$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
134 reviews
honeymoon

this resort is the best. first time to the big island is was great!! See full review

  • Super Lola
  • Oct 23, 2014
Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well... See full review

  • Neighbor Island Resident
  • Aug 17, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (134)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    134 out of 134
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Missing Paradise
    Business
    columbus, oh
    May 23, 2010

    close and convenient

    Condo very close to all the main excitement

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    May 19, 2010

    Great location, quiet, etc..

    My family and I loved Kona Coast located at the end of Alii Dr. away from the noise of town. Short drive to Wallmart, Big Island is really big so prepare yourself to drive to get to white sand beaches, snorkle near by beach 1 mile away..stay away from White sand beach 2 miles away my husband got hit by a wave almost went to the ER. Green sand beach-go as early as possible to avoid sun about 4 miles walk in bad terrain bring plenty of water. Hilo side is amazing, but make sure to spend 1 or 2 nights on that side. Mauna Kea beach is great, but the hotel only allows 40 cars per day. Snorkle w/manta rays we did booked thru sunlight excurssions and snorkle with captain zodiac. Royal Kona resort has a Luau for 1 hr, which it was ok but not as good as Germaines in Honolulu. Big island is different but unique. Overall Kona coast is great never had any problems, we saved some money by eating brk-fst and buying water in Wallmart and farmers market.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    Great place, great staff, easy access to town, short distance from Kona airport about 25 min. If you want to experience Big Island get ready to drive, walk, and Hike..this island is very unique and is different from congested Honolulu or relaxed Maui.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Maja
    Business
    San Diego, CA
    May 19, 2010

    Nice and relaxing + good location

    The Kona Coast Resort is a great hotel for couples and families. The condos are roomy and have a fully equipped kitchen. Which safes you a lot of money since you can cook your own meals (even though the prices for groceries are pretty high!). The staff was very friendly and always helpful. It is conveniently located on Alii Dr. so it's not too far from the small shops and fairs. The only thing missing was the access to the beach. You can get to the cliffs if you walk across the golf course, but there is no beach area connected to the hotel. For nice sand beaches you have to consider a 15-25 min drive up north. A rental car is necessary here, so that you can get around. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Instead of buying groceries at the KTA supermarket which is across from the hotel, I would suggest to drive to the Walmart (Henry St.) which is also not too far away. You can get essentials for about half the price. For fresh fruit and veggies check out the farmers markets.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    buffalo ny
    Mar 18, 2010

    "Unbeatable location for the price"

    within distance of everything, but far enough to avoid noise and traffic

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    San Francisco,Ca
    Feb 7, 2010

    relaxing getaway

    Definally need a car. Enjoyed the location of the hotel. Would divide my trip with two locations of this island Kona and Hilo.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    New York City
    Jan 16, 2010

    Great value condos on quiet grounds

    We're a 27 yo couple, no kids. We've traveled pretty extensively - from jungle homes in Costa Rica to lux hotels on the Amalfi coast, so I give Kona Coast Resort 4 stars an a RELATIVE scale, particularly since the price was so questionable (in a good way). We've never booked a "package" vacation before, but a few days before wanting to get out of NYC we figured we'd see how much Kona would cost. [...] That all being said, we were VERY happy with the resort. As long as you want a condo experience (do your own food shopping, make your bed, etc.) it was perfect. I read a lot of complaints about housekeeping, and they did only come once in a week, but what do you expect from a condo at this price point!?! If you're not messy people, it's not an issue. The location was great - on the end of a coastal road but within 10 minutes from grocery stores (and even a Walmart) so stocking up on food was fast and cheap. However if you want to walk to nightlife it'd be a bit of a walk - def plan to drive everywhere. Tennis courts were decent, but we never spent a day by the pool since we would drive to random beaches (great ones were 20-45 min north, depending on your prefs). Our biggest complaint was the VERY dated decor and carpets - why they have carpets in a beach resort is strange, and they def had a funky odor at times...but we got some fabreeze and got over it :) Also, we thought our place was dated until we saw Phase 1 units...you MUST be sure you're at a Phase 2. So, overall, it was a great condo-stay FOR THE PRICE (which we estimate to have been less than a hundred/night given the cost of airfare and SUV rental). Oh, and we 100% avoided any time-share stuff/gimmicks - not worth a free bag of coffee or food discount in our minds :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Greenwell Farms was a cool Kona coffee tour (more than just coffee trees). Hapuna State Park was the best sand-bottom beach within a reasonable distance (A-bay was NOT nice) and Makalawena Beach is a MUST if you don't mind a 25 min drive and a 20 min hike over lava rock (but there's paths).

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Delta, BC
    Jan 11, 2010

    Great Family Spot

    Great spot. We needed a kitchen since one of us is Celiac. KTA Grocery close by. A great value for families.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Kona - Farmers market Wed - Sunday. Best prices and selection for fruits and veggies.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Janet and Ellis
    Business
    Washington State
    Jan 9, 2010

    Kona, Hawaii

    The Hotel was great and very friendly staff. The grounds were beautiful Great location, excellent room and view. Toured the island, went whale watching.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Loves Travel
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Dec 28, 2009

    Vacation with kids

    We wanted to take a break from the grind with our 2 kids and this place was perfect for that ! The resort is very conveniently located close to Highway 11, there is a shopping complex a hop, skip and jump away for all essential groceries, a few restaurants and a movie theater. The resort itself has 2 pools, a restaurant, close to a golf course - very nice location. Its a 10 minute drive from downtown Kona - but we liked being away from it all - yet close enough to the action if we wanted to be there. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa which has a decent sized bedroom, 2 bathrooms and sofa sleeper in the living room. We have 2 children under the age of 10 - so that worked out fine for us. The kitchen was adequately equipped. We could see the ocean from between the buildings in front of us - I guess that is what they meant by "ocean view"!! There is no beach off the property - although it is walking distance from a beach - the water seemed very rough from where we could see it and we didn't actually go there. There are plenty of calmer beaches on Ali'i drive for small kids to play with so it wasn't a problem for us. The resort provided soaps but no shampoos, shower caps which we thought was odd - but it wasn't an issue to us. Overall - a great quiet, convenient place if you are looking for a holiday. I would definitely recommend it to anybody and look forward to returning there soon.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Oregon
    Dec 17, 2009

    You can do better if you shop.

    Initially our intake person was a young man who was rude and uninterested. For example I asked him where the closest surf beach was and his response was "I don't surf". No other help offered. There was a great little surfing/snorkling beach a half mile from the condo site. The rooms were noisy however we were placed near the road. The noise was considerable from the traffic at night and early morning so if you stay here check that out and don't let them pawn you off near the road. The internet only worked about half the time which if you need that for activities presented a problem. Moreover we were told they had internet but you then get to pay $9.95 a day for it. I spent about two hours of my vacation just dealing with the disfunctional internet which the Kona Coast people abdicated any responsibility for. They turfed it you AT&T.They also fail to tell you that if you want/need air conditioning you get to pay extra for it. I did not use it but if you need it you will pay extra. They give you a special little key to start the clock running if you want to be cooler then ~80-85 degrees which was a typical afternoon room temperature. The food in the on site restaurant was average. Bottom line if you shop you will do better.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

    nice beach for learning surfers as well as other water sports and would be good for kids only one half mile from the condo site. of course there are other closer facilities

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top