$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
116 reviews
Loved it!

Just got back from our stay in Kona Coast Resort. We had such a good time. The staff was friendly,... See full review

  • From N.Jersey part of NY
  • Aug 28, 2013
Great Place/Great Price

Like Kona Coast Resort. Location slightly outside of main Kona but no real issues. Close to... See full review

  • Steve from CT
  • Jun 30, 2013
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    19.5741 -155.9662
    Area served
    Keauhou, Hawaii's Big Island, just south of Kailua-Kona town.
    Nearby airports
    Keahole Kona Airport-KOA
    Area description
    Kona Coast Resort is located on the leeward West coast of the Big Island. Five world class golf courses are within a 25 mile radius. Snorkeling, seasonal whale watching and fishing for giant marlin or tuna in the crystalline waters are nearby. The Kona Coast of Hawaii's Big Island features some of the world's best beaches with warm waters all year long.

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (116)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    116 out of 116
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    92% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    Panax1
    Denver, Colorado
    Dec 23, 2011

    Vacation August 2011

    Loaction is perfect, near excellent snokleing beach. Next door to nice Kona Country Club for golfing. Near shopping center.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Many dining options found at shoppinf center across the road from the Kona Coast.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    Anonymous
    Davis, CA, USA
    Oct 8, 2011

    Good place to stay in Kona

    The place is close to Longs and KTA where you can find all you need in terms of groceries and daily needs. You do have to drive to the beach or snorkling places but I do not mind (not a beach front property), the pool is not huge but good enough for the kids to play in. We stayed in 1 bedroom condo which is pleasant, comfortable with well designed floorplan. We have house cleaning service everyday. Staff is courteous and efficient. The third floor is quiet if you do not mind to climb stairs. The landscaping is well manicured, we love the beautiful walk way wrapping around the facility.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Do not go to the timeshare presentation. It does not give you honest information that you need. We had good meals at Boston Basil, LavaJava and enjoy the Farmer's Market that opens everyday in the downtown area (Alii drive)

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    Kona H
    Palm Springs, CA, USA
    Sep 22, 2011

    Very Good Place to Stay

    The handicapped room was excellent. The bathroom and shower was very nicely built to accomodate the handicapped. The Condo was clean and very quiet. The location was away from town that the streets were not havily traveled. Would stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Very close to a shopping center.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    Cindy Lou Who
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Sep 17, 2011

    Wonderful place to stay

    Great location south of the heart of Kona. Fantastic Kahaluu Beach just down the road for great snorkeling and surfing. Close to shopping and convenient access yet far enough off the main road to be quiet. Not right on the water but ocean view in the distance. Spacious and clean condos with fully equipped kitchen. All appliances, TVs etc. worked well. Highly recommend.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    Keahou shopping center just up the hill has farmer's market on Sat. morning and also a grocery store, drug store, post office and other nice shops.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    fuzed
    Washington, DC, USA
    Aug 28, 2011

    Great

    Staff was great, maybe one slip up w towels/ bedding. Much better than expected. Excellent development, the room was awesome.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Plan well, much driving involved if you don't plan on staying in the 5 mile area. Road repair seems to slow you down pretty often also.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    gray man
    Montana
    May 22, 2011

    100%

    It was great

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    The resort restaurent was very good

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    Mark and Allison
    San Diego, CA
    May 15, 2011

    Fantastic Deal!

    We booked this hotel as a package, so we got a great deal on it. We weren't really expecting a great hotel with how cheap it was in comparison to other hotels we saw but we were really blown away. We said more than once it seemed like a second honeymoon. When we checked in (which wasn't even until about 5pm) we did have to wait a few hours for our room, but it wasn't a huge deal since we went over to the restaurant where they had live music and got dinner. Our room had a beautiful ocean view, even though there is no real beach to speak of at the resort... this seems to be a common problem for the island in general. Over, great hotel, we would certainly come back if we return to the Big Island.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Albuquerque
    Feb 6, 2011

    Kona Coast Resort

    Our fourth stay at the KCR, and we've always been impressed with the accomodations for the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Quinn's Almost by the Sea

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    Anonymous
    Des Moines, IA
    Jan 17, 2011

    A Great Place At A Great Price

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. The location and facilities were great. Didn't spend as much time at the resort as we would like to because we were busy sightseeing on the Island.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    See the Tropical Gardens in Hilo. It was the best attractions for $15 on the Island.

    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    Retied
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Jan 15, 2011

    Somewhat Disappointed

    The resort was built over a number of years in phases and we had an older unit in Phase I. These older units are large and comfortable but ours was very dated. One disappointment was that our view from the lanai was the parking lot and other buildings. I'd spend more money to have a nicer view. The other disappointment was that I had to spend a lot of time recuperating from a back injury and requested a one or two-hour extension on a very early (10 am) checkout. The management was rigid--totally inflexible even though I was under the care of a doctor. I've never encountered that degree of rigidity and unresponsiveness to consumer needs.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

    Very nice shopping center across the street with several dining and other options.

    Back to menu Return to top