$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
132 reviews
Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well... See full review

  • Neighbor Island Resident
  • Aug 17, 2014
Fantastic resort!

Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has... See full review

  • skier bill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (132)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    132 out of 132
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    rajesh
    sunnyvale, california
    May 24, 2012

    Great Resort

    Liked quite a lot of things about this place. 1. We got a ocean view room. 2. very comfortable clean bed 3. full kitchen with all facilities 4. clean swimming pool, they supply beach towels as many times as you want. Can rent quite a lot of other gear as well 5. Keaheau market is nearby, walking distance. Supermarket has all the stuff should you decide to cook. Ok, for some negatives. 1. location is good, our Garmin gave us a hard time

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Keaheau village is just a short walk away

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    new york, ny
    Jan 7, 2011

    friends trip

    everything was perfect. only missing was a beach access.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    maybe not a short drive (2h), but the volcano national park was great.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Bad Howie
    Business
    Indianapolis
    Dec 31, 2010

    Krazy on Kona

    We spent 10 full days on the Big Island.The Kona Coast Resort was wonderful. We were in the newer section. Some "veterans" we talked to said they were nicer than the older section. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We liked the location...surrounded by a golf course with sight lines to the ocean. Ours was an active vacation. These are the things that we did (after much research)Swam and snorkeled with 15 dolphins at "two step" (place of refuge). They swam right up to us and by us. We did the Manta dive, the most incredible dive we'd ever done (we even saw a pod of whales on the way). We went with Honu Diving, which had personal attention and a small boat (not like the bigger groups). We did the 2 tank Reef Dive and then Manta Dive. [...]took us to the perfect site to witness the unbelievable, huge, beautiful creatures We hiked to the green sand beach, a 4 mile hike to an incredibly shaped green "mini valley". On the way to the green beach we went by South Point, the southern most point in the USA. We visited the black sand beach, where turtles are everywhere and there are lots of great tidal pool adventures.We hiked to the waterfalls on the east side (rainbow falls and akaka falls), and visited the amazing Banyon trees in Hilo. We hiked down to the black sand beach at Waipo Valley, running into wild horses on the way. It is very steep for a mile down and back up. We hiked up to the telescopes from the visitor's center at Mauna Kea (from 9200 feet to 13,800 feet, taking 4 hours up...very cold at the top, but worth it for the views...we were offered, and accepted, a ride down when it looked like an inversion-rain- coming)We hiked in volcano national park (the IKI trail, a four mile trail that goes across a huge caldera)We saw the Lava flow at night from Kalapani (from a distance), and the Thurston Lava tube (bring flashlights)We snorkeled at Captain Cook -Kealakekua Bay-(hiking the 3 miles down from a trail on the right about 100 feet after the turnoff from highway 11 - it is marked (painted) on the road.We spent an hour at sunset at Hapuna beach, north of kona (extremely beautiful beach with surfing, snorkling, etc.We also snorkeled at Kahaluu Beach Park. It was a little crowded for our tastes, but had a wide variety of fish, with surfing close by.We ate at a great Thai family restaurant in Hilo, by the banyon trees, named "Sombats"The only thing on our list we did not do was the botanical gardens by Hilo.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    nanaimo,bc
    Nov 22, 2010

    nice

    grreat beaches within 30 min

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

    lots of great beaches all within 30 min

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Winnipeg Canada
    Oct 23, 2010

    Very, very, very good hotel and location

    The Hotel was top notch and location fantastic and for the price I don't think you can beat it. The Hotel staff were friendly and very informative and were able to assist us in planning our daily travels. Didn't eat at the Hotel but bet it would be good as well. The amenities were abundant...shuffle board, tennis, pools and jacuzzis, beach towels and snorkling gear are offered. There are communal barbeques on the properties and the rooms are decked out. Did have a few hickups as well...our room wasn't ready when we arrived and not until around 4:30PM...and the water in the en suite shower and bathroom sink wouldn't drain properly..we did mention it in leaving and would think they will have that fixed toots sweet. One other annowing thing was the cleaning staff never did our room, but we were there for only three nights ...so it wasn't a huge problem as there were more than enough clean towels in the room for the three nights there. The property is well managed and would stay there again for sure. Thanks [...] Kona Coast Resort for a fantastic finish to a wonderful holiday !!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Well it was about a 45 minute drive to Roy's Waikoloa Bar and Grill...just north of the Kona Airport...but the trip is worth it. The food was the best Asian fusion we ever have had. The staff very helpful in picking out exactly what you might want and had insider tips on the way it should be cooked...fish was on our menu that night...to perfection...if you don't go...you missed out on something for sure. Even the manager came by two or three times during the meal to ask how things were...and the waiters and staff were always at your fingertips...you never need to ask for water...ever...trick is to not drink so much because they are forever filling your glasses with ice water. Go for it...it's more than worth it !!!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Would do it again
    Business
    Maryland
    Oct 19, 2010

    Great place for the price

    Great place that is a close drive to everything.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Safeway is up the road a bit and has much better prices (and fresh produce) then the groceries around the resort.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Captnbly
    Business
    Albany, OR
    Sep 27, 2010

    10 Days in Kona

    Our room was super clean and roomy. My GF thought she saw a gecko in the room, but I never saw it...and it is Hawaii. The amenties were great, the pools were close by and very well kept. The room was just a little noisy, but I'm sure that was just our neighbors, so everyones experience will vary. I would highly recommend this resort to stay.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Royal Kona for Happy hour 4-6 daily. Use your Best of the Big Island book, most restaraunts with ONO's are great. We ate at Lulu's...not to happy with their service, but could have just been the day we were there. If you are driving to Hilo from Kona, go the route to the north, not only quicker but prettier. Check out the City of Arches...bring water if the sun is shining.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Akangel
    Business
    Homer, Alaska
    Sep 13, 2010

    A very nice trip

    This was our first trip to the Big Island. After reading the reviews of the Kona Coast Resort, we decided to give it a try. The place was huge and very well manicured. We were in phase one, the older part of the property. The villa was large, roomy, and very clean. We had a view of the smaller pool. Even though we were close to the road, we did not hear much road noise. The resort is close to some nice beaches.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    California City, CA
    Jul 22, 2010

    Spectacular Visit

    PERFECT place to stay in Kona. One block from groceries, restaurants, urgent care, movie theater, pharmacy, etc. Thought we were staying in a small motel room only to find these are 1/2-bedroom villas with full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, living room and dining area and clothes washer/dryer in each villa. The entire staff was awesome. Parking is FREE. Pools are great. Highly recommend buying groceries and making meals (prepared meals/food are expensive). Very easy to locate (right off hwy). Luaus and beaches are short drive down the road. Incredible value for the money! You won't be disappointed!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    jjf
    Business
    Fort Collins, CO
    Jul 14, 2010

    Excellent resort but weather iffy

    Rooms are great, location is good but the weather is cloudy every afternoon. If you want a quite and restfull place this is it. We used the pool during the mormning and went out to other areas in the afternoon. It was great for our needs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    1
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    JJ2x101
    Business
    California
    Jul 8, 2010

    Summer stay at Kona Coast Resort

    From check-in to picking up the pool towels to having a clean room daily, the service was outstanding.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    The shopping center about a block away has a grocery, a post office, a pharmacy, and several specialty shops.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top