$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Best condo in Big Island

Kona is not good place to travel in Big island. Because many attraction points are near Hilo. But... See full review

  • Young
  • Jan 12, 2015
AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE

Kona Coast Resort is a home away from home. It has all the necessary amenities to ensure you will... See full review

  • Darlene
  • Jan 9, 2015
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (139)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    139 out of 139
    Amenities:
    4.2
    Cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Comfort:
    4.4
    Location:
    4.3
    Value:
    4.3

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    VicP
    Business
    River Grove
    Jan 26, 2015

    Great Stay in Kona Hawaii

    Every day in Hawaii is great. Kona Coast is a great place to stay. Visit coffee farms and the farmers markets. Be sure to visit Kona Oceanfront Gallery and take back a great piece of artwork to remember your trip to Kona

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Young
    Business
    Namyangju
    Jan 12, 2015

    Best condo in Big Island

    Kona is not good place to travel in Big island. Because many attraction points are near Hilo. But if you want to save money, you'd better stay in Kona. Near the Kona Coast Resort, all amenities points such as Costco, Safeway, airport are in 15min. Plus there are good beaches near the resort.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Darlene
    Business
    N/A
    Jan 9, 2015

    AN UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE

    Kona Coast Resort is a home away from home. It has all the necessary amenities to ensure you will not miss anything from home. The location is excellent as it it across the street from a shopping center and a 5 minute drive from the village where all the action takes place. The peace and quiet is priceless. I would definitely visit again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Alan R.
    Business
    Portola Valley
    Dec 29, 2014

    lovely and relaxing

    trip and hotel was very good. hotel room could use upgrading - bed frame, kitchenware and utensils, other.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    VicP
    Business
    River Grove
    Dec 21, 2014

    Hawaii is beautiful

    Kona Coast Resort is beautiful. The condos are very large with full kitchens and a large porch. The condo sleeps 6 yet there was room and dishes for 10 people to eat! Kitchen was a little old with painted ceramic tile countertops and painted cabinets, but new stainless steel applinaces. Bathrooms were refurbished with all granite countertops and faucets. Large walk in shower in the master bath was very nice. TVs were very small and old tube sets. The updates that were redone were done really well and Spent some money on, but they skipped on a few things.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    If you love art go to the art gallery in Waterfront Row and talk to Jill. They have great Hawaiian artists and you can bring home a very nice bit of Hawaii with you.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Glenn M.
    Business
    N/A
    Dec 17, 2014

    Kona Coast Resort

    Very nice accommodations. We found everything here to be superior. The location is perfect for a family as it is just far enough from town to offer quiet evenings, but close enough to be downtown Kona in 10 minutes.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Masood Siddiqi
    Business
    San Jose, CA
    Nov 3, 2014

    Great place to stay with family

    Awesome place at cheap price to stay with family. Nice, clean, and affordable. Stayed here twice in 6 years.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Super Lola
    Business
    Riverside
    Oct 23, 2014

    honeymoon

    this resort is the best. first time to the big island is was great!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Smoores
    Business
    Arkansas
    Sep 27, 2014

    Kona is great!

    Our first trip to this resort was Sept 2013. We loved it so I booked for this year. We were put in an older unit, which is fine if it is kept neat and clean. The condo was dirty and in need of repair - not attention, but repair! The carpet had stains that weren't faded like someone tried to clean it. The floor was so nasty that my feet turned black after I showered. Their mid-week clean entailed them changing the towels. The bed needs replaced, badly! I went for laundry detergent and the desk lady asked how my stay was as she was processing $1.50 for the soap! I told her and she said if I had complained they would have moved me. I shouldn't have to complain! They know the unit is very. dilapidated. The couch has busted seams on the cushions. The little TV in the living room has scratches all over it like a child with a pen wrote on it. Broken tiles on the kitchen floor. They know it needs repairs or gutted and rebuilt.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    DaMom
    Business
    San Antonio, TX
    Sep 15, 2014

    Big Island Retreat

    Let me start off with the fact that I had requested an oceanview, only to find out upon checkin that only 5% are oceanview. Our lanai had the view of the children's plaground. Problem # 1. Problem #2-the 2nd day, the air conditioner quit. It was a Sunday, so since they couldn't get it fixed, we had to move to the unit next door. Problem #3-the next morning, the safe quit working with all of our stuff inside! The security manager kept our belongings in safe keeping for the better part of the day while the maintenance staff replaced the safe. They did address both of those issues timely, but we lost 1/2 day of vacation time moving & dealing with the safe problem. I had expected some kind of monetary compensation or a comp dinner for all of the inconvenience. The matteress & boxspring definitely need replacing (true of both units we stayed in) The living room furniture looked nice, but the stuffing was flat - not real comfortable. They did provide paper towels, 2 bags of coffee(1 pot each), a re-useable shopping bag (no plastic bags allowed on the island), soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap & laundry detergent. We were there for a week & didn't run out of anything. We didn't visit the pool - too busy in the ocean. But the on premises rental facilities aren't the cheapest, but it is convenient. We rented snorkel gear & beach chairs. They do provide "pool towels". They sell beach towels there & they are $2 cheaper than WalMart for the very same towel. We didn't eat there either so I can't say anything about the restaruant. Too many other good places along the beach further north. I recommend that unless you want to give up a 1/2 day with the condo sales pitch - buy your excursions in town. They are available on site, but if you don't attend the meeting, prices are higher. The excursion providers they use were very good, however. Found out later that we could have gotten same trips for less money buying on our own. The staff was very helpful & courteous. The entire facility is very clean. The location is pretty good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Bongo Ben's . We ate breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Nothing but praise for this location. Food is reasonably priced, good portions, great staff. If you save your receipt, if you return the next day, free short stack of pancakes or chips & salsa. Live music on Sat pm

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top