$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
132 reviews
Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well... See full review

  • Neighbor Island Resident
  • Aug 17, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has... See full review

  • skier bill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (132)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    132 out of 132
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Lindon, UT
    Sep 7, 2009

    Nice place to stay

    We enjoyed our stay. The resort was nice, quiet, and ideally located.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Winnipeg Canada
    Oct 23, 2010

    Very, very, very good hotel and location

    The Hotel was top notch and location fantastic and for the price I don't think you can beat it. The Hotel staff were friendly and very informative and were able to assist us in planning our daily travels. Didn't eat at the Hotel but bet it would be good as well. The amenities were abundant...shuffle board, tennis, pools and jacuzzis, beach towels and snorkling gear are offered. There are communal barbeques on the properties and the rooms are decked out. Did have a few hickups as well...our room wasn't ready when we arrived and not until around 4:30PM...and the water in the en suite shower and bathroom sink wouldn't drain properly..we did mention it in leaving and would think they will have that fixed toots sweet. One other annowing thing was the cleaning staff never did our room, but we were there for only three nights ...so it wasn't a huge problem as there were more than enough clean towels in the room for the three nights there. The property is well managed and would stay there again for sure. Thanks [...] Kona Coast Resort for a fantastic finish to a wonderful holiday !!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Well it was about a 45 minute drive to Roy's Waikoloa Bar and Grill...just north of the Kona Airport...but the trip is worth it. The food was the best Asian fusion we ever have had. The staff very helpful in picking out exactly what you might want and had insider tips on the way it should be cooked...fish was on our menu that night...to perfection...if you don't go...you missed out on something for sure. Even the manager came by two or three times during the meal to ask how things were...and the waiters and staff were always at your fingertips...you never need to ask for water...ever...trick is to not drink so much because they are forever filling your glasses with ice water. Go for it...it's more than worth it !!!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Honolulu, Hi
    Sep 8, 2009

    Home away from home

    This location was perfect and the room was way beyond our expectations

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    nanaimo,bc
    Nov 22, 2010

    nice

    grreat beaches within 30 min

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

    lots of great beaches all within 30 min

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    USA
    Aug 1, 2009

    Good kitchens, BBQ grills.

    Overall, it was a good place with good cooking facilities in the kitchen and BBQ areas. The room was basically clean and not noisy. We had a top floor room, so I can't say what lower floor occupants experience. There's a golf course separating the resort from the ocean, but in the evenings the guests simply walk across the grass (100 yards) to get to the rocky shoreline and observe the sunset. We were pleased with the place. Minor gripes: it would be nice if they had more recycling bins around the resort. Also, they need to update the "manual" that they provide because it doesn't always accurately describe how things work. For example, if you call housekeeping from your room and leave a message with a request, your message may be ignored. But you get a reliable and prompt response if you simply call the front desk instead.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Drive over to the Sheraton at Keauhou Bay to watch the Manta Rays at night (after about 8pm). You can self park for free and then visit the bar or just hang out and look over the railing to see the Manta Rays which are attracted to the bright lights at the hotel. Also, from the Kona Coast resort itself, one can walk (about 20 mins down Alii Drive) to Kahaluu Bay Beach Park for easy snorkeling at a very popular location.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    palm tree
    Business
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Aug 1, 2009

    Good family getaway

    Big condos, great view, some maintenance needed, polite and friendly staff and activities co-ordinators.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    San Francisco,Ca
    Feb 7, 2010

    relaxing getaway

    Definally need a car. Enjoyed the location of the hotel. Would divide my trip with two locations of this island Kona and Hilo.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    i love the big island
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    May 31, 2009

    Quiet, comfortable, and relaxing

    Kona Coast Resort was a great place. It is in a great location being fairly close to the heart of Kailua Kona, very close the Keauhou Shopping Center, and also close to some really great snorkeling places. The resort itself is quiet and fairly nice. The only complains I have are that the midweek cleaning service I signed up for at check-in never occurred and the bed was a little too firm.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    The Kailua Kona waterfront has TONS of great little restaurants and bars and is just a short drive up Ali'i Drive.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Sweet Lemmon
    Business
    Scotts Valley, Ca
    Oct 18, 2009

    Nice Condo

    We had a one bedroom condo that was spacious and comfortable. The plubming was a little noisey and there was no free internet access as I had read, but other than that it was nice. Its a good location near Keauhou Bay and the Keauhou Bay shopping center. We only stayed two nights but enjoyed it.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mark and Allison
    Business
    San Diego, CA
    May 15, 2011

    Fantastic Deal!

    We booked this hotel as a package, so we got a great deal on it. We weren't really expecting a great hotel with how cheap it was in comparison to other hotels we saw but we were really blown away. We said more than once it seemed like a second honeymoon. When we checked in (which wasn't even until about 5pm) we did have to wait a few hours for our room, but it wasn't a huge deal since we went over to the restaurant where they had live music and got dinner. Our room had a beautiful ocean view, even though there is no real beach to speak of at the resort... this seems to be a common problem for the island in general. Over, great hotel, we would certainly come back if we return to the Big Island.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top