$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rajesh
sunnyvale, california
May 24, 2012

Great Resort

Liked quite a lot of things about this place. 1. We got a ocean view room. 2. very comfortable clean bed 3. full kitchen with all facilities 4. clean swimming pool, they supply beach towels as many times as you want. Can rent quite a lot of other gear as well 5. Keaheau market is nearby, walking distance. Supermarket has all the stuff should you decide to cook. Ok, for some negatives. 1. location is good, our Garmin gave us a hard time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Keaheau village is just a short walk away

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eugene R.
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 25, 2013

No complains, very satisfied.

While our stay two things happend: 1. Waste disposer plumbing burst open. 2. Found a cockroach in the kitchen. I both cases the staff acted promptly and efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is Costco not far from the hotel. They carry local food specialties not found in any other Costco. Also try the pineapples! Inexpensive and delicious.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jGuy's Girl
Business
Washington State
Jan 20, 2013

Retirement getaway

The Resort was alittle dated but was well taken care of. The staff was great and the resort is very Beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take alot of Tours. They are great!

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HemmingWay
Business
Valdez, AK
Jan 14, 2013

Wow! What a treat!

We had to wait a bit for our room, but WE were early. They still had us in an hour before the 4 pm check in time. Thank you! The room was a dream. Free wifi in the room via ATT service. Beautiful and quiet and we got a great price! Made our last night in Kona a great memory! Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't forget to visit Da Poke Shack. Great Poke! Also Konichi's just up the hill from Kona Coast resort had a great Happy Hour menu!

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisHD
Business
Heidelberg, Deutschland
Jan 12, 2013

The stay was Ok

Our stay at the Kona Coast Resort was ok. The large facility is surrounded by a golf course so that you can not access the coast line. There is no beach but it would be nice if there would be a pathway so that one could have a seat at the shore line. Rooms are nice and very clean. The fully equipped kitchen (including dish washer, washing machine and dryer) was very good. What was annoying to me - I booked this room since they claimed free Wifi - was that the AT&T Wifi is working very poorly. It took very long most the time to connect to the internet, several times it didn't work at all. Asking the staff for help resulted in providing me the AT&T service number... At the end I would say that the stay was ok but the value was not optimal. The price was some what too high for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill and reachable with a longer drive for those of you looking for a $$$ but very nice dinner Merriman's in Waimea

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CoastieMomof2
Business
Juneau, AK
Dec 17, 2012

Great place at a great deal!

We stayed here with our two kids and had a fabulous time. All of the condos have either a water view or golf course view. We had a ground floor unit which was perfect for us because the kids could run around in the grass and play ball and tag. They have gas grills, plus an herb garden for guest use. There's a nice view of the ocean from the pool and hot tub, and a pool side bar and restaraunt for drinks and food. Quiet, relaxing and clean. I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Load up at the Costco for your groceries on the first day. Also, gas at Costco is 40 cents per gallon cheaper than other stations. It's only 1 mile from the airport, so fill up your rental car there before returning it!

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pegann
Business
Lexington, Ky
Dec 6, 2012

Sweet dreams at the beach

Very spacious, super helpful staff. Nice and private but great location for heading out to sites! Every Monday is a welcoming party out on lawn with golf course in front of ocean view! Loved everything about this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to anything!

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuiz
Business
kapolei, hawaii
Nov 12, 2012

staycation

Only stayed one night but it was a great deal for the room. Hard to beat the price that we got when you compare it to other hotels. However this place had a lot of older people, so be prepared to deal with some complaining. The room itself was a little outdated, the appliances need to be updated and the wall paper was from the 90's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lulu's on Ali'I drive

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waterlove
Business
Castro valley ,ca
Oct 25, 2012

Location and Cleanliness

Wonderful location. Quiet and easy access to local snorkeling beach. Friendly accommodating staff. Minimal ocean views available by condos , however wonderful paved path along golf Kurds over looking the majestic ocean available to stroll day and night safely and easily . Love the Adult quiet pool- called Serenity Pool. Condo living was great here! Close to farmers market and local Grocery store for all needs- make meals in your own condo - special. Parking plentiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Saturday Farmers Market Support the local people Better prices than in store Fun too!

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandals
Business
San Diego
Oct 22, 2012

Relaxing getaway

Great & friendly service! Condo was very spacious. Great value.Beautiful ocean view from resort. Quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great value at Walmart for almost everything you need.

Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winter getaway
Business
Nevada
Apr 7, 2012

Spring 2012

The condo was typical. We didn't have an ocean view, but they were willing to re-locate us if we wanted. Very full occupancy. Staff was helpful when we contacted them. The location was great, very central to all our activities. Our air condtioning came with the deal, but otherwise you have to pay daily for the use of the air. One thing, the housekeepers did not give us any new soap, so by the end of 10 days, it was pretty sparse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling is gret in several near by locations.

Back to menu Return to top