$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
128 reviews
Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well... See full review

  • Neighbor Island Resident
  • Aug 17, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has... See full review

  • skier bill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (128)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    128 out of 128
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Fremont
    Dec 30, 2008

    Family friendly

    We liked the location of Knoa Coast Resort as it was outside the downtown area but not too far if we wanted to go to the downtown area. It was easily accessible from highways 19 and 11 but relying too heavily on GPS caused us to miss the easy access to highway 11 (which starts around the shopping center above this resort). Rooms were decent and had washer, dryer, microwave, dish washer and ironing facility.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Longs Drug store, Super Stores and Movie theater

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    jGuy's Girl
    Washington State
    Jan 20, 2013

    Retirement getaway

    The Resort was alittle dated but was well taken care of. The staff was great and the resort is very Beautiful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Take alot of Tours. They are great!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    trainer Jeff
    McKinleyville, CA
    May 26, 2010

    Kona Coast Vacation

    This resort is exceptionally well maintained and the landscaping was beautiful. Close to Keauhou Shopping Center for dining groceries and movies, and right on Alii Drive which provides access to several Farmers Markets. Fitness room could use some upgrading / equipment repair. The pineapple furniture [bed posts & chairs] is sharp so be carefull

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Farmers Markets that offer a wide variety of fresh fruit and other produce are just a short drive away.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Washington, DC
    Jun 6, 2010

    Great price, location for family getaway

    The resort is well maintained. The rooms are spacious, clean and very well equiped (full kitchen, washer/dryer). Very close to Keauhou Shopping Center. The only thing missing is the beach access, but there are good beaches around.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    troyden
    iowa
    Jul 18, 2009

    absolutely beautiful resort

    we spent 10 days here. absolutely wonderful experience. we will definately stay here again!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    the resort had all the information we needed and we were able to get discounts for different activities right there.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    CoastieMomof2
    Juneau, AK
    Dec 17, 2012

    Great place at a great deal!

    We stayed here with our two kids and had a fabulous time. All of the condos have either a water view or golf course view. We had a ground floor unit which was perfect for us because the kids could run around in the grass and play ball and tag. They have gas grills, plus an herb garden for guest use. There's a nice view of the ocean from the pool and hot tub, and a pool side bar and restaraunt for drinks and food. Quiet, relaxing and clean. I highly recommend it!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Load up at the Costco for your groceries on the first day. Also, gas at Costco is 40 cents per gallon cheaper than other stations. It's only 1 mile from the airport, so fill up your rental car there before returning it!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    MLG
    O'ahu
    Sep 30, 2009

    Amazing Home Away From Home!!

    It was my birthday weekend and I came to the Big Island to take a 2-day class. I wanted something that felt like my own place, somewhere spacious, quiet, comfortable and clean and I received all of that and more. I wish that I was able to stay a lot longer and when I come back, I'm going to choose this place again and bring my whole family. It's a beautiful and peaceful place, has everything you need. It's located very close to many great restaurants, Longs, groceries stores, in case you want to prepare your own meal in it's fully equipped full size kitchen.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    None

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    skier bill
    wenatchee, wa
    Jun 19, 2014

    Fantastic resort!

    Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has all you need to rest between snorkel dives at the best snorkel site on the big island which is just down the road! Air conditioning was great and for the price, you can't beat it! We only ate out once during our 9 day visit, the supplied kitchen served all our needs, that and the grocery store that was within walking distance. By the way, the beer we left in the fridge is our gift to the cleaning crew which were fantastic! bill

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    get there during low tide, the magic sands beach is great!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    HemmingWay
    Valdez, AK
    Jan 14, 2013

    Wow! What a treat!

    We had to wait a bit for our room, but WE were early. They still had us in an hour before the 4 pm check in time. Thank you! The room was a dream. Free wifi in the room via ATT service. Beautiful and quiet and we got a great price! Made our last night in Kona a great memory! Thank you!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Don't forget to visit Da Poke Shack. Great Poke! Also Konichi's just up the hill from Kona Coast resort had a great Happy Hour menu!

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Springfield, IL
    Jun 20, 2009

    Fantastic family getaway

    Great location from which to tour the entire island. Great location to eat and shop in Kona. Very friendly, helpful, accommodating staff. Fun place to stay. Rooms and grounds very well cared for. Always felt safe there. Having a safe in the room was a very nice feature.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Kona was a great place to eat, shop, or just walk around.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Change search