$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Best condo in Big Island

Kona is not good place to travel in Big island. Because many attraction points are near Hilo. But... See full review

  • Young
  • Jan 12, 2015
AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE

Kona Coast Resort is a home away from home. It has all the necessary amenities to ensure you will... See full review

  • Darlene
  • Jan 9, 2015
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (139)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    139 out of 139
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.3

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    The Slick's
    Mt.Airy,Maryland
    Feb 2, 2012

    Would recommend staying to everyone it was great

    It was very ciean and quiet.The rooms were big. everything you need was there except for the food. But their is a restarant in the resort if you don't want to cook. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Albuquerque
    Feb 6, 2011

    Kona Coast Resort

    Our fourth stay at the KCR, and we've always been impressed with the accomodations for the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Quinn's Almost by the Sea

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Des Moines, IA
    Jan 17, 2011

    A Great Place At A Great Price

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location and facilities were great. Didn't spend as much time at the resort as we would like to because we were busy sightseeing on the Island.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    See the Tropical Gardens in Hilo. It was the best attractions for $15 on the Island.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Retied
    Business
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Jan 15, 2011

    Somewhat Disappointed

    The resort was built over a number of years in phases and we had an older unit in Phase I. These older units are large and comfortable but ours was very dated. One disappointment was that our view from the lanai was the parking lot and other buildings. I'd spend more money to have a nicer view. The other disappointment was that I had to spend a lot of time recuperating from a back injury and requested a one or two-hour extension on a very early (10 am) checkout. The management was rigid--totally inflexible even though I was under the care of a doctor. I've never encountered that degree of rigidity and unresponsiveness to consumer needs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Very nice shopping center across the street with several dining and other options.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    south dakota
    Jan 14, 2011

    beautiful getaway

    We would definitely recommend this resort, it was extremely well kept inside and out! The condo was very roomy and comfortable. The atmosphere was amazing! We loved Kona, Hawaii!! The only thing we would have liked to have would be an ocean view from our room. Some rooms did have that available though. It was quiet and we felt safe there. It was a little bit of a drive to the tourist shops, but not too bad. There were activities available on site, we just didn't have much time to enjoy them. We thought the pool was bigger according to the travel agent's photos and descriptions.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ultrarunner
    Business
    Boudler, CO
    Jan 13, 2011

    Reviews are Right

    The overwhelming positive reviews on this accomodation are deserved. Clean, spacious, good staff and a great bargain.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    We avoided the tours there are plenty of ways to create your own Adventures and they are more meaningful.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    California
    Jan 13, 2011

    Good value

    Nice location, ocean view, old style TV, uncomfortable living room furnitue, small soaps and no shampoo in bathroom, full well equiped kitchen, large patio and large rooms.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    restuarents near shopping center

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Portland, OR
    Jan 13, 2011

    Great Value for the Price

    Centrally located, comfortable and well appointed. Like staying in a fully outfitted apartment. Last redecoration was probably a few years ago but the facilities and furnishings are very well kept up. I'd say everything was tiptop, kitchen was fully equipped down to mixing bowls and baking sheets. Couldn't be happier. Only the TV was older (not flat screen). But in Hawaii who cares about TV!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is a shopping center 5 minutes away where you can get everything you need. Even has a modest farmers market.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Sugarbeatt
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA
    Jan 9, 2011

    Second blissful stay! Great for families

    2nd stay -- everything was great, clean, spacious, well-equipped condo with everything we needed. Best thing about the resort was the amazing gracious service. When we said the DVD player wasn't working well they immediately replaced it with a brand new one. Great for a family with small children. One quibble -- the hot tub could be hotter! Would definitely return again, and try for a unit closer to pool with ocean view -- easier in the off-season.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Prices at the Cocoanut open air market place on Alii Drive just inside town cheaper for souvenirs than anywhere else.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    new york, ny
    Jan 7, 2011

    friends trip

    everything was perfect. only missing was a beach access.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

    maybe not a short drive (2h), but the volcano national park was great.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Bad Howie
    Business
    Indianapolis
    Dec 31, 2010

    Krazy on Kona

    We spent 10 full days on the Big Island.The Kona Coast Resort was wonderful. We were in the newer section. Some "veterans" we talked to said they were nicer than the older section. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We liked the location...surrounded by a golf course with sight lines to the ocean. Ours was an active vacation. These are the things that we did (after much research)Swam and snorkeled with 15 dolphins at "two step" (place of refuge). They swam right up to us and by us. We did the Manta dive, the most incredible dive we'd ever done (we even saw a pod of whales on the way). We went with Honu Diving, which had personal attention and a small boat (not like the bigger groups). We did the 2 tank Reef Dive and then Manta Dive. [...]took us to the perfect site to witness the unbelievable, huge, beautiful creatures We hiked to the green sand beach, a 4 mile hike to an incredibly shaped green "mini valley". On the way to the green beach we went by South Point, the southern most point in the USA. We visited the black sand beach, where turtles are everywhere and there are lots of great tidal pool adventures.We hiked to the waterfalls on the east side (rainbow falls and akaka falls), and visited the amazing Banyon trees in Hilo. We hiked down to the black sand beach at Waipo Valley, running into wild horses on the way. It is very steep for a mile down and back up. We hiked up to the telescopes from the visitor's center at Mauna Kea (from 9200 feet to 13,800 feet, taking 4 hours up...very cold at the top, but worth it for the views...we were offered, and accepted, a ride down when it looked like an inversion-rain- coming)We hiked in volcano national park (the IKI trail, a four mile trail that goes across a huge caldera)We saw the Lava flow at night from Kalapani (from a distance), and the Thurston Lava tube (bring flashlights)We snorkeled at Captain Cook -Kealakekua Bay-(hiking the 3 miles down from a trail on the right about 100 feet after the turnoff from highway 11 - it is marked (painted) on the road.We spent an hour at sunset at Hapuna beach, north of kona (extremely beautiful beach with surfing, snorkling, etc.We also snorkeled at Kahaluu Beach Park. It was a little crowded for our tastes, but had a wide variety of fish, with surfing close by.We ate at a great Thai family restaurant in Hilo, by the banyon trees, named "Sombats"The only thing on our list we did not do was the botanical gardens by Hilo.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top