$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
199 reviews
Fantastic resort!

Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has... See full review

  • skier bill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great location that was safe, clean and quiet

Very pleasant stay and I will be back soon. Clean room and grounds and the location was 5 minutes... See full review

  • Weekly warrior
  • Jun 11, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (199)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    83 out of 199
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Room cleanliness:
    4.5
    Hotel staff:
    4.5
    Room comfort:
    4.5
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.5

    95% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Tennis mama of one
    Hawaii
    Jul 24, 2014

    Family getaway

    Great! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Staff was very friendly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    bomb101
    PA
    Jun 19, 2014

    good price for the room

    The room is nice for its price. The location is good. We have the sea view. The pool is really nice.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    the #1 yelp restaurant DA POKE SHAKE.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    skier bill
    wenatchee, wa
    Jun 19, 2014

    Fantastic resort!

    Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has all you need to rest between snorkel dives at the best snorkel site on the big island which is just down the road! Air conditioning was great and for the price, you can't beat it! We only ate out once during our 9 day visit, the supplied kitchen served all our needs, that and the grocery store that was within walking distance. By the way, the beer we left in the fridge is our gift to the cleaning crew which were fantastic! bill

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    get there during low tide, the magic sands beach is great!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Kona Coffee Lover
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA
    Jun 18, 2014

    Nice family resort

    Great location very close to beaches that are great for snorkeling and a shopping center right across the street with everything one might need. Very quiet, beautifully landscaped and well maintained units.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Far Travelers
    Albany, NY
    Jun 17, 2014

    Loved this hotel

    I did a lot of research when looking for a hotel in Kona, and I'm so glad I picked this one. We stayed for 4 nights and I loved this resort. Our room was beautiful and very clean. Its in a good location, close to grocery stores, shopping, coffee shops etc. The staff is also very friendly and helpful! They have an island activities center where they can give you tips on where to go and they can also book all your activities right there. Next door they also have a shop called Splash where you can rent snorkel gear, beach chairs, towels, a cooler and much more which was SO convenient. We rented a car and drove around the whole island so having a cooler was really helpful. There are 2 pools on the grounds and also a security guard on the premises. Each room has a designated parking spot as well which is great since so many places charge additional for parking. Overall, a great experience!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Down Ali'i Drive there are all sorts of restaurants and shops. We had dinner at Huggo's which is on the water and the food was delicious! There was also a really great coffee shop next to Bubba Gump - I cant remember the name but it has coffee and food upstairs and theres an amazing view - Order iced coffee with mac nut syrup, absolutely delicious!!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Skarthik
    Austin, TX
    Feb 23, 2014

    Just fine

    Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, clean room with reasonable amenities. A good place to keep your things while exploring this amazing island, and relaxing after a long day outside.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Skarthik
    Austin, TX
    Jan 10, 2014

    Great place to put your stuff

    Very convenient, located pretty close to the Kona airport. Villa was as promised, spacious and the washer/dryer and kitchen were really useful. Only the wifi was really spotty but not really a big deal while you're busy having a spiritual experience in Hawaii!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Keauhou Shopping Center is right next to the resort and has restaurants and a big supermarket, really helped that that stuff was always nearby!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    LAHawaiian
    Los Angeles, CA
    Jan 9, 2014

    Kona Resort Great For Families

    My family had a wonderful time staying at the Kona Coast Resort and we would highly recommend to our friends and family. Nice staff and the hotel is near everything.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Beaches

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    From N.Jersey part of NY
    Hillsdale, NJ
    Aug 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    Just got back from our stay in Kona Coast Resort. We had such a good time. The staff was friendly, courteous and very available. The condo was clean and roomy and comfortable. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. No complaints, except it did not have it's own beach, but it was a quick drive. Sorry to be back home.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    snorkelbaby
    Mountain View
    Aug 19, 2013

    OK place to stay

    We chose this place as we needed a kitchen (easier with a baby!). The carpets had spots, the bed sagged on one of the sides and we saw 2 dead roaches! What we liked was that the condo was spacious with two full baths and a full kitchen. The staff were pretty friendly and they responded quickly to our requests. The property was also located close to beaches and snorkeling spots and was also close to the downtown.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Back to menu Return to top