$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
156 reviews
Awesome hotel for family

The location of the hotel is great , close to popular beach to snorkeling and close to shopping... See full review

  • YU G.
  • May 19, 2015
Nice room for family

Quiet location. Convenient scenic drive to shopping and dinning. Very clean with nice laundry... See full review

  • Wan Y.
  • Apr 12, 2015
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • NOTICE: The resort will undergo an extensive interior renovation from Sept 2015 to Apr 2016. Thereafter, this project will run intermittently through 2017. During this time, guests may experience dust and noise in the vicinity. Contractor equipment will also be on site. Dates are subject to change.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    4:00 PM
    Check-out:
    10:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    156 out of 156
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    CoastieMomof2
    Juneau, AK
    Dec 17, 2012

    Great place at a great deal!

    We stayed here with our two kids and had a fabulous time. All of the condos have either a water view or golf course view. We had a ground floor unit which was perfect for us because the kids could run around in the grass and play ball and tag. They have gas grills, plus an herb garden for guest use. There's a nice view of the ocean from the pool and hot tub, and a pool side bar and restaraunt for drinks and food. Quiet, relaxing and clean. I highly recommend it!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Load up at the Costco for your groceries on the first day. Also, gas at Costco is 40 cents per gallon cheaper than other stations. It's only 1 mile from the airport, so fill up your rental car there before returning it!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Ihan ok paikka
    Business
    San Jose,CA
    Nov 29, 2009

    Cockroach resort

    Cockroaches were found every morning from kitchen. Floors were dirty.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Retied
    Business
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Jan 15, 2011

    Somewhat Disappointed

    The resort was built over a number of years in phases and we had an older unit in Phase I. These older units are large and comfortable but ours was very dated. One disappointment was that our view from the lanai was the parking lot and other buildings. I'd spend more money to have a nicer view. The other disappointment was that I had to spend a lot of time recuperating from a back injury and requested a one or two-hour extension on a very early (10 am) checkout. The management was rigid--totally inflexible even though I was under the care of a doctor. I've never encountered that degree of rigidity and unresponsiveness to consumer needs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Very nice shopping center across the street with several dining and other options.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Oregon
    Dec 17, 2009

    You can do better if you shop.

    Initially our intake person was a young man who was rude and uninterested. For example I asked him where the closest surf beach was and his response was "I don't surf". No other help offered. There was a great little surfing/snorkling beach a half mile from the condo site. The rooms were noisy however we were placed near the road. The noise was considerable from the traffic at night and early morning so if you stay here check that out and don't let them pawn you off near the road. The internet only worked about half the time which if you need that for activities presented a problem. Moreover we were told they had internet but you then get to pay $9.95 a day for it. I spent about two hours of my vacation just dealing with the disfunctional internet which the Kona Coast people abdicated any responsibility for. They turfed it you AT&T.They also fail to tell you that if you want/need air conditioning you get to pay extra for it. I did not use it but if you need it you will pay extra. They give you a special little key to start the clock running if you want to be cooler then ~80-85 degrees which was a typical afternoon room temperature. The food in the on site restaurant was average. Bottom line if you shop you will do better.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    nice beach for learning surfers as well as other water sports and would be good for kids only one half mile from the condo site. of course there are other closer facilities

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Smoores
    Business
    Arkansas
    Sep 27, 2014

    Kona is great!

    Our first trip to this resort was Sept 2013. We loved it so I booked for this year. We were put in an older unit, which is fine if it is kept neat and clean. The condo was dirty and in need of repair - not attention, but repair! The carpet had stains that weren't faded like someone tried to clean it. The floor was so nasty that my feet turned black after I showered. Their mid-week clean entailed them changing the towels. The bed needs replaced, badly! I went for laundry detergent and the desk lady asked how my stay was as she was processing $1.50 for the soap! I told her and she said if I had complained they would have moved me. I shouldn't have to complain! They know the unit is very. dilapidated. The couch has busted seams on the cushions. The little TV in the living room has scratches all over it like a child with a pen wrote on it. Broken tiles on the kitchen floor. They know it needs repairs or gutted and rebuilt.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Love Big island
    Business
    Dover, DE
    Jun 8, 2010

    Great condo but would like ocean view

    We took this time golf corce view. Nice is quiet but have to have ocean views. We like to here wave sound because give us relaxsations.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Davis, CA, USA
    Oct 8, 2011

    Good place to stay in Kona

    The place is close to Longs and KTA where you can find all you need in terms of groceries and daily needs. You do have to drive to the beach or snorkling places but I do not mind (not a beach front property), the pool is not huge but good enough for the kids to play in. We stayed in 1 bedroom condo which is pleasant, comfortable with well designed floorplan. We have house cleaning service everyday. Staff is courteous and efficient. The third floor is quiet if you do not mind to climb stairs. The landscaping is well manicured, we love the beautiful walk way wrapping around the facility.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Do not go to the timeshare presentation. It does not give you honest information that you need. We had good meals at Boston Basil, LavaJava and enjoy the Farmer's Market that opens everyday in the downtown area (Alii drive)

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    ChrisHD
    Business
    Heidelberg, Deutschland
    Jan 12, 2013

    The stay was Ok

    Our stay at the Kona Coast Resort was ok. The large facility is surrounded by a golf course so that you can not access the coast line. There is no beach but it would be nice if there would be a pathway so that one could have a seat at the shore line. Rooms are nice and very clean. The fully equipped kitchen (including dish washer, washing machine and dryer) was very good. What was annoying to me - I booked this room since they claimed free Wifi - was that the AT&T Wifi is working very poorly. It took very long most the time to connect to the internet, several times it didn't work at all. Asking the staff for help resulted in providing me the AT&T service number... At the end I would say that the stay was ok but the value was not optimal. The price was some what too high for what we got.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill and reachable with a longer drive for those of you looking for a $$$ but very nice dinner Merriman's in Waimea

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Megan and CK
    Business
    San Francisco, CA
    Feb 11, 2013

    Just OK hotel, great location

    Our room hasn't been renovated like some on the property. It was a bit old-feeling, but spacious. The area around the hotel is our favorite on the island, though: quiet, excellent weather, and near many cultural monuments.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    traveler tonda
    Business
    Ohio
    Apr 19, 2013

    Big Island holiday.

    Pretty good, hot tubs could of been hotter. A nice stay .Would stay again. Could be undated . Sofa needs a new one. If updated would be pretty good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: In Hotel

    food isn't that great. Would of eaten there more if it would of been better and not so expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    snorkelbaby
    Business
    Mountain View
    Aug 19, 2013

    OK place to stay

    We chose this place as we needed a kitchen (easier with a baby!). The carpets had spots, the bed sagged on one of the sides and we saw 2 dead roaches! What we liked was that the condo was spacious with two full baths and a full kitchen. The staff were pretty friendly and they responded quickly to our requests. The property was also located close to beaches and snorkeling spots and was also close to the downtown.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top