The matteress & boxspring definitely need replacing (true of both units we stayed in) The living room furniture looked nice, but the stuffing was flat - not real comfortable. They did provide paper towels, 2 bags of coffee(1 pot each), a re-useable shopping bag (no plastic bags allowed on the island), soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap & laundry detergent. We were there for a week & didn't run out of anything. We didn't visit the pool - too busy in the ocean. But the on premises rental facilities aren't the cheapest, but it is convenient. We rented snorkel gear & beach chairs. They do provide "pool towels". They sell beach towels there & they are $2 cheaper than WalMart for the very same towel. We didn't eat there either so I can't say anything about the restaruant. Too many other good places along the beach further north. I recommend that unless you want to give up a 1/2 day with the condo sales pitch - buy your excursions in town. They are available on site, but if you don't attend the meeting, prices are higher. The excursion providers they use were very good, however. Found out later that we could have gotten same trips for less money buying on our own. The staff was very helpful & courteous. The entire facility is very clean. The location is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's . We ate breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Nothing but praise for this location. Food is reasonably priced, good portions, great staff. If you save your receipt, if you return the next day, free short stack of pancakes or chips & salsa. Live music on Sat pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nohiamahina
Business
Pāhoa, Hawaiʻi
Sep 15, 2014

Highly recommended! Family friendly!

Our stay was very comfortable and we loved it. The room was comfortable and roomy, there was no charge for the air conditioner. I have a toddler, so I really loved that they have a playground and children's pool at the resort. We will definitely be going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Costco to buy enough for the entire stay, then you can save money on food and cook in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryTheKnight
Business
Woodland, California
Sep 9, 2014

Good price, ordinary experience

This is a really decent hotel for the price! Just keep in mind it is decent--the room itself and the staff were average. The food at the restaurant wasn't anything to be desired, and the bartenders were not friendly. There were cockroaches on the premise, and we found a dead one on the kitchen floor of our room. Otherwise, the workout facilities, tennis courts, and pool/spas were great! Please note there is only a partial beach view from only a small part of this resort, and there is no beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring water shoes to this island! Or buy them at target/walmart/costco. They are essential to explore most of the shores due to critters and lava rock! ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neighbor Island Resident
Business
Aiea, HI
Aug 17, 2014

Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well kept and the layout very easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can cook in the kitchen if you'd like or go out to eat at a nearby restaurant. There are many fine restaurants within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennis mama of one
Business
Hawaii
Jul 24, 2014

Family getaway

Great! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top