$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gray man
Business
Montana
May 22, 2011

100%

It was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort restaurent was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark and Allison
Business
San Diego, CA
May 15, 2011

Fantastic Deal!

We booked this hotel as a package, so we got a great deal on it. We weren't really expecting a great hotel with how cheap it was in comparison to other hotels we saw but we were really blown away. We said more than once it seemed like a second honeymoon. When we checked in (which wasn't even until about 5pm) we did have to wait a few hours for our room, but it wasn't a huge deal since we went over to the restaurant where they had live music and got dinner. Our room had a beautiful ocean view, even though there is no real beach to speak of at the resort... this seems to be a common problem for the island in general. Over, great hotel, we would certainly come back if we return to the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque
Feb 6, 2011

Kona Coast Resort

Our fourth stay at the KCR, and we've always been impressed with the accomodations for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Quinn's Almost by the Sea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jan 17, 2011

A Great Place At A Great Price

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location and facilities were great. Didn't spend as much time at the resort as we would like to because we were busy sightseeing on the Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

See the Tropical Gardens in Hilo. It was the best attractions for $15 on the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Retied
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jan 15, 2011

Somewhat Disappointed

The resort was built over a number of years in phases and we had an older unit in Phase I. These older units are large and comfortable but ours was very dated. One disappointment was that our view from the lanai was the parking lot and other buildings. I'd spend more money to have a nicer view. The other disappointment was that I had to spend a lot of time recuperating from a back injury and requested a one or two-hour extension on a very early (10 am) checkout. The management was rigid--totally inflexible even though I was under the care of a doctor. I've never encountered that degree of rigidity and unresponsiveness to consumer needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Very nice shopping center across the street with several dining and other options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south dakota
Jan 14, 2011

beautiful getaway

We would definitely recommend this resort, it was extremely well kept inside and out! The condo was very roomy and comfortable. The atmosphere was amazing! We loved Kona, Hawaii!! The only thing we would have liked to have would be an ocean view from our room. Some rooms did have that available though. It was quiet and we felt safe there. It was a little bit of a drive to the tourist shops, but not too bad. There were activities available on site, we just didn't have much time to enjoy them. We thought the pool was bigger according to the travel agent's photos and descriptions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ultrarunner
Business
Boudler, CO
Jan 13, 2011

Reviews are Right

The overwhelming positive reviews on this accomodation are deserved. Clean, spacious, good staff and a great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We avoided the tours there are plenty of ways to create your own Adventures and they are more meaningful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 13, 2011

Good value

Nice location, ocean view, old style TV, uncomfortable living room furnitue, small soaps and no shampoo in bathroom, full well equiped kitchen, large patio and large rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

restuarents near shopping center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 13, 2011

Great Value for the Price

Centrally located, comfortable and well appointed. Like staying in a fully outfitted apartment. Last redecoration was probably a few years ago but the facilities and furnishings are very well kept up. I'd say everything was tiptop, kitchen was fully equipped down to mixing bowls and baking sheets. Couldn't be happier. Only the TV was older (not flat screen). But in Hawaii who cares about TV!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center 5 minutes away where you can get everything you need. Even has a modest farmers market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sugarbeatt
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2011

Second blissful stay! Great for families

2nd stay -- everything was great, clean, spacious, well-equipped condo with everything we needed. Best thing about the resort was the amazing gracious service. When we said the DVD player wasn't working well they immediately replaced it with a brand new one. Great for a family with small children. One quibble -- the hot tub could be hotter! Would definitely return again, and try for a unit closer to pool with ocean view -- easier in the off-season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Prices at the Cocoanut open air market place on Alii Drive just inside town cheaper for souvenirs than anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top