$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missing Paradise
Business
columbus, oh
May 23, 2010

close and convenient

Condo very close to all the main excitement

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 16, 2010

Great value condos on quiet grounds

We're a 27 yo couple, no kids. We've traveled pretty extensively - from jungle homes in Costa Rica to lux hotels on the Amalfi coast, so I give Kona Coast Resort 4 stars an a RELATIVE scale, particularly since the price was so questionable (in a good way). We've never booked a "package" vacation before, but a few days before wanting to get out of NYC we figured we'd see how much Kona would cost. [...] That all being said, we were VERY happy with the resort. As long as you want a condo experience (do your own food shopping, make your bed, etc.) it was perfect. I read a lot of complaints about housekeeping, and they did only come once in a week, but what do you expect from a condo at this price point!?! If you're not messy people, it's not an issue. The location was great - on the end of a coastal road but within 10 minutes from grocery stores (and even a Walmart) so stocking up on food was fast and cheap. However if you want to walk to nightlife it'd be a bit of a walk - def plan to drive everywhere. Tennis courts were decent, but we never spent a day by the pool since we would drive to random beaches (great ones were 20-45 min north, depending on your prefs). Our biggest complaint was the VERY dated decor and carpets - why they have carpets in a beach resort is strange, and they def had a funky odor at times...but we got some fabreeze and got over it :) Also, we thought our place was dated until we saw Phase 1 units...you MUST be sure you're at a Phase 2. So, overall, it was a great condo-stay FOR THE PRICE (which we estimate to have been less than a hundred/night given the cost of airfare and SUV rental). Oh, and we 100% avoided any time-share stuff/gimmicks - not worth a free bag of coffee or food discount in our minds :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Greenwell Farms was a cool Kona coffee tour (more than just coffee trees). Hapuna State Park was the best sand-bottom beach within a reasonable distance (A-bay was NOT nice) and Makalawena Beach is a MUST if you don't mind a 25 min drive and a 20 min hike over lava rock (but there's paths).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fuzed
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Great

Staff was great, maybe one slip up w towels/ bedding. Much better than expected. Excellent development, the room was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan well, much driving involved if you don't plan on staying in the 5 mile area. Road repair seems to slow you down pretty often also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjf
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jul 14, 2010

Excellent resort but weather iffy

Rooms are great, location is good but the weather is cloudy every afternoon. If you want a quite and restfull place this is it. We used the pool during the mormning and went out to other areas in the afternoon. It was great for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque
Feb 6, 2011

Kona Coast Resort

Our fourth stay at the KCR, and we've always been impressed with the accomodations for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Quinn's Almost by the Sea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ2x101
Business
California
Jul 8, 2010

Summer stay at Kona Coast Resort

From check-in to picking up the pool towels to having a clean room daily, the service was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping center about a block away has a grocery, a post office, a pharmacy, and several specialty shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves Travel
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 28, 2009

Vacation with kids

We wanted to take a break from the grind with our 2 kids and this place was perfect for that ! The resort is very conveniently located close to Highway 11, there is a shopping complex a hop, skip and jump away for all essential groceries, a few restaurants and a movie theater. The resort itself has 2 pools, a restaurant, close to a golf course - very nice location. Its a 10 minute drive from downtown Kona - but we liked being away from it all - yet close enough to the action if we wanted to be there. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa which has a decent sized bedroom, 2 bathrooms and sofa sleeper in the living room. We have 2 children under the age of 10 - so that worked out fine for us. The kitchen was adequately equipped. We could see the ocean from between the buildings in front of us - I guess that is what they meant by "ocean view"!! There is no beach off the property - although it is walking distance from a beach - the water seemed very rough from where we could see it and we didn't actually go there. There are plenty of calmer beaches on Ali'i drive for small kids to play with so it wasn't a problem for us. The resort provided soaps but no shampoos, shower caps which we thought was odd - but it wasn't an issue to us. Overall - a great quiet, convenient place if you are looking for a holiday. I would definitely recommend it to anybody and look forward to returning there soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Mar 3, 2009

Great place to stay.

The place was great staff was great good location close to a nice grocery store with resonable prices. You won't be disapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kahaluu Beach is a great place to go snorkeling lots of fish and turtles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 14, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

Overall excellent, except for early checkout. Orbitz booking was till 12pm on our last day, but Hotel said they have a standard 10AM checkout. This caused us a last minute change in our days plan. Also, should be aware that this resort has a green plan, will give you a choice if no or minimal housekeeping service at the time of check-in. We had daily houekeeping included in our booking, but had opted out to show our support to save our planet :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best snorkelling site just 10 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 2, 2010

Unbelievable Deal

We enjoyed the scenic views and the walks to the nearby stores and night spots. We were close to everything.My family who live in Hawaii visited us everyday with no problem.Staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do a weekly shopping for snacks that you can carry on your purse or have at home after exploring this beatiful island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top