$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
View map of 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smoores
Business
Arkansas
Sep 27, 2014

Kona is great!

Our first trip to this resort was Sept 2013. We loved it so I booked for this year. We were put in an older unit, which is fine if it is kept neat and clean. The condo was dirty and in need of repair - not attention, but repair! The carpet had stains that weren't faded like someone tried to clean it. The floor was so nasty that my feet turned black after I showered. Their mid-week clean entailed them changing the towels. The bed needs replaced, badly! I went for laundry detergent and the desk lady asked how my stay was as she was processing $1.50 for the soap! I told her and she said if I had complained they would have moved me. I shouldn't have to complain! They know the unit is very. dilapidated. The couch has busted seams on the cushions. The little TV in the living room has scratches all over it like a child with a pen wrote on it. Broken tiles on the kitchen floor. They know it needs repairs or gutted and rebuilt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nohiamahina
Business
Pāhoa, Hawaiʻi
Sep 15, 2014

Highly recommended! Family friendly!

Our stay was very comfortable and we loved it. The room was comfortable and roomy, there was no charge for the air conditioner. I have a toddler, so I really loved that they have a playground and children's pool at the resort. We will definitely be going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Costco to buy enough for the entire stay, then you can save money on food and cook in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaMom
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 15, 2014

Big Island Retreat

Let me start off with the fact that I had requested an oceanview, only to find out upon checkin that only 5% are oceanview. Our lanai had the view of the children's plaground. Problem # 1. Problem #2-the 2nd day, the air conditioner quit. It was a Sunday, so since they couldn't get it fixed, we had to move to the unit next door. Problem #3-the next morning, the safe quit working with all of our stuff inside! The security manager kept our belongings in safe keeping for the better part of the day while the maintenance staff replaced the safe. They did address both of those issues timely, but we lost 1/2 day of vacation time moving & dealing with the safe problem. I had expected some kind of monetary compensation or a comp dinner for all of the inconvenience. The matteress & boxspring definitely need replacing (true of both units we stayed in) The living room furniture looked nice, but the stuffing was flat - not real comfortable. They did provide paper towels, 2 bags of coffee(1 pot each), a re-useable shopping bag (no plastic bags allowed on the island), soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap & laundry detergent. We were there for a week & didn't run out of anything. We didn't visit the pool - too busy in the ocean. But the on premises rental facilities aren't the cheapest, but it is convenient. We rented snorkel gear & beach chairs. They do provide "pool towels". They sell beach towels there & they are $2 cheaper than WalMart for the very same towel. We didn't eat there either so I can't say anything about the restaruant. Too many other good places along the beach further north. I recommend that unless you want to give up a 1/2 day with the condo sales pitch - buy your excursions in town. They are available on site, but if you don't attend the meeting, prices are higher. The excursion providers they use were very good, however. Found out later that we could have gotten same trips for less money buying on our own. The staff was very helpful & courteous. The entire facility is very clean. The location is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bongo Ben's . We ate breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Nothing but praise for this location. Food is reasonably priced, good portions, great staff. If you save your receipt, if you return the next day, free short stack of pancakes or chips & salsa. Live music on Sat pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryTheKnight
Business
Woodland, California
Sep 9, 2014

Good price, ordinary experience

This is a really decent hotel for the price! Just keep in mind it is decent--the room itself and the staff were average. The food at the restaurant wasn't anything to be desired, and the bartenders were not friendly. There were cockroaches on the premise, and we found a dead one on the kitchen floor of our room. Otherwise, the workout facilities, tennis courts, and pool/spas were great! Please note there is only a partial beach view from only a small part of this resort, and there is no beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bring water shoes to this island! Or buy them at target/walmart/costco. They are essential to explore most of the shores due to critters and lava rock! ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neighbor Island Resident
Business
Aiea, HI
Aug 17, 2014

Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well kept and the layout very easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can cook in the kitchen if you'd like or go out to eat at a nearby restaurant. There are many fine restaurants within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennis mama of one
Business
Hawaii
Jul 24, 2014

Family getaway

Great! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ecuapeter
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful location

We had a great time once again at this location. The setting is beautiful and you can't beat the snorkeling at the bay just a few blocks away. The only thing we felt found have been better is that some of the appliances are older and need to be replaced. Over all, we love staying here and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to watch a sunset

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yana123
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 8, 2014

Great value

We have a great vacation. Good location. Nice facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kona coast enthusiasts
Business
Huntington Beach, CA.
Jun 20, 2014

Great place to stay

We enjoyed our stay at the Kona Coast Resort, the condo was perfect...2 baths, dishwasher, washer & dryer, good view. The only drawback was that the insulation between the floors was inadequate (perhaps you can say this about all hotels/condos/apartments) and you could hear every flush and footstep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish Hopper Restaurant. You get a free appetizer if you present the discount card the resort gives you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kona Coast Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bomb101
Business
PA
Jun 19, 2014

good price for the room

The room is nice for its price. The location is good. We have the sea view. The pool is really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the #1 yelp restaurant DA POKE SHAKE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top