$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
198 reviews
Fantastic resort!

Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has... See full review

  • skier bill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great location that was safe, clean and quiet

Very pleasant stay and I will be back soon. Clean room and grounds and the location was 5 minutes... See full review

  • Weekly warrior
  • Jun 11, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (198)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    198 out of 198
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    traveler tonda
    Ohio
    Apr 19, 2013

    Big Island holiday.

    Pretty good, hot tubs could of been hotter. A nice stay .Would stay again. Could be undated . Sofa needs a new one. If updated would be pretty good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Dining tip: In Hotel

    food isn't that great. Would of eaten there more if it would of been better and not so expensive.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Davis, CA, USA
    Oct 8, 2011

    Good place to stay in Kona

    The place is close to Longs and KTA where you can find all you need in terms of groceries and daily needs. You do have to drive to the beach or snorkling places but I do not mind (not a beach front property), the pool is not huge but good enough for the kids to play in. We stayed in 1 bedroom condo which is pleasant, comfortable with well designed floorplan. We have house cleaning service everyday. Staff is courteous and efficient. The third floor is quiet if you do not mind to climb stairs. The landscaping is well manicured, we love the beautiful walk way wrapping around the facility.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Do not go to the timeshare presentation. It does not give you honest information that you need. We had good meals at Boston Basil, LavaJava and enjoy the Farmer's Market that opens everyday in the downtown area (Alii drive)

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    A well rounded traveler
    Fairfield, CT
    Jul 21, 2009

    The good, the bad and the really ugly

    This was an average place and the pools were small. It was disappointing that there was no access to the beach right on the property. The timeshare department was overbearing and untruthful. We agreed to stay for a 90 minute presentation which lead to one way longer... when we said we wanted to consider their proposal they were extremely agressive. Do not attend the timeshare presentation. The discounts are NOT worth it. Try to decided what day trips you want ahead of time and book online.. that will be cheaper and less aggravating.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Again, book online prior to the trip if you can decide on what you want to do. You will save time on your trip and money many times if you book online. The Lava tour and snorkling with the dolphins were excellent tours offered.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Love Big island
    Dover, DE
    Jun 8, 2010

    Great condo but would like ocean view

    We took this time golf corce view. Nice is quiet but have to have ocean views. We like to here wave sound because give us relaxsations.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Tn.
    Mar 5, 2009

    Good location and condo facilities

    Check-in should have been around 4:00 pm, and was told to come back at 4:30 pm. Finally got in room at 5:30 pm. My original room assignment had been given to someone else. If you are not one of their time-share customers you are a second class citizen.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Short walk to shopping center with grocery and drug stores, and resturants.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Travelin' Pals
    Denver, CO
    May 24, 2009

    Relaxing vacation

    This is my second stay with Kona Coast Resort and was pleased both times. It is easy to relax in this quiet environment. The location is great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the accomodations very clean. We appreciated the complimentary soaps, cleansers, and coffee filters as not all time-share resorts supply these. We were asked twice to attend the time-share presentation, we declined and were not bothered again. We are active travelers and enjoy getting out and about to see and do as much as we can but also want to relax while vacationing. It was wonderful to return to this peaceful, beautifully landscaped resort in the evening and enjoy tropical fruit and rum drinks on the lanai!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Skip the expensive fancy drinks in the restaurants and make your own in your condo. We shop for fresh, ripe fruit at the outdoor market in Kona on Ali'i Drive and buy rum at the grocery store and make delicious drinks for much less money. We also don't have to worry about driving after drinking.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Ecuapeter
    Los Angeles, CA
    Jul 17, 2014

    Beautiful location

    We had a great time once again at this location. The setting is beautiful and you can't beat the snorkeling at the bay just a few blocks away. The only thing we felt found have been better is that some of the appliances are older and need to be replaced. Over all, we love staying here and will return again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great place to watch a sunset

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Tn.
    Mar 5, 2009

    Good location and condo facilities

    Check-in should have been around 4:00 pm, and was told to come back at 4:30 pm. Finally got in room at 5:30 pm. My original room assignment had been given to someone else. If you are not one of their time-share customers you are a second class citizen.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Short walk to shopping center with grocery and drug stores, and resturants.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Travelin' Pals
    Denver, CO
    May 24, 2009

    Relaxing vacation

    This is my second stay with Kona Coast Resort and was pleased both times. It is easy to relax in this quiet environment. The location is great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the accomodations very clean. We appreciated the complimentary soaps, cleansers, and coffee filters as not all time-share resorts supply these. We were asked twice to attend the time-share presentation, we declined and were not bothered again. We are active travelers and enjoy getting out and about to see and do as much as we can but also want to relax while vacationing. It was wonderful to return to this peaceful, beautifully landscaped resort in the evening and enjoy tropical fruit and rum drinks on the lanai!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Skip the expensive fancy drinks in the restaurants and make your own in your condo. We shop for fresh, ripe fruit at the outdoor market in Kona on Ali'i Drive and buy rum at the grocery store and make delicious drinks for much less money. We also don't have to worry about driving after drinking.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    snorkelbaby
    Mountain View
    Aug 19, 2013

    OK place to stay

    We chose this place as we needed a kitchen (easier with a baby!). The carpets had spots, the bed sagged on one of the sides and we saw 2 dead roaches! What we liked was that the condo was spacious with two full baths and a full kitchen. The staff were pretty friendly and they responded quickly to our requests. The property was also located close to beaches and snorkeling spots and was also close to the downtown.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Back to menu Return to top