$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Kona Coast Resort

3 stars
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
134 reviews
honeymoon

this resort is the best. first time to the big island is was great!! See full review

  • Super Lola
  • Oct 23, 2014
Beautiful Place to Relax

As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well... See full review

  • Neighbor Island Resident
  • Aug 17, 2014
Oceanfront Keauhou resort with gardens, views and villas with kitchens
Affordable paradise is within reach at the oceanfront Kona Coast Resort in Keauhou, just south of Kailua town. The low-rise one- and two-bedroom villas are equipped with a kitchen, washer/dryer and private patio. Set on landscaped gardens and surrounded by a championship golf course, the resort offers serenity along with fun activities. Guests enjoy tennis, a fitness center, swimming pools, volleyball and cultural learning experiences. A short walk from Kona Coast Resort leads to one of Kona's best snorkel beaches, as well as Keauhou Bay.
Highlights
    • Swimming pools including a kids' pool
    • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
    • Fitness center
    • Tennis courts
    • Jacuzzis and sauna
    Location
    Located oceanfront in the peaceful Keauhou, Kona area, the Kona Coast Resort spreads out across 21 meticulously-landscaped acres surrounded by a championship golf course. One of Kailua's best snorkeling beaches, Kahaluu Beach and the charming bay of Keauhou are within walking distance of the Kona Coast Resort.
    Rooms
    The Kona Coast Resort features one- and two-bedroom villas with traditional Hawaiian furnishings, views of landscaped gardens or the Pacific coastline, and plenty of room for the family. Each condo at the Kona Coast Resort includes a full kitchen, washer/dryer, private patio, air conditioning, TV, VCR or DVD player and free high-speed wireless Internet access.
    Dining

    Guests at the Kona Coast Hotel enjoy cooking meals in their own fully-equipped kitchens and dining on site at the hotels' restaurant. The neighboring Keauhou Shopping Center, as well as the Kailua area, both offer guests of the Kona Coast Resort plentiful additional dining.

    Recreation

    The Kona Coast Resort boasts swimming pools, including children's pool, fitness center, tennis courts, Jacuzzis, sauna and volleyball.

    Transportation
    • Kona International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
    Attractions
    • Keauhou Shopping Center (Next door)
    • Kahaluu Beach Park ("Snorkel Beach") (0.6 mi/1 km)
    • Downtown Kailua-Kona (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
    • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
    • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (15.7 mi/25.3 km)
    • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (89.4 mi/144 km)
    Policies and fees
    • Beginning 13 October 2013, Kona Coast Resort II will progress to the final phase of installation of its $8.5 million photovoltaic system.  This phase involves the construction of structures that will hold additional solar panels.  The resort has planned carefully to minimize any disruption of the guests' experience but some noise and movement of equipment cannot be avoided.
    • All Villas are non-smoking. Smoking only permitted in designated garden areas around the property.
    • Walkway and bathroom refurbishments also in process- Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Kona Coast Resort also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

    Kona Coast Resort Rooms

    One Bedroom Garden View VIlla
    One Bedroom Garden View Villa with Queen master bed and two twin sofa sleepers. Fully equipped kitchen with service for six. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa
    Two Bedroom Garden View Villa Queen master with one queen, two full size beds in second bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. Fully equipped kitchen with service for eight. All appliances and amenities for family living including a private lanai/patio with patio furnishings.

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • Free parking
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness center or spa
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Free parking
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Dining

    off-site
    Several restaurants are located at the Keauhou Shopping Center, easy walking distance from the resort. Also, just 5 miles away, historic Kailua-Kona offers a variety of restaurants. Within 25 miles is the Kohala Coast, featuring several fine dining establishments.
    The Pointe
    On-site restaurant and poolside bar.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1600
    Check-out:
    1000

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (134)

    Ratings and reviews for Kona Coast Resort

    Overall score

    4.2 / 5
    5.01.0
    134 out of 134
    Amenities:
    4.1
    Room cleanliness:
    4.4
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    4.3

    91% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Masood Siddiqi
    Business
    San Jose, CA
    Nov 3, 2014

    Great place to stay with family

    Awesome place at cheap price to stay with family. Nice, clean, and affordable. Stayed here twice in 6 years.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Super Lola
    Business
    Riverside
    Oct 23, 2014

    honeymoon

    this resort is the best. first time to the big island is was great!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Smoores
    Business
    Arkansas
    Sep 27, 2014

    Kona is great!

    Our first trip to this resort was Sept 2013. We loved it so I booked for this year. We were put in an older unit, which is fine if it is kept neat and clean. The condo was dirty and in need of repair - not attention, but repair! The carpet had stains that weren't faded like someone tried to clean it. The floor was so nasty that my feet turned black after I showered. Their mid-week clean entailed them changing the towels. The bed needs replaced, badly! I went for laundry detergent and the desk lady asked how my stay was as she was processing $1.50 for the soap! I told her and she said if I had complained they would have moved me. I shouldn't have to complain! They know the unit is very. dilapidated. The couch has busted seams on the cushions. The little TV in the living room has scratches all over it like a child with a pen wrote on it. Broken tiles on the kitchen floor. They know it needs repairs or gutted and rebuilt.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    nohiamahina
    Business
    Pāhoa, Hawaiʻi
    Sep 15, 2014

    Highly recommended! Family friendly!

    Our stay was very comfortable and we loved it. The room was comfortable and roomy, there was no charge for the air conditioner. I have a toddler, so I really loved that they have a playground and children's pool at the resort. We will definitely be going back again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

    Shop at Costco to buy enough for the entire stay, then you can save money on food and cook in the room.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    DaMom
    Business
    San Antonio, TX
    Sep 15, 2014

    Big Island Retreat

    Let me start off with the fact that I had requested an oceanview, only to find out upon checkin that only 5% are oceanview. Our lanai had the view of the children's plaground. Problem # 1. Problem #2-the 2nd day, the air conditioner quit. It was a Sunday, so since they couldn't get it fixed, we had to move to the unit next door. Problem #3-the next morning, the safe quit working with all of our stuff inside! The security manager kept our belongings in safe keeping for the better part of the day while the maintenance staff replaced the safe. They did address both of those issues timely, but we lost 1/2 day of vacation time moving & dealing with the safe problem. I had expected some kind of monetary compensation or a comp dinner for all of the inconvenience. The matteress & boxspring definitely need replacing (true of both units we stayed in) The living room furniture looked nice, but the stuffing was flat - not real comfortable. They did provide paper towels, 2 bags of coffee(1 pot each), a re-useable shopping bag (no plastic bags allowed on the island), soap, dish soap, dishwasher soap & laundry detergent. We were there for a week & didn't run out of anything. We didn't visit the pool - too busy in the ocean. But the on premises rental facilities aren't the cheapest, but it is convenient. We rented snorkel gear & beach chairs. They do provide "pool towels". They sell beach towels there & they are $2 cheaper than WalMart for the very same towel. We didn't eat there either so I can't say anything about the restaruant. Too many other good places along the beach further north. I recommend that unless you want to give up a 1/2 day with the condo sales pitch - buy your excursions in town. They are available on site, but if you don't attend the meeting, prices are higher. The excursion providers they use were very good, however. Found out later that we could have gotten same trips for less money buying on our own. The staff was very helpful & courteous. The entire facility is very clean. The location is pretty good.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    Bongo Ben's . We ate breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Nothing but praise for this location. Food is reasonably priced, good portions, great staff. If you save your receipt, if you return the next day, free short stack of pancakes or chips & salsa. Live music on Sat pm

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    MaryTheKnight
    Business
    Woodland, California
    Sep 9, 2014

    Good price, ordinary experience

    This is a really decent hotel for the price! Just keep in mind it is decent--the room itself and the staff were average. The food at the restaurant wasn't anything to be desired, and the bartenders were not friendly. There were cockroaches on the premise, and we found a dead one on the kitchen floor of our room. Otherwise, the workout facilities, tennis courts, and pool/spas were great! Please note there is only a partial beach view from only a small part of this resort, and there is no beach access.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    Bring water shoes to this island! Or buy them at target/walmart/costco. They are essential to explore most of the shores due to critters and lava rock! ;)

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Neighbor Island Resident
    Business
    Aiea, HI
    Aug 17, 2014

    Beautiful Place to Relax

    As big as this place is, it is very quite, even with so many people around. The grounds are well kept and the layout very easy to get around.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    You can cook in the kitchen if you'd like or go out to eat at a nearby restaurant. There are many fine restaurants within a short drive.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Tennis mama of one
    Business
    Hawaii
    Jul 24, 2014

    Family getaway

    Great! We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Staff was very friendly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Ecuapeter
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA
    Jul 17, 2014

    Beautiful location

    We had a great time once again at this location. The setting is beautiful and you can't beat the snorkeling at the bay just a few blocks away. The only thing we felt found have been better is that some of the appliances are older and need to be replaced. Over all, we love staying here and will return again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great place to watch a sunset

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Kona Coast Resort

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Yana123
    Business
    Honolulu, HI
    Jul 8, 2014

    Great value

    We have a great vacation. Good location. Nice facility.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top