$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
197 reviews
Fantastic resort!

Sure, it's not the Hilton, but you also don't pay for all the extras of a Hilton. This Resort has... See full review

  • skier bill
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great location that was safe, clean and quiet

Very pleasant stay and I will be back soon. Clean room and grounds and the location was 5 minutes... See full review

  • Weekly warrior
  • Jun 11, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (197)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    197 out of 197
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    The Slick's
    Mt.Airy,Maryland
    Feb 2, 2012

    Would recommend staying to everyone it was great

    It was very ciean and quiet.The rooms were big. everything you need was there except for the food. But their is a restarant in the resort if you don't want to cook. Staff was friendly and helpfull.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Kona H
    Palm Springs, CA, USA
    Sep 22, 2011

    Very Good Place to Stay

    The handicapped room was excellent. The bathroom and shower was very nicely built to accomodate the handicapped. The Condo was clean and very quiet. The location was away from town that the streets were not havily traveled. Would stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Very close to a shopping center.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Kona H
    Palm Springs, CA, USA
    Sep 22, 2011

    Very Good Place to Stay

    The handicapped room was excellent. The bathroom and shower was very nicely built to accomodate the handicapped. The Condo was clean and very quiet. The location was away from town that the streets were not havily traveled. Would stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Very close to a shopping center.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Cindy Lou Who
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Sep 17, 2011

    Wonderful place to stay

    Great location south of the heart of Kona. Fantastic Kahaluu Beach just down the road for great snorkeling and surfing. Close to shopping and convenient access yet far enough off the main road to be quiet. Not right on the water but ocean view in the distance. Spacious and clean condos with fully equipped kitchen. All appliances, TVs etc. worked well. Highly recommend.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Keahou shopping center just up the hill has farmer's market on Sat. morning and also a grocery store, drug store, post office and other nice shops.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    fuzed
    Washington, DC, USA
    Aug 28, 2011

    Great

    Staff was great, maybe one slip up w towels/ bedding. Much better than expected. Excellent development, the room was awesome.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Plan well, much driving involved if you don't plan on staying in the 5 mile area. Road repair seems to slow you down pretty often also.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    fuzed
    Washington, DC, USA
    Aug 28, 2011

    Great

    Staff was great, maybe one slip up w towels/ bedding. Much better than expected. Excellent development, the room was awesome.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Plan well, much driving involved if you don't plan on staying in the 5 mile area. Road repair seems to slow you down pretty often also.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    gray man
    Montana
    May 22, 2011

    100%

    It was great

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The resort restaurent was very good

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    gray man
    Montana
    May 22, 2011

    100%

    It was great

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The resort restaurent was very good

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mark and Allison
    San Diego, CA
    May 15, 2011

    Fantastic Deal!

    We booked this hotel as a package, so we got a great deal on it. We weren't really expecting a great hotel with how cheap it was in comparison to other hotels we saw but we were really blown away. We said more than once it seemed like a second honeymoon. When we checked in (which wasn't even until about 5pm) we did have to wait a few hours for our room, but it wasn't a huge deal since we went over to the restaurant where they had live music and got dinner. Our room had a beautiful ocean view, even though there is no real beach to speak of at the resort... this seems to be a common problem for the island in general. Over, great hotel, we would certainly come back if we return to the Big Island.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mark and Allison
    San Diego, CA
    May 15, 2011

    Fantastic Deal!

    We booked this hotel as a package, so we got a great deal on it. We weren't really expecting a great hotel with how cheap it was in comparison to other hotels we saw but we were really blown away. We said more than once it seemed like a second honeymoon. When we checked in (which wasn't even until about 5pm) we did have to wait a few hours for our room, but it wasn't a huge deal since we went over to the restaurant where they had live music and got dinner. Our room had a beautiful ocean view, even though there is no real beach to speak of at the resort... this seems to be a common problem for the island in general. Over, great hotel, we would certainly come back if we return to the Big Island.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Albuquerque
    Feb 6, 2011

    Kona Coast Resort

    Our fourth stay at the KCR, and we've always been impressed with the accomodations for the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Quinn's Almost by the Sea

    Back to menu Return to top