$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A well rounded traveler
Business
Fairfield, CT
Jul 21, 2009

The good, the bad and the really ugly

This was an average place and the pools were small. It was disappointing that there was no access to the beach right on the property. The timeshare department was overbearing and untruthful. We agreed to stay for a 90 minute presentation which lead to one way longer... when we said we wanted to consider their proposal they were extremely agressive. Do not attend the timeshare presentation. The discounts are NOT worth it. Try to decided what day trips you want ahead of time and book online.. that will be cheaper and less aggravating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Again, book online prior to the trip if you can decide on what you want to do. You will save time on your trip and money many times if you book online. The Lava tour and snorkling with the dolphins were excellent tours offered.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Pals
Business
Denver, CO
May 24, 2009

Relaxing vacation

This is my second stay with Kona Coast Resort and was pleased both times. It is easy to relax in this quiet environment. The location is great, the staff friendly and helpful, and the accomodations very clean. We appreciated the complimentary soaps, cleansers, and coffee filters as not all time-share resorts supply these. We were asked twice to attend the time-share presentation, we declined and were not bothered again. We are active travelers and enjoy getting out and about to see and do as much as we can but also want to relax while vacationing. It was wonderful to return to this peaceful, beautifully landscaped resort in the evening and enjoy tropical fruit and rum drinks on the lanai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Skip the expensive fancy drinks in the restaurants and make your own in your condo. We shop for fresh, ripe fruit at the outdoor market in Kona on Ali'i Drive and buy rum at the grocery store and make delicious drinks for much less money. We also don't have to worry about driving after drinking.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tn.
Mar 5, 2009

Good location and condo facilities

Check-in should have been around 4:00 pm, and was told to come back at 4:30 pm. Finally got in room at 5:30 pm. My original room assignment had been given to someone else. If you are not one of their time-share customers you are a second class citizen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to shopping center with grocery and drug stores, and resturants.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waldonclan
Business
Orange, Ca
Nov 7, 2009

You get what you pay for

Convienient location for our needs. Shopping center across the street. Not in the downtown mess of Kialua. Not the nicest place we have stayed, but not the worst either. These are bare bones 1970's time share units, so don't expect a lot of amenities. No beach swimming access, pools are a hike from the room, staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the fish and chips at Drysdales. Made with fresh Ono, and delicious.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j who
Business
83002
Nov 14, 2009

not so friendly sales staff

had a great stay, but felt very insulted when i was told that i could not afford time share after i just spent a week at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bomb101
Business
PA
Jun 19, 2014

good price for the room

The room is nice for its price. The location is good. We have the sea view. The pool is really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the #1 yelp restaurant DA POKE SHAKE.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ecuapeter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful location

We had a great time once again at this location. The setting is beautiful and you can't beat the snorkeling at the bay just a few blocks away. The only thing we felt found have been better is that some of the appliances are older and need to be replaced. Over all, we love staying here and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to watch a sunset

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryTheKnight
Business
Woodland, California
Sep 9, 2014

Good price, ordinary experience

This is a really decent hotel for the price! Just keep in mind it is decent--the room itself and the staff were average. The food at the restaurant wasn't anything to be desired, and the bartenders were not friendly. There were cockroaches on the premise, and we found a dead one on the kitchen floor of our room. Otherwise, the workout facilities, tennis courts, and pool/spas were great! Please note there is only a partial beach view from only a small part of this resort, and there is no beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring water shoes to this island! Or buy them at target/walmart/costco. They are essential to explore most of the shores due to critters and lava rock! ;)

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davis, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Good place to stay in Kona

The place is close to Longs and KTA where you can find all you need in terms of groceries and daily needs. You do have to drive to the beach or snorkling places but I do not mind (not a beach front property), the pool is not huge but good enough for the kids to play in. We stayed in 1 bedroom condo which is pleasant, comfortable with well designed floorplan. We have house cleaning service everyday. Staff is courteous and efficient. The third floor is quiet if you do not mind to climb stairs. The landscaping is well manicured, we love the beautiful walk way wrapping around the facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not go to the timeshare presentation. It does not give you honest information that you need. We had good meals at Boston Basil, LavaJava and enjoy the Farmer's Market that opens everyday in the downtown area (Alii drive)

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Big island
Business
Dover, DE
Jun 8, 2010

Great condo but would like ocean view

We took this time golf corce view. Nice is quiet but have to have ocean views. We like to here wave sound because give us relaxsations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top