$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAHawaiian
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 9, 2014

Kona Resort Great For Families

My family had a wonderful time staying at the Kona Coast Resort and we would highly recommend to our friends and family. Nice staff and the hotel is near everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nealeo
Business
Southern FL
Dec 24, 2013

mr

A typical time share property. They do try to sell you, but that is expected. Property is not on the ocean, but close. Sunsets are great. 5 miles to town and the action. 2 hour drive to Volcanoes NP

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kona Brew Co. good pizza and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
From N.Jersey part of NY
Business
Hillsdale, NJ
Aug 28, 2013

Loved it!

Just got back from our stay in Kona Coast Resort. We had such a good time. The staff was friendly, courteous and very available. The condo was clean and roomy and comfortable. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. No complaints, except it did not have it's own beach, but it was a quick drive. Sorry to be back home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snorkelbaby
Business
Mountain View
Aug 19, 2013

OK place to stay

We chose this place as we needed a kitchen (easier with a baby!). The carpets had spots, the bed sagged on one of the sides and we saw 2 dead roaches! What we liked was that the condo was spacious with two full baths and a full kitchen. The staff were pretty friendly and they responded quickly to our requests. The property was also located close to beaches and snorkeling spots and was also close to the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve from CT
Business
Connecticut
Jun 30, 2013

Great Place/Great Price

Like Kona Coast Resort. Location slightly outside of main Kona but no real issues. Close to Sheraton that has Rays at the Bay, a nice stop while in Kona. A bit far from Volcano (93 miles shortest route) but do able.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rays at the Bay where they feed manta rays off the shore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MinTol Just Married
Business
Colorado
Jun 22, 2013

Great Place to Stay!

This is a great place to stay! It was basically a condo. The kitchen had everything (blender, cheese shredder, tea pot, ect... everything). The living room was large and there was a second bathroom with a shower. There was a balcony overlooking the well groomed resort. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were open until 11pm every night so you can relax after a day's adventure on the island. The bed was huge, and the bathroom had lots of mirrors. Overall, it was extremely nice and relaxing. We would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Kahaluu Beach Park from the Kona Coast Resort (10-15 minutes down Alii Drive) to see sea turtles at around 2pm. Also, great snorkeling just a little way out from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce the builder
Business
Hilo, Hawai'i
Jun 4, 2013

Home away from home!

Hands down, one of the greatest 3 star hotels I have ever come across of! My girlfriend and I live in Hilo on the other side of the island and simply wanted to get away for our birthday weekend. This resort was beyond what we expected for the price being. The kitchen was fully stocked, the entire condo was very tidy and clean, the staff was very helpful and it over all felt like home away from home(and then some). Even though it is located a few minutes further away from the busy city, KTA, Longs, a movie theater, restaurants and more is located directly across from the resort. I had a pleasant stay and will definitely come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are tons of options to choose from. The local food is tasty and the prices can't be beat! The food choices range from Hawaiian to Mexican to Italian all over the strip of Ali'i drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ADN11
Business
Mtn View, CA
May 9, 2013

Great for family vacation

We have spent our family vacation at this place for the second time and loved it as much as the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive or 10 min walk to one of the best snorkeling beaches in the area. Also recommended for children -- watching the turtles and fishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler tonda
Business
Ohio
Apr 19, 2013

Big Island holiday.

Pretty good, hot tubs could of been hotter. A nice stay .Would stay again. Could be undated . Sofa needs a new one. If updated would be pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food isn't that great. Would of eaten there more if it would of been better and not so expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMLM
Business
Shreveport, LA
Apr 12, 2013

nice place

It had a condo feel to the place. Enjoyed having a kitchen to save a little on meals. Lovely views from the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top